We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Orca Camp

We went on the glamping tour with Wildcoast in mid September. The trip is well run and our guides... read more

Reviewed October 7, 2018
catherinedO4123AP
Amazing Desolation Sound Kayaking Experience!

The Desolation Sound is such a beautiful area to kayak, and the experience we had with Wildcoast... read more

Reviewed October 1, 2018
elemke59
,
Summerland, Canada
Read all 152 reviews
  
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
140
8
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
8
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orca camp hot shower sea lions gowlland harbour resort desolation sound early morning eggs benedict kayak trip an amazing experience few days gourmet food saw orcas jumping salmon quadra island killer whales great adventure wild coast
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 152 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Just returned from a 4 day stay at Orca camp. Our guides Cole, Se, and John made it a memorable experience. Was one of the best family trips we have done. Saw lots of orcas, humpback whales, sea stars, sea lions, etc. The glamping made camping easy. Our children (11 and 13) had a great trip with lots to hold their interest both on the water and at camp. Was also great to unplug for a few days. We really enjoyed the hot tub, sauna and gourmet food. Can’t wait to go back and would highly recommend. Perfect for our beginner kayak skill level, but could be made more difficult if you had higher level skills. Thanks to Cole,Se and John for a great trip and to Val and Damian for answering all our questions pre trip.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Vancouver_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie G, Manager at Wildcoast Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hi Jim!

Thank you for the lovely review! We are so pleased to be in the top ranking of your family's adventures - that means a lot to us.

Cole, Se, and Jon are a great team that bring their genuine passion, interests and a skills to each trip - we're glad they made it so memorable for your family! It was our pleasure to host you.

Wildcoast Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

I just got back from an amazing trip to Orca Camp with Wildcoast Adventures. I had some travel issues and they were very helpful, picking me up late from the ferry terminal. The camp itself was pretty cool. It had a hot tub, hot water shower and sauna (glamping at it's best). Our guides, Chris, Bender and John were great. Fun guys to be around, good cooks and guides. We saw humpbacks, orcas, dolphins, a sea lion and a bear. Thanks for a great adventure!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Taxhead5761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie G, Manager at Wildcoast Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Hi!

It was great hosting you at Orca Camp! Thank you for your kind words.

It was no problem picking you up late from the ferry, it was our pleasure. Orca Camp is a pretty special place to us, and we strive to make it comfortable without removing the wild! Made only better by the fantastic team of guides - that is a great combination you had on your trip!

We are glad to hear you saw such a beautiful array of wildlife, and we hope we get the opportunity to host you again!

Wildcoast Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic trip with Wildcoast! We saw orcas, stood under the Milky Way and watched a meteor shower, enjoyed great kayaking and took a hike to a lovely waterfall. The guides, food and accommodations were super. It would be hard to top this trip, but we’ll likely be back to try.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank llamachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie G, Manager at Wildcoast Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Thank you so much for your great review!

Sounds like you ticked the boxes of all my own favourite things about camp!

We certainly hope that we get to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Our guides, Bender, Chris and John, met us at base camp and welcomed us to our new home for a few days. Our tents were well equipped and while out in the wilderness I slept comfortably, which is good to know because we had hours of kayaking every day and a good nights sleep is appreciated. Meals were plenty and bountiful and just because we were camping we did not sacrifice great flavours or proper presentation. Aside from comfortable accommodations and quality food the pursuit of our trip was fulfilled. Orca and Humpback whale sightings every day, along with dolphins, bear and eagles. 4 days of kayaking on Johnstone Straight was nothing short of an epic journey. Our guides were professional, friendly and always trying to accommodate our stay. One of the most wonderful experiences of my life and I thank my guides, and a couple pods of Orca's for making it such a memorable event. Thanks to Val and Damian at Wildcoast Adventures!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank spres2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie G, Manager at Wildcoast Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Wow! Thanks for sharing about your time at Orca Camp. I would say we are probably the most pleased that you appreciated the details of Orca Camp, the work of our guides, and to hear that you had orca visit daily!

We definitely hope we get the opportunity to host you again, as Orca Camp is always evolving!

Wildcoast Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We were so lucky and saw a large pod really close up from within the kelp line where the orcas chose to travel past us. The guides did the very best. The food was awesome, and the hot tub and sauna were much appreciated. The haze and mist meant we didn't get the views, but that wasn't within anyone's control. The only suggestion I would have is that as the first and last days contain quite a bit of prep and travel, that the days actually on camp should be extended from two to three. I know that might mean going the same way twice -but I don't think anyone would mind that, or just include a hike day? Highly recommend this activity for teen families.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Bex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie G, Manager at Wildcoast Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hello!

What an experience to see orca so close! Each trip is unique in its experiences, and your sounded pretty magic! We do get fog and mist in the Strait, being in a temperate rainforest, I hope that added a mystical element!

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback - we will be spending some time reviewing how we can streamline or eliminate some of these processes so you get the most out of your adventure!

Wildcoast Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews