We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe Orca Camp”

Wildcoast Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Providing quality guided kayak tours from Quadra Island, BC. Join our comfortable Orca Base Camp tour in Johnstone Strait, next to Robson Bight Michael Biggs Ecological Reserve. Kayak in waters where Killer Whales play! Spacious Safari tents & cots, close enough to hear the blows of the Orca! Or experience the un-ending channels and wilderness of Desolation Sound, the Discovery Islands, or the Coastal Inlets on an expedition! Rentals and day tours also available daily at our location
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Just us, the water, and the wildlife! That is how I describe my experience with Wildcoast adventures. The Orcas came to play for us, as did dolphins, sea lions, bald eagles, and a humpback off in the distance. On the last day I finally got to shout 'ORRRRCAAA' which led to a total of 10 out in the strait, and they even used the rubbing beaches. On the cross we spotted a grizzly on west cracroft, and had a nice 7 mile paddle.

We had a great group and our guides Chris, Shea, and John taught us a lot about the Orcas and other wildlife. Oh, and the food was amazing! Grilled salmon, bbq chicken, cheesecake, pancakes, eggs benedict...it was like top chef british columbia! Also the hot shower was great, and I did the sauna on the last night, diving into the fresh water creek after each round which felt amazing. I loved being disconnected for 4 days, it was just what I needed.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie G, Manager at Wildcoast Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Hi Matt!

Whoa - what an incredible experience - as if seeing orca wasn't exhilarating enough, being the first to spot them and call Orca for the group is for sure one for the books! Chris shared his photo with us of the grizzly you saw, which is quite a remarkable thing to have seen

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday with us out in the wild, it is such an honour to share this incredible place with guests like yourself! Wildcoast has only a small team of guides, who work very hard representing Wildcoast so well throughout the season. Their passion and fascination with the area and wildlife is contagious!

We hope we get the opportunity to host you again!

Wildcoast Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"orca camp"
in 66 reviews
"hot shower"
in 20 reviews
"sea lions"
in 20 reviews
"gowlland harbour resort"
in 11 reviews
"desolation sound"
in 11 reviews
"eggs benedict"
in 6 reviews
"kayak trip"
in 10 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 6 reviews
"few days"
in 8 reviews
"gourmet food"
in 5 reviews
"saw orcas"
in 8 reviews
"quadra island"
in 12 reviews
"jumping salmon"
in 4 reviews
"killer whales"
in 4 reviews
"great adventure"
in 5 reviews
"wild coast"
in 6 reviews
"first night"
in 5 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 152 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2018

What a trip it was amazing in every aspect. The guides were unbelievable in everything they did from the kayaking, to cooking, cleaning, to preparing the hot tub and sauna. Great conversations, shared experiences, laughter and genuine interest in each guest and their experiences. And then there was the Wild Life! close encounters of the third kind - ha ha! Orcas next to our kayaks, sea lions snorting at us, eagles soaring above us and salmon leaping out of the water in front of the beach all in one day. Sunrise paddles with the mountains, the mist and the clouds of Johnstone strait that defy words. You simply have to go and experience it for yourself.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie G, Manager at Wildcoast Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Thanks for your awesome review! We sure do have a great team of guides that work hard to make sure your experience is amazing, and who love seeing all the wildlife and scenery as much as you do.

We're thrilled to hear you had an extraordinary experience with orca, and have to agree - it's hard to sum up the magic of Wildcoast's Orca Camp!

Thank you again for joining us this season!

Wildcoast Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Just returned from a 4 day stay at Orca camp. Our guides Cole, Se, and John made it a memorable experience. Was one of the best family trips we have done. Saw lots of orcas, humpback whales, sea stars, sea lions, etc. The glamping made camping easy. Our children (11 and 13) had a great trip with lots to hold their interest both on the water and at camp. Was also great to unplug for a few days. We really enjoyed the hot tub, sauna and gourmet food. Can’t wait to go back and would highly recommend. Perfect for our beginner kayak skill level, but could be made more difficult if you had higher level skills. Thanks to Cole,Se and John for a great trip and to Val and Damian for answering all our questions pre trip.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Vancouver_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie G, Manager at Wildcoast Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hi Jim!

Thank you for the lovely review! We are so pleased to be in the top ranking of your family's adventures - that means a lot to us.

Cole, Se, and Jon are a great team that bring their genuine passion, interests and a skills to each trip - we're glad they made it so memorable for your family! It was our pleasure to host you.

Wildcoast Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

I just got back from an amazing trip to Orca Camp with Wildcoast Adventures. I had some travel issues and they were very helpful, picking me up late from the ferry terminal. The camp itself was pretty cool. It had a hot tub, hot water shower and sauna (glamping at it's best). Our guides, Chris, Bender and John were great. Fun guys to be around, good cooks and guides. We saw humpbacks, orcas, dolphins, a sea lion and a bear. Thanks for a great adventure!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Taxhead5761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie G, Manager at Wildcoast Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Hi!

It was great hosting you at Orca Camp! Thank you for your kind words.

It was no problem picking you up late from the ferry, it was our pleasure. Orca Camp is a pretty special place to us, and we strive to make it comfortable without removing the wild! Made only better by the fantastic team of guides - that is a great combination you had on your trip!

We are glad to hear you saw such a beautiful array of wildlife, and we hope we get the opportunity to host you again!

Wildcoast Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic trip with Wildcoast! We saw orcas, stood under the Milky Way and watched a meteor shower, enjoyed great kayaking and took a hike to a lovely waterfall. The guides, food and accommodations were super. It would be hard to top this trip, but we’ll likely be back to try.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank llamachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie G, Manager at Wildcoast Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Thank you so much for your great review!

Sounds like you ticked the boxes of all my own favourite things about camp!

We certainly hope that we get to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildcoast Adventures also viewed

Heriot Bay, Quadra Island
 
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
 

Been to Wildcoast Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing