We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
Beautiful B.C. from kayak and tents

The Wild Coast 5 day kayaking trip to Desolation Sound was fantastic. Trip leaders Nolan and... read more

Reviewed September 20, 2021
Desolation Sound Glorious to behold

Gorgeous first kayaking and tenting experience. I’m 45 yrs old and the staff correctly convinced me... read more

Reviewed September 16, 2021
Read all 210 reviews
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orca camp sleeping bags hot shower desolation sound saw orcas wild coast kayak trip amazing food jumping salmon discovery island next morning top notch british columbia beautiful scenery warm clothes well taken care just in case
Selected filters
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 210 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2020

Went out for a half day kayaking adventure with Damon and thoroughly enjoyed it. Damon took time to ensure veryone was properly outfitted and confortable. He was very informative about area, pointing out many local landmarks. We were lucky to see saw seals and eagles. I would recommend this to everyone.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank T7837DEbradleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2020

Double kayaks with kids in front for an afternoon in Heriot Bay. Unfortunately, it was windy and we struggled 2 hours upwind through crashing waves (losing ground when we stopped for a breath). Guide set us up but was otherwise hands-off and distant. At over $300 it was an expensive exhausting experience but you don't know what the weather will be like when you book. Fortunately, the guide also brought an extra single kayak with him which I was able to take (since we ended hour early with cold and exhausted kids and wife). I got to go up and down Rebecca Spit in the much lighter single.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank Maps43324443683
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, Manager at Wildcoast Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2020


Just wanted to say thank you for you review and we are sorry you did not have the adventure you were hoping for. We try our best to provide the best kayaking experience we can for all paddler abilities and sometimes the weather doesn't corporate. It especially gets tricky when we have families with small kids. As you know we have to place an adult in the stern of the kayak with the child in the front to ensure enough power to paddle the kayak. If the wind picks up while out on the water, it can be especially difficult with out two strong paddlers per boat. It is unfortunate that you experienced the wind that day and the paddling was tiring. One thing we can't control is the weather and especially the wind. We are happy the guide was able to put down a single and get you back on the water for more paddling as your family rested on the beach. We hope to get the chance to take you out again sometime to experience Rebecca Spit on a calm day, as its one of the most beautiful places in the world to kayak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2020 via mobile

Wildcoast Adventures was outstanding and I would gladly try another trip with them again. I went on the 4 day whales and wildlife trip. We saw a number of humpback whales, eagles, seals and glided over whirlpools on a zodiac. Shoutout to Tyler from Campbell River whale watching for being so enthusiastic and informative the entire whale watching trip. We hiked to a fresh water lake in the middle of Read Island and it was absolutely stunning. The food provided was delicious and the shrimp tacos even had taco holders! The area was very secluded and we were well taken care of! :)

Date of experience: July 2020
1  Thank Voyager615627
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2020

An unbelievable West Coast Adventure. Truly experience the nature and beauty of what this area of the world has to offer. Wildcoast didn't just put together a kayaking trip for us; they knitted together a complete package of wildlife experiences including a whale watching tour onboard a Zodiac, swimming, hiking, and camping! Always playing true and staying environmentally conscious of their surroundings. Felt incredibly comfortable and catered to in every way. Great way to spend my husband's birthday; surrounded by some five-star friends as well! After this 4 Day Whales & Wildlife package; it is definitely in our plans to return and experience Orca Camp.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank barefootedpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019

We did the Discovery Islands Expedition (6 days/5 nights).
We had a great time kayaking, and the hike to and swim in the freshwater lake was refreshing and well timed (after we we all sweaty from a long-ish paddle.
The food was great, especially considering it was all brought along in the Kayaks.
There was a night kayak to see the phosphorescence that my wife went on (I took the opportunity to lie on my back and see the Milky Way and satellites).
There were whales, and I particularly remember the one that turned on its side to raise its flipper in the air and the sound of them landing after leaping out of the water.
The only less than ideal part was the bathroom on the beach, but I'm not sure that anything can be done about that, and it wasn't so bad.
It only rained a bit, and I'm not sure how nice it would be if it rained more. The kayaking would surely be OK, but the camping might be less nice.
We intend to go on a trip with these guys again.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews