We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
35
9
5
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
9
5
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoaker tubsitting on the balconyquiet roomsaanich peninsulahighwayvictoriafireplacekitchenetteloftbedding
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 56 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2016

The view was amazing, rooms were all clean and fresh (only the carpet was dirty... but u are not looking at the carpet when u are there :D).

Bathtub next to the window with that view is a wonderful idea.

If u are on vancouver islands YOU NEED TO STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wojtekkko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited Victoria for the first time last October (2015). The only thing we wanted to do was go Whale watching and left everything else to the last minute. We stumbled across the Moon Water Lodge ... just wow!!
5* rating doesn't do it justice.
As their website back then was a little hard to get to grips with we sent an email directly to the hotel to enquire about a 3 night stay. We mentioned we had booked to go whale watching in Tofino but had no idea how we would get there as we didn't have a car etc. Also we mentioned that we were landing via a float plane (recommend this also). We were both shocked with the pure kindhearted reply. In the reply it was suggested that we switched to a different whale watching trip that was closer to the float plane landing site to save costs on a taxi etc. Very glad we did this, top class service from Springtide. We spent hours and hours on the water and had a once in a lifetime experience seeing killer whales, humpback whales, seals and many more within touching distance from a tiny powerboat. Extremely knowledgable staff and a truly beautiful start to our stay.
Lauri (owner of the Moonwater Lodge) collected us from the harbour after our boat trip and drove us back to the Moon Water Lodge (30mins max). As soon as we entered the room the view took our breath away. Everything looked exactly like the pictures...no photoshopping or Instagram editors, just pure Canadian perfection.

As I mentioned previously, we had nothing planned and hadn't done any research on the area. The next morning over breakfast we still had no idea and again the staff couldn't have been any more helpful. They suggested a trip to the Gold Stream Park to watch the Salmon swimming upstream to spawn. All good and well suggesting this but we had no way of getting there ... Lauri to the rescue. She dropped us there and we gave her a time to pick us up. We had a wonderful walk around the river before heading back to the restaurant at the hotel for yet another gorgeous dinner.

The restaurant had a positive atmosphere and was busy throughout our short stay. Not too busy to get a table but busy enough to create a positive vibe helped out by a cracking selection of music. The happy and friendly staff knew when it was right to engage in conversation but also when to leave us to relax and just enjoy the views over dinner. There was a little bit of building work going on at the restaurant on the balcony. I am sure this has just made it even more beautiful.

Hopefully the staff will see this review so we can thank them once again, Lauri in particular, for making us feel so welcome and made our trip all the better. It is almost a year since our visit and it is most definitely a place that is the first to come up in conversation when Canada is mentioned ... we just wish our stay lasted longer. We will be back.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2016

We were very excited to stay here due to the pictures of the scenery from the room. The scenery was not disappointing. It was breathtaking. We arrived at 9pm there was no one at the office and a note saying go to the restaurant to check in. No biggy. When we got to the room we were very disappointed in how dirty the carpet was! Couldn't believe it actually. There was a kitchenette and we bought food to cook. There was one little fry pan a few kitchen tools, two whiskey glasses, two wine glasses. Thats it. Next day we had to ask for two bowls, two plates, two forks and two spoons. The sheets were rough and pilly. The next day went to the office, again no one there. I left a note for housekeeping to change the pilly sheet. When we got back to the room she left no wash clothes, no bath mats, no cream (supposed to be supplied) of course no one at the office. Next day I saw housekeeping in the next room. I asked for these things to be supplied when she serviced our room. Came back all was there including two bathrobes which I assume should have been there day one. The decks had fantastic views, yellow jackets during the day and bats during the evening. All in all the view was great but they have a major issue with housekeeping! They need yellow jacket traps at the very least AND someone in the office.

Room Tip: We had room 10. If it was not for the fan on the portable air conditioner we would have heard traffic noise . The view was awesome!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debra54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016

I had to go over to the island for a wedding, and as such decided to treat myself to a hotel stay the night after. I looked at a few surrounding the area and decided this one looked the best. And I loved it!

Each room has it's own door on the outside (the side facing away from the water) so it feels kind of like having a vacation rental! The beds are great and the rooms are tasteful and then there is, of course, the view. We spent a lot of time on the porch, and even more time in the giant bath admiring the crystal clear stars.

I hope one day to be able to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

This by far has been the best hotel on the Girls Road Trip. Located 30 minutes outside Victoria on Route 1, this place had the most spectacular view that we got up all 3 mornings to watch the sunrise . Yes you could hear some road noise if you listened for it, but we slept with our window and screen door open and we didn't lose any sleep! It was like staying in a tree house. Restaurant right next to the hotel was so convenient and had both breakfast and dinner there and was delicious .

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank MelodieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews