We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Moon Water Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moon Water Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Malahat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We stayed one night for our anniversary, and had a great experience. Amazing view, awesome room, clean and comfortable, lovely tub and fireplace, and delicious food at the restaurant. We had great service from top to bottom, from the staff commenting on how they loved babies (ours did not stay the night, just made a debut), to the table delivery of my morning omelette. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Visit in the colder months, zero highway noise if the patio door was closed. Though Im sure there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

After paying $322.05 (taxes included)for a room for one night .Walked into a great view thought ,wow this is great ! . Then it got worse from there on in .Dirty toilets , dead flies and bees on window sills Went to use a bowl out of the kitchen only to find old butter in one of them . 15 years of crusty dirt visible between stove and counter .Garbage can under the sink was full of garbage from the guests before. I think housekeeping needs a wake up call . Then we ordered dinner for 85 dollars from the restaurant, everyone was hungry but couldn't stomach the food ... disgusting, for those of you who rant and rave about it , better get your head checked . Then the bachelorette party with a stripper started next door at 9 o'clock with girls screaming and music blaring.. ridiculous, tried to phone front desk to complain.... nothing but an answering machine giving us the run around to call here and there . Then we woke up after our unrestful sleep to have a coffee . .. in the basket was 1 coffee mate creamer , 3 sugars , I pack of decaf coffee and 13 stir sticks . Wouldn't complain if it was an 85 dollar a night hotel but at the price we paid, get real . If the owners try to respond to my review by saying there's no way our rooms would be in that sort of condition, give it a rest , I would not spend the time writing this review if that were not the case. I saved my complaints about this place for my review as I shouldn't have to constantly complain to staff during our stay after paying $322 per night Wouldn't recommended this place to my worst enemy .

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We got to the place after hearing great reviews and upon arrival there was no one near the place to let us in and no one answered the phone, so we had to go into the restaurant and find a waitress to let us in. After finally being let in, on the surface it looked OK but on further inspection this is what we found/ discovered. There was left overs in the toilet, sopping wet towels hung around the bath tub, the carpets were so dirty it made my socks turn brown and when we filled up the bath tub there was huge skin flakes and body hairs floating all around it definitely not something that puts you in the mood. We then decided well we should at least try the restaurant so we ordered in food and went to grab it. We ordered the spaghetti bolognese and linguini carbonara. By the time we walked it across the parking lot the garlic bread was so soggy it just went to mush, the noodles were barely covered with sauce the bolognese was a just a small dollop in the corner and the rest was noodles. The linguini didn't taste like a garlic cream wine sauce it tasted like oil and butter and was super greasy and I couldn't even eat the whole thing even though I was starving. And you are so far away from anything so you couldn't just drive somewhere to get something else and the food was so expensive as it was I didn't want to waste anymore money or gas. When we went go to sleep, the entire night the place was creaking and cracking and popping the entire time which kept us up. As well it is winter time and they still charged us 275 for the room and then you are only allowed to check in at 4 pm so you get to experience that view for only a few hours before it got too dark to see anything. So needless to say we wont be ever returning again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alicia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

We take our reviews very seriously and work hard to improve on all valid points raised. I must say, there is absolutely NO TRUTH to this review. Checking in is a very simple process, if the front desk is closed. All Managers in the restaurant are well trained at the check-in process and, yes, it is a short, 60-second stroll across the scenic breezeway in the mid-afternoon, fresh air, to the restaurant. We don't have any rooms at $275; we would not leave leftovers in the toilet; wet towels, skin and hair in the bathtub, dirty carpets, and our food is made, fresh and hot to order. We have personnelle on site 24-hours and I would suggest, if the room was this bad, you would have made a phone call or spoken with someone. The building creaking and popping....very creative! We allow our guests to come early as long as the room is ready, at no additional charge; we have SEVERAL 2 pm check-in's all it takes is a request. I am sorry that you felt your experience here was less than perfect and that you won't be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Very nice room with a stellar view. The very large bathtub situated so you can relax and enjoy the sights with privacy. The Chalet next door also has a killer view from the fully glassed in dining area. The food was fabulous! Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

This hotel is in a beautiful area. The views from the soaker tub, in the corner of the room, out the huge corner windows are amazing. The front desk staff could tell guests that the view from the restaurant above the hotel can see directly into the rooms so beware to close the blinds. The carpets were absolutely filthy. I have never seen such dirt in my life. For the price of one night stay this should not be the case. The sheets were stained as well and the blinds by the soaker tub looked like something had sprayed on them and left there. If it were not for the views and super comfy bed, this hotel would not be worth a penny. Front desk girl was very pleasant but was gone a few minutes after we checked in and no one is there after that. You have to go across parking lot to restaurant with any concerns.

Room Tip: Room 10 is noisy. Could here the people above walking around and filling the bath tub. I think a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydney081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The view was amazing, rooms were all clean and fresh (only the carpet was dirty... but u are not looking at the carpet when u are there :D).

Bathtub next to the window with that view is a wonderful idea.

If u are on vancouver islands YOU NEED TO STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wojtekkko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited Victoria for the first time last October (2015). The only thing we wanted to do was go Whale watching and left everything else to the last minute. We stumbled across the Moon Water Lodge ... just wow!!
5* rating doesn't do it justice.
As their website back then was a little hard to get to grips with we sent an email directly to the hotel to enquire about a 3 night stay. We mentioned we had booked to go whale watching in Tofino but had no idea how we would get there as we didn't have a car etc. Also we mentioned that we were landing via a float plane (recommend this also). We were both shocked with the pure kindhearted reply. In the reply it was suggested that we switched to a different whale watching trip that was closer to the float plane landing site to save costs on a taxi etc. Very glad we did this, top class service from Springtide. We spent hours and hours on the water and had a once in a lifetime experience seeing killer whales, humpback whales, seals and many more within touching distance from a tiny powerboat. Extremely knowledgable staff and a truly beautiful start to our stay.
Lauri (owner of the Moonwater Lodge) collected us from the harbour after our boat trip and drove us back to the Moon Water Lodge (30mins max). As soon as we entered the room the view took our breath away. Everything looked exactly like the pictures...no photoshopping or Instagram editors, just pure Canadian perfection.

As I mentioned previously, we had nothing planned and hadn't done any research on the area. The next morning over breakfast we still had no idea and again the staff couldn't have been any more helpful. They suggested a trip to the Gold Stream Park to watch the Salmon swimming upstream to spawn. All good and well suggesting this but we had no way of getting there ... Lauri to the rescue. She dropped us there and we gave her a time to pick us up. We had a wonderful walk around the river before heading back to the restaurant at the hotel for yet another gorgeous dinner.

The restaurant had a positive atmosphere and was busy throughout our short stay. Not too busy to get a table but busy enough to create a positive vibe helped out by a cracking selection of music. The happy and friendly staff knew when it was right to engage in conversation but also when to leave us to relax and just enjoy the views over dinner. There was a little bit of building work going on at the restaurant on the balcony. I am sure this has just made it even more beautiful.

Hopefully the staff will see this review so we can thank them once again, Lauri in particular, for making us feel so welcome and made our trip all the better. It is almost a year since our visit and it is most definitely a place that is the first to come up in conversation when Canada is mentioned ... we just wish our stay lasted longer. We will be back.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahat
3 km away
Villa Eyrie Resort
Villa Eyrie Resort
#1 of 2 in Malahat
105 reviews
8.2 km away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
753 reviews
0.2 km away
Malahat Bungalows Motel
Malahat Bungalows Motel
#2 of 2 in Malahat
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Prancing Horse Retreat
Prancing Horse Retreat
#2 of 4 in Malahat
88 reviews
18.5 km away
No photo provided
Morningside Estate
#3 of 4 in Malahat
4 reviews
3.1 km away
Malahat View Guesthouse
Malahat View Guesthouse
#4 of 4 in Malahat
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Water Lodge

Address: 265 Trans-Canada Highway, Malahat, British Columbia V0R 2L0, Canada (Formerly Malahat Mountain Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Malahat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Malahat
Price Range: C$193 - C$304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW OWNERS APRIL 2014! We are a west-coast style, boutique hotel, located near the top of the historic, Malahat Drive on Vancouver Island. Overlooking the Saanich Inlet, you will be taken a world away from the routine of day to day life. Beautiful British Columbia encapsulated; mountains, ocean, birds, orcas, trees, all right outside your window. Drink in the sunrise along with your morning coffee; then settle in for the evening and watch, as the moon rises in the night sky and its reflection is mirrored by the calm waters below. Each room boasts a large, two person soaker tub, with nothing between you and the great outdoors except a large, picture window! Turn on the gas fireplace, pour yourself a drink and take some time to relax, rejuvenate and restore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moon Water Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malahat Mountain Hotel Malahat
Moon Water Lodge Malahat, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing