We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful ”
Review of Moon Water Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moon Water Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Malahat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This by far has been the best hotel on the Girls Road Trip. Located 30 minutes outside Victoria on Route 1, this place had the most spectacular view that we got up all 3 mornings to watch the sunrise . Yes you could hear some road noise if you listened for it, but we slept with our window and screen door open and we didn't lose any sleep! It was like staying in a tree house. Restaurant right next to the hotel was so convenient and had both breakfast and dinner there and was delicious .

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank MelodieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Loved our stay there it was one of the most
Beautiful places we've ever stayed we have been back 10 times since unbelievable views and the staff there is one of the best we've every experienced while your there
You have to eat at the malahat resturant id give it 10 stars

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Skyzlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

The Best view of any room I've stayed anywhere. The family-run hotel and restaurant sits high above the forested inlet providing a beautiful morning wakeup. We were welcomed and made to feel at home in a very quiet, peaceful setting.
Food and view were also excellent in the adjacent restaurant, with the family making that part of our stay great as well. Family members shared that it is a relatively new venture for them and they are still updating. Although our room needed none!
This a destination place to stay and have as a home base, not a place to stop for a rest on the way to somewhere else. And it is Worth the stay. A great place from which to explore the variety of activities and sights of Victoria and surrounding area.

I saw some reviews with issues over noise. We had NONE. I wasn't aware of the issue until we were leaving and a neighbor said she was surprised how quiet it was because reviews said it was not. Could it be that the lower rooms are quieter than the upper 5 rooms? Possibly worth asking about and requesting. We had our windows and balcony door open pretty much the whole time and were not bothered by noise.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Honestly, this has made me shed a tear! Thank you so much for your very kind words. See you, again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Malahat Lodge, the wonderful owners/staff makes the experience feel like you're coming home it's so welcoming.......except home never had a view like this!!
Every room is water/mountain view!
Huge rooms with a balcony and a romantic view from the jacuzzi tub.
Morning coffee on the balcony with the stellar sights, it's all we can do to pack up to leave.....
Until next year!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank livethedash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This place is magical. The view is stunning and the rooms are so private. It's a very romantic place to take someone special. The restaurant next door offered great meals and had great staff. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sheilaw4246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Although the view is spectacular, the noise of the highway right next to the room is overbearing..even with all the windows closed. As another review says, you can see the view from the restaurant or even the car park.By far the worst but most expensive place we have stayed whilst on the island. I would not recommend staying here...find somewhere quieter and cheaper for a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: All rooms by the highway so in terms of noise nothing good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank Avrilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016

I am so sorry the noise from the highway kept you awake. There are definitely rooms that are quieter than others, in particular, the lower level rooms as they are guarded from the road noise. We do our best to offer a suggestion of suitable rooms when we chat with our booking guests. Again, I am sorry your stay was disappointing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

The view from the room WAS spectacular. Yet that is where the satisfaction finished. Filthy carpets andnot well equipt. We tried to change rooms to another room with clean carpets yet alternate room was also dirty. There was a coffee machine yet not coffee, There were teabags yet no kettle, there was a TV yet only one comfey chair to sit on. That makes it hard when it is 2 people staying.
What drew us to the place was the online photos of the view. I should have paid more attention to other reviews which mentioned the dirty carpets and difficulty with checkin and checkout. I see on some booking sites that it has a high rating. Not sure how they got that high rating level. Would I recommend to others? Well to see the view, then you can see that from the carpark. For Malahat accommodation the it would not be Moon Water Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

As always, we appreciate all reviews. We did our best to explain the carpets were being replaced...they were recently steam cleaned and the room was indeed clean. Very sorry that we missed filling the coffee supplies with coffee; I trust the fresh cream in the fridge and the sugar choices and tea selections were acceptable. We did our best to accommodate your needs, and even brought you a stash of our own, unopened, personal tea from Marks and Spencer's because we thought you'd enjoy tea from England as that is where you were from. I apologize that you found it inconvenient to walk across the parking lot to the restaurant to find someone to check you in...we are a small, boutique hotel and it is usually just my husband and I running the hotel; we occasionally help in the restaurant, just steps away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahat
3 km away
Villa Eyrie Resort
Villa Eyrie Resort
#1 of 2 in Malahat
105 reviews
8.2 km away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
753 reviews
0.2 km away
Malahat Bungalows Motel
Malahat Bungalows Motel
#2 of 2 in Malahat
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Prancing Horse Retreat
Prancing Horse Retreat
#2 of 4 in Malahat
88 reviews
18.5 km away
No photo provided
Morningside Estate
#3 of 4 in Malahat
4 reviews
3.1 km away
Malahat View Guesthouse
Malahat View Guesthouse
#4 of 4 in Malahat
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Water Lodge

Address: 265 Trans-Canada Highway, Malahat, British Columbia V0R 2L0, Canada (Formerly Malahat Mountain Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Malahat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Malahat
Price Range: $192 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW OWNERS APRIL 2014! We are a west-coast style, boutique hotel, located near the top of the historic, Malahat Drive on Vancouver Island. Overlooking the Saanich Inlet, you will be taken a world away from the routine of day to day life. Beautiful British Columbia encapsulated; mountains, ocean, birds, orcas, trees, all right outside your window. Drink in the sunrise along with your morning coffee; then settle in for the evening and watch, as the moon rises in the night sky and its reflection is mirrored by the calm waters below. Each room boasts a large, two person soaker tub, with nothing between you and the great outdoors except a large, picture window! Turn on the gas fireplace, pour yourself a drink and take some time to relax, rejuvenate and restore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moon Water Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malahat Mountain Hotel Malahat
Moon Water Lodge Malahat, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing