We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Outside Inn - Country Cottages & Barn Lofts
2 reviews
“Great price”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our family stayed in one of the cabins. Cozy and had everything we needed. For a family to find accom under 150$ great find will be back in may.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    17
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I loved Mr. T the Cat, so friendly! Great place to stay. Beautiful beach right across the road and friendly owners. Thanks for the great stay :)

Room Tip: when checking in they asked if I wanted a hot plate, pot and pan ect for cooking. It was really hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were touring Canada from England, 9 hotels from Sheratons, Marriotts, Banff Springs to The Outside Inn and this was our favourite. If visiting Ucluelet/Torfino you will need a car wherever you stay! This is easy to find and a little gem, rustic, suits the surroundings and adorable, we were lucky enough to be put in the cedar loft 'love shack' with a great jacuzzi who needs views!! or go outside, walk in the rainforest, on the beach. It was very clean and comfortable with mod cons and ideal to get in the spirit of the island, and very quiet as for washing up didn't give it much thought, not important. If you like something different, appreciate good comfortable accommodation and want to live the Canada dream I highly recommend this and just wish they had them in the lake district, we don't know the owners but they were very friendly and welcoming, just sad only could stay for 2 nights. Ucluelet only 5 mins down the road with good restaurants, Torfino bear watching only 30 mins and a salmon hatchery near by where we also saw bears. We also met the cat we named Mr Tomkins, he is a stray so we were asked not to let him in, very cute. Again a great place to stay, a wooden shack with all mod cons, in such a beautiful area who could moan!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I really wouldn't recommend any of my friends to stay here. The Cedar Loft we stayed in was sweet enough but it's on a dirt track with no views whatsoever, and this is difficult to do in western canada.
We were provided with an outside BBQ which was 3 inches deep in fat sodden waste food from the last however knows how many occupants, so this was definitely not used by us.
The plates were too big to fit in the sink so almost impossible to wash and the kitchen comprised of a microwave, a toaster and a coffee machine, hardly fully equipped as advertised. There was no refund/cancellation either so we couldn't even go and find somewhere else to stay.
If you don't have a car you're stuffed basically as it's miles from anywhere and there's little or nothing in Ucluelet.
there seem to be permanent RV's in the back of the compound with traffic coming and going at all hours right past your front door and a big eyesore to boot.
I can only assume that any positive comments about this place have been written by the owners friends.
The only positive about our stay was a gorgeous little cat who came for cuddles every day from the woods.

Room Tip: pick somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glymps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoutsideinn, Owner at The Outside Inn - Country Cottages & Barn Lofts, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Gylmps and kathc10 (below comment are a couple)

I'm sorry that you and your partner did not enjoy our Loft or the rustic charm of the surrounding rainforest area. I noticed that you were disappointed in the location and a couple of other things that are stated very clearly on our website. We are not Ocean front accommodation (there is a trail right across the road) and Ucluelet is 8km away, a 5 min drive. Regarding our cancellation policy, we do give refunds we just ask that you give us 14 days notice so that we have an opportunity to fill your space. We apologize for the state your BBQ’s was in when checking in. I can assure you that our cleaning staff is on it. We are a new business and appreciate your feed back. We have learned a lot this year and hope that in future you can return and see that we have taken your comments to heart and applied them to make The Outside Inn a wonderful experience for any guest that stay with us. If you should ever return to The Outside Inn a credit is on file for you and your partner.

Many Thanks,
The Outside Inn Cabins and Barn Lofts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Situated next to a gravel road, with no view, miles from the beaches and restaurants. Kitchen is tiny with no stove and the BBQ needs a health and safety inspection. Contained food deposits from the whole season. Deposit is non returnable and there is no chance of any refund when you get there and see how bad it is. Look around there are lots of other properties that are much better. We left a day early, it was so bad. Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have stayed at The Outside in twice and have already booked our third trip back in a few weeks. The hosts are very welcoming, friendly, informative and most of all fun! The location is secluded yet close enough to town if you need anything. It's great having BBQ's and fridges so you can save money by not having to eat out every night. We live about 5 hours away so I just prepare food and BBQ on the fly. Both lofts that we stayed in were clean and well kept. If you are lucky enough to stay in the "Cedar Loft", the Jacuzzi tub makes a perfect end to the day. The hosts are also surf instructors and we were lucky enough to grab a few lessons with them and had an amazing time at Long Beach with them. Thank you for the most amazing times and we can't wait to be back. Every time we go up, we book our next trip before we leave. Cheers and we look forward to seeing you all again shortly. L,J,S &G

Room Tip: All rooms were nice and quiet. The Cedar loft is the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DynamoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My fiance and I just got back from a fantastic trip to the wild west coast of Vancouver Island. Our accomodation was at the Outside Inn and it was great! The rooms were perfect, clean and had way more than expected. It was great to end off the evening with a jacuzzi. The room had lots of personality and character and the couple that owned it were very welcoming and had lots of fun info about the area, and info on surrounding surf. Our trip was made even more affordable with the in suite kitchens and bbq's, so we didnt have to go out for every meal. My fiance was able to catch fish and cook them on the bbq outside our place! It was a great place to lounge around outside, relax and read a book. Great west coast vibe! Loved it! Cant wait to come back next year!

Room Tip: super clean! Everything you need plus way more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winecheese1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
2.2 km away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
239 reviews
1.1 km away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
298 reviews
0.8 km away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
0.4 km away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#11 of 11 in Ucluelet
76 reviews
0.4 km away
Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outside Inn - Country Cottages & Barn Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outside Inn - Country Cottages & Barn Lofts

Property: The Outside Inn - Country Cottages & Barn Lofts
Address: 2425 Pacific Rim Hwy, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely one bedroom country cottages & barn lofts, nestled in 5 acres private forest located in nature's paradise of Ucluelet, B.C., offering many activities including scenic tours, wildlife viewing, whale watching, sports fishing, hiking and kayaking. It is a short drive to Long Beach and the Pacific Rim National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Outside Inn - Country Cottages & Barn Lofts Ucluelet, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing