We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claramount Inn & Spa
Ranked #18 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed in room #3 for a Billy's Best Bottles Wine Camp. The room was good and the Dining room food was fantastic, although we had the whole Inn and our own menu. The Chef's execution was great. The Inn needs a better WIFI system. Used the salt water pool, but no other Spa items. Sauna needs operating instructions.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redbaron1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    96
    43
    31
    14
See reviews for
35
191
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We arrived at The Claramount Inn and Spa on friday Feb 3rd and stayed for two nights. The staff were very friendly, and helpful. We had never traveled to the "county" before. We stayed in room #2. We had a great dinner friday night at the Inn. The room was great. There was a sitting room, a bedroom, and a huge bathroom. Very antique style. The spa facilities were very nice. We would definitely go there again.

John and Lisa

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radmanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Am so glad we stuck with our plan to spend 2 nights with spa treatments. We were about to cancel due to some written negative reviews. Enjoyed immensely our 2 nights stay- from cleanliness of the grounds, reception area, guest room, dining room, spa, sauna and pool. No dusts on window sills and boards ( Yes, I checked..) WOW..Amazing.!! (Micki does excellent job, treating the INN like her own house,) Everyone was very pleasant , professional, knowledgeable and friendly...Nobody had an attitude problem. Enjoyed very much the Reiki (we had 3 treatments, Micki is superb!!), Lomi Lomi and Moor Mud with Brandy are memorable, and Hydrating treatment with Erin is very relaxing. The cornish hen, Angus Beef salmon and pickerel dishes were very delicious..

Highly recommend to everyone, and will definitely will come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TERRY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My good friend and I decided to do a girlfriends weekend at the Claramount to spend some quality time together….which we don’t get very often. We chose this location not only for the beautiful home but for its close proximity to the boutiques in downtown Picton which we were soo excited to explore.

My friend and I love this place. It’s obvious that whoever decorated and restored this grand home really cares for detail and authenticity. We had a sneak peak into some of the other suites (we had Suite 5) and the collection of antiques and fine art are amazing. Suite 5 is probably our favourite just because of the wonderful view over the bay.

The staff at the inn were courteous and attentive and catered to our needs. Our day started with an early check-in and spa treatments. My girlfriend had a massage called a “lomi lomi” (which I had never heard of either) but she still talks about how amazing it was. I had a “maple wrap” which is done with a vichy shower and it was sooo relaxing. We were surprised by the diversity of the treatments at the spa and picked some of the more unique treatments and we weren’t disappointed. After spending some time in the spa we went into their covered (and heated!!) salt water pool…really neat.

The two of us had a lovely dinner. The food is well portioned and tasty and the server was attentive (and suggested a great local wine pairing).

Between Spa, meals and having an afternoon tea on the second floor we actually didn’t get a chance to spend lots of time in town...but we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newfie-Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My daughter and I went to the Claramount spa in early January. When we arrived I specifically double checked our appointments and spelled my name while we went for a swim- no one was available to turn on the sauna and it was cold.
We both waited in the spa waiting area in our robes and no one came.I spoke to a gentleman in the office to check on my appt and he went upstairs to check never to be seen again, turns out he was the chef and had not mentioned a thing to reception.
At this point I decided to go upstairs in my robe (rather unpleasant) to find out what was going on- the receptionist was leaving and had forgotten about my appointment. She did not apologize and offered a 30 min massage instead. The entire experience was unpleasant, expensive,and not in the least restful. They need better management and good customer service. I would recommend going somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travel_guy_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Perry, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Booked the 2 "deluxe" suites, plus the whole of the "Carriage House" for the 50th wedding anniversary of our parents. Booked a package arranged with the manager (in person) prior to the event (the 6 of us were booked for Friday and Saturday nights, also booked 9 spa packages, had dinner there one night and breakfast on both days), so that the weekend would go without a hitch. Upon our arrival, only 1 person on staff it appeared who while nice, kept re-iterating she'd only been working there for a week. Not to be mean, but as guests we should NEVER be aware how totally un-prepared a staff member is. We were given the house-keeping keys, thereby if we had so wished, access to other guests rooms ???? When insisting to the staff member, that we had the housekeeping keys, the right keys were eventually produced and she admitted to given us the housekeeping keys. Good thing we're honest I guess, since we had access to other guests rooms....
The "Carriage House" was equivalent to a Best Western, but mustier smelling, stains on the carpet, tacky knotty pine furniture, a previous guest's hair was still covering the hair f my bathroom, and the outdoor light was out, leaving one entryway in complete darkness. When pointed out to the staff on both evenings, they said they'd try to get it fixed..it wasn't while we were there. We bought scented candles in town to make the rooms a little more hospitable.
The big dinner celebrating the 50th anniversary took ages to be served, and when it came to the end of the meal, my father was presented with a bill (prepayment had been arranged), and then the waitress proceeded to argue about the package that was paid for. So inappropriate, and so not the time to quibble (as I pointed out, we were booked in for 2 nights). Throughout the 2 day stay, the price was argued with several times, and the manager with whom this was all arranged was sick throughout our stay and there was not anyone on staff who seemed to know what was going on. Apparently, it was too much to ask for a manager to be contacted. Is there only one????
The "high-end" furniture in the suites, which did go with the decor, were very wobbly and in poor repair. Went to pull up a chair only to find the seat was not attached....
Further, we discovered there was only RMT on staff (she did 2 of us) and the rest despite calling themselves Massage Therapists, couldn't offer receipts because they weren't "registered". That is illegal in Ontario! And the "unregistered" massages cost the same price!
When stepping onto the balcony of one of the "suites" in the inn, to enjoy the view, I quickly stepped back inside when I discovered a large hole which was covered with carpet. My sister commented, "at some point, we're just going to have to start laughing about this..."
The one positive note? "Shirley" our waitress for both breakfasts, was AMAZING...could not have been better!
Luckily my family still had a great time, as we were there with each other and there was much love and laughter to celebrate 50 years of marriage for a very special couple.
BUT I DO NOT recommend this "Inn & Spa" If it's a special occasion-go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Stay away from the "Carriage House"! Suites are nice, just careful sitting on the furnitur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

To note, we have stayed at this Inn on other occasions. This expereince was by far the worst and we will probably not return.

The facility generally is showing wear and needs to be updated. Let me say however that the rooms were very nice, spacious and the amenities included were complete and of good quality, although the decor is somewhat dated.

We did not use the Spa facilities, however while waiting in the lobby we were exposed to someone complaing at the desk about cost and service. We intended to use the Salt Water pool, however it was a higher then average blustery day and the treck out the front door and across the parking lot in robe and sandels to get to the pool didn't apeal to us. We did however check out the pool and although no one was using it, the pool facility was equiped with change rooms and a sauna. The pool itself was small and wouldn't support more then 5-10 people.

The Hotel entrance is cramped for check-ins and stands in the hallway competing with passing traffic - a bit of a problem while conducting business of any sort. The front desk staff were pleasant enough, but couldn't provide material we wanted on PEC points of interest - a map of the Wineries in the County would have been helpfull.

We had a complaint at the time of making our reservations. There were discounts if you stayed 2 nights and there were discounts if you took the inclusive meal package. We felt we were penalized because we only wanted to stay one night. In fact, we felt we were forced to accept the meal package in order to obtain any savings (remembering that staying at this Inn is not an inexpensive experience to start with).

As it turns out the meal package was definitely the wrong choice. This restaurant outside of being very dated and poorly arranged, for eg passing through the bar area to enter the restaurant; sorry you are actually passing through - the behind the bar area to enter the restaurant while servers are mixing drinks. Not impressive.

Now the restaurant was the truly bad experience. The food actually goes beyond poor, the service from the kitchen was extremely slow (45 min for a breakfast of eggs and toast) is a bit much plus adding time in having to return the eggs because they were actually hard as a rock and burnt around the edges. The Eggs Benedict came with a special Garlic Sauce that replaced the standard Hollandaise Sauce; tasted terrible and did not go well at all. Also, the ham or back bacon was replaced with pieces of what appeared to be chunks of Virigina Ham, which you would think may be alright, however the ham was dried out, brown, tough and seemed to be left over from the previous weeks Canadian Thanksgiving dinner. Can't prove that, but that is what it seemed like.

The real disappointment however was the dinner the previous night to which we had invited guests to join us. The kitchen service was again extremely slow but more importantly, the food was a disaster. Besides not having in stock the wines offered on the Wine List; I had ordered the most expensive appetizer ($23), the Fois Gras. Well, it was about an inch and a quarter in diameter, fried (seared) too hot causing it to melt, served over a biscuit, also an inch and a quarter, now soaking in fat and soggy, served with an unrecognizable mini vegetable, in a bowl that was at least 12 inches in diameter. Picture it! Not only that, the appetizer tasted bad.

The meal as it turns out, was worse. Two of us had the Lamb which was so tough that the server offered "Steak Knives", can you imagine. The other dishes of Halibut, included a piece of Halibut about 2x3 inches in size and was dried out and came with un-nototable vegetables. Desserts were in the same poor quality category and dosen't warrant comment.

Again remember, to get any discounted rates we were more or less forced to take the meal package. These meals were not an inexpensive fare at the Inn especially with poor quality and poor service from the kitchen. We felt so bad, we wanted to re-imburse our friends for their dinner.

Our recommendation - stay somewhere else. We understanding the Warring House (another prominent Inn in the area is now owned by the same group of people - probably need to be cautious there as well.

Very disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms we have experienced are spacious and of good quality, however number 5 seemed to be over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ElegantTravelOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
4.3 km away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.6 km away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
8.8 km away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
17.8 km away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.7 km away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claramount Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claramount Inn & Spa

Property: Claramount Inn & Spa
Address: 97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claramount is a colonial revival mansion surrounded by lush gardens and lawn, on Picton Bay. Claramount Inn offers 7 suites in the main house, 3 suites in the Carriage House, Bayview Cottage and Harbourview Cabin (Seasonal Cabin). Clara's restaurant is located in the main mansion on the first floor with a stunning view of the Picton Bay. In the summer with seating on our patio overlooking the grounds and the bay. The spa features a variety of treatments from manicures, pedicures, facials, massage and a variety of water treatments in the vichy room. The Claramount Inn and spa also features an infrared sauna, outdoor hot tub and an indoor/outdoor heated salt-water pool with a retractable roof for the hot summer days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claramount Hotel Picton
Claramount Inn And Spa
Claramount Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing