We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Quiet & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reef Point Cottages
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Coquiltam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet & Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We were looking for a comfortable west coast get-away for both our Berner-Collie Kej and ourselves. The studio cottage met or exceeded all of our expectations. It had everything we needed for our 4 day stay. The rear deck provided a secure area for Kej when we wanted him out of our way. Reef Point Cottages are just off the main road south of the Ucluelet town centre. Check-in only took a moment with a very courteous young lady at the desk. Our cottage had full amenities including a fully equipped kitchen with a dishwasher. It was clean and comfortable. The TV offered a wide selection of channels. A network of trails and sidewalks made for interesting walks with Kej. We sat on a bench on the other side of the road and watched a couple of amazing west coast ocean sun-sets.The Co-op store just up the road had all the groceries we needed for our stay. The Tourist Info Office in Ucluelet suggested we visit the stream by the nearby fish hatchery for a chance of seeing some bears. What an experience! We got pictures of a mother bear with her cub catching a 15 pound salmon about 20' below us. Another day was spent at Long Beach. Kej loved the surf and surfers. We very much enjoyed the wild ocean and crashing waves on our walks from the cottage. Wireless internet would have been nice. But there were so many positives - why worry! We certainly look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Cottages overlooking the inlet are quieter than those towards the main road. If you have a pet ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    81
    36
    26
    14
See reviews for
65
115
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

It was great to be in Ucluelet but I don't recommend Reef Point. Some of these cottages are very shoddily built and we ended up needing to move cabins 3 times. The maintenance is quite poor. The toilets are prone to overflowing and when they do the water shoots straight down into the living room! The bathtubs were so scummy we had to buy something to clean them out ourselves... in all 3 cabins. The BBQ's are in extremely rough shape and are rusted and look like they've never been cleaned.
The cottages are in a beautiful location with easy access to the Wild Pacific trail.
At the end of our stay we checked out a few minutes late and the receptionist had the nerve to chastise us about it after everything that had happened!
I am thankful that we got an extremely cheap deal otherwise this would have been a real burn!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We just returned home from staying in Cabin 25 for the weekend in Ucluelet - this is our third stay at Reef Point Cottages in this same cabin over the past four years, but unfortunately I think it just might be our last.

Pretty much everything the previous reviewer had to say about Cabin 25 was accurate - the TV remote still didn't work, the barbeque lighter didn't work, the fake fireplace/heater thing in the downstairs bedroom area took *literally* 18+ hours to warm the room up to a decent temperature, and the hot tub water's chemicals really irritated my skin and the rim of the "hot" (tepid) tub had a gross discoloured line of scum around the inside.

To add to the disappointments: the kitchen table's legs were so wobbly that I had to tighten them up (by hand! they were *that* loose) so we could use the table to eat on, and the kitchenware is the same old tired stuff that was getting a little worn when we first stayed years ago and is well past its prime these days. The toaster barely worked, the knives were barely sharp enough to chop onions and the blade on one of them plopped right out of the handle, the stove's burner rings were FILTHY underneath, the toilet rocked back and forth on the tile in the bathroom (maybe the bolts were loose?), many corners were full of cobwebs, and the blankets provided on the beds were thinner than Kate Moss on a coke binge.

This place used to be good *and* good value...it was "rustic" but the basics were there, and that's why we've come back three times. Well, it's gone from rustic to just shabby, and the price keeps climbing...we paid over $400 for our two-night stay, and it definitely wasn't worth it.

The place does have pros...the location is good, and if the cabins were actually maintained and had their worn-out items replaced we'd come back. Reef Point management - you'd be smart to drop a couple hundred bucks at Ikea per cabin for some new dish ware, bedding, and small appliances, and actually *clean* these places once in awhile. Until then, we're not likely to return, and that's a shame.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank roferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

All I wanted was an inexpensive place near the ocean to get away for a few days and Reef Point Cottages surpassed my expectations.
I booked a studio cottage on the 3-4-2 deal and it was a great deal. The cottage was clean, the kitchen was well supplied with pots, plates, cutlery, glasses etc, staff were friendly and helpful and I never heard a sound from any of the nearby cottages that were occupied.
The cottages are close to the Lighthouse Loop section of the Wild Pacific Trail and the lighthouse is a fabulous place to watch the sunset from.
It would have been nice to have Wi-Fi in the cottage but there is a guest computer available at the office or they will give you a password to use your own laptop in the office or in the immediate area outside.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British columbia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I took my family here on a 5 night get away. It was a great location and cottage. The office was closed and they left the key in the box so we could access the cottage after hours. They provide all the basics you would need in the cabin. So If your looking for a quick out of town get away and don't want to break the bank this place is for you.

Room Tip: If you have kids i would suggest getting atleast a 1 bedroom. we had a baby with us and when it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missvaliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver and Kelowna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Spur of the moment some friends of ours told us they were going to Ukee for a weekend and we decided to join. We check around at the big resort hotels but the prices were way out of our range.

We booked here and it was great. We arrived at midnight and a key was waiting for us, just as arranged.

The cabins are rustic and charming. Just a place to lay our heads. Kitchens were well equipped with everything we needed for the weekend. BBQ out on the front porch, terrific.

Close to town, quiet area, birds signing.

The only VERY minor quip is the gravel driveway is quite loud, so when the neighbours from other cottages were coming in late at night or leaving very early the rocks were quite noisy as the rocks are very deep. I'm sure this is necessary given the amount of rain they get. Like I said, SUPER minor thing. If we were there for a couple more nights we would have probably been used to it.

But again, for the price and the rustic coastal ambience this place can't be beat. I will take the price we paid over the price of a paved road being built into a higher nightly rate any day.

WIFI would be nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

My teenage son and I were in Ucluelet for 5 days in July. We rented a two-bedroom, 2 bathroom cottage with a water view. It couldn't have been nicer. Simply furnished, but very nice. We arrived after the office was closed and our key was precisely where I was told it would be. The cottage was immaculate (some reviews had said otherwise). There was a covered deck in the back overlooking an inlet. The hot tub was great to have after long days of hiking and kayaking. The hot tub is cleaned and checked daily. The kitchen was well furnished including a coffee pot and microwave. The towels were soft. The open area on the first floor combined the kitchen, an eating area and lounging area. There was a TV (who needs it?) and a free-standing gas heater which we used on a couple of cool evenings. The sliding glass door opened onto the deck. The bedrooms upstairs were well-appointed. The smaller had a sliding glass door and a small deck. The cottage would accomodate 6 people, so it was spacious for the two of us. I would definitely stay here again and hope to, too, and sooner rather than later.

My recommendation to Reef Point management is to start a "Take one, Leave one" library. I went through two books on that trip and would have left them to borrow another. The place where I stayed in Hopkins, Belize, had one and I thought it was a great idea.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank justtravelingjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
34.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
35.2 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
33.9 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
1.9 km away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#5 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.1 km away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Point Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Point Cottages

Property: Reef Point Cottages
Address: 1012 Peninsula Road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Point Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Point Cottages, where the west coast rain forest meets the mighty Pacific Ocean, is located on the West Coast of Vancouver Island in Ucluelet, British Columbia, Canada. Reef Point Cottages offer an exciting, intimate and self-indulgent experience for those who want to explore what British Columbia’s most spectacular and natural landscape has to offer.With over a dozen different cottage styles and sizes, you are sure to find something that suits the size of your party and your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Reef Point Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Point Cottages Hotel Ucluelet
Reef Point Hotel
Reef Point Cottages Ucluelet, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing