We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful B.C. from kayak and tents

The Wild Coast 5 day kayaking trip to Desolation Sound was fantastic. Trip leaders Nolan and... read more

Reviewed September 20, 2021
hikingkayaker
Desolation Sound Glorious to behold

Gorgeous first kayaking and tenting experience. I’m 45 yrs old and the staff correctly convinced me... read more

Reviewed September 16, 2021
sprocket5678
Read all 210 reviews
  
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
189
11
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
189
11
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orca camp sleeping bags hot shower desolation sound saw orcas wild coast kayak trip amazing food jumping salmon discovery island next morning top notch british columbia beautiful scenery warm clothes well taken care just in case
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 210 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I went on the four days orca camp trip and it was splendid! The camp is at a beautiful location, has all the nice things you need (hot shower, nice beds, cozy sleeping bags, hot tub and more) without loosing the camp site feeling which makes this adventure a wild one. The guides are super duper, the food is yummy and the kayaking in this area is outstanding. I could write a lengthy praise about everything these guys do right but just take my word for it and go book your tour! This camp was so good I just signed up at TripAdvisor only to write this review. Keep it going guys!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank JohnnyGiese
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2019

I was very fortunate to experience the Desolation Sound with Wildcoast Adventures as one of six solo women and two fantastic guides. Everything from kayaks to tents, sleeping bags and mats, excellent food and expertise were included in the package price. As I travelled from the UK not having to lug camping equipment was a big draw. Bender and Chris were able to get us loaded and on the water and paddling at a level which suited our abilities and no one ever felt under pressure to do something beyond their skill. Wildcoast Adventures provided the set up and Mother Nature delivered the rest - sunshine every day, very little wind, stunning scenery, mountains, the Milky Way, clear water, seals, humpbacks and then Orcas which came and circled the island we were camped on. My 5 fellow paddlers were great fun. I highly recommend this trip

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank AbbyexUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2019

I joined the Orca Camp Kayaking 4-day adventure and had the time of my life. We saw orcas, humpbacks, seals, sea lions, dolphins and porpoises; and nearer to shore, jellyfish, sea urchins, and sunfish. I was nervous about the kayaking, having never been in a kayak before, but our camp guides were consummate professionals and excellent coaches. I could not recommend Bender, Chris and Lawrence more highly. Our international group was congenial, the food delicious, the accommodations clean and very comfortable, the setting beautiful. The hot water bottles at night were a welcome touch as fall weather approached. The hot tub was available each day and, on the last day, a sauna. Bring your bathing suit but be prepared for all weather. Val was very helpful, answering questions beforehand and providing needed information.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019 via mobile

We were a bit worried about stepping WAY outside our comfort zone with an Orca Camp and even completed a short kayak course beforehand.
However we needn’t have worried (as much!) as all arrangements went seamlessly and (phew!) no one else seemed to be too experienced in kayaking and better still our Wildness team didnt expect it either!!!
We spent 6 weeks in Canada and the orca camp was definitely the highlight (despite many other highlights). Our wildness team were amazing - from Emily who quietly led the team to Laurence who managed the stragglers and provided lots of information to Nolan who seems to be a hero having rescued a client who capsized!
We all however felt like winners when we, on one memorable day, had orcas crossing our paths in the middle of Johnston Strait and then to all our amazement, we had 2 seperate sightings of bears in the little coves we quietly paddled in to. Amazing to see bears in their natural habitat.
The food cooked by the team was delicious and the tents large. The best though were the hot hot hot water bottles that first warmed your sleeping bag, then (on Laurence’s advice), when wrapped within your clothes, provided even warm socks the next morning. Truely fantastic.
We would highly recommend no matter what your reservations maybe.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank MALLINPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

I did the 4 day/ 3 night Orca Camp experience with Wildcoast and couldn't have asked for a better experience. From seeing orcas at sunrise to kayaking across the Johnstone Strait and seeing a bear on the beach, it was an incredible trip.

Our guides, Bender, Chris and Nuka, where knowledgeable, organized and did a wonderful job making our group feel welcomed and comfortable, on and off the water, throughout our stay.

Wildcoast is an amazing organization and made this trip all that it was advertised to be and more. I would highly recommended these guys if you have ever wanted to experience the coast of British Columbia in a very unique way.

I know that this won't be my only trip with Wildcoast, and I hope to get back soon!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank ruthshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews