We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Educational and a thought-provoking experience

A lovely little museum with a fascinating collection of indigenous artifacts. Well worth a visit... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2022
BGJinns
,
Victoria, Canada
Beautiful carvings, totem poles, canoes, and artifacts.

Extremely well done, small historical presentations of artifacts. Helpful staff. If you visit at... read more

Reviewed November 15, 2019
sandrabI7727FC
Read all 72 reviews
  
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
54
13
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
13
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 72 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Cultural history is alive and well on Quadra Island as evidenced by this attraction bursting with historical displays, totem poles and knowledgeable staff. The small gift shop is well organized and has a good selection. The only thing lacking, I would say, is the lighting in the display cases, which if improved, would enhance the overall experience. A definite must do if you have cultural interests and are visiting Quadra Island.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Via_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Stopped at the museum while spending time on Quadra, and on the recommendation of a friend from Qualicum Bay. Beautiful building with a wonderful collection of masks and art that have been recovered. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Wonderful glimpse into the world and culture of some of the amazing First People of the area.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

This out of the way Native Art Museum has one of the best collections of native art you'll ever find. The items are well displayed and the descriptions are short and to the point.Allow at least one hour for your visit. There is no photography allowed and,unfortunately,they don't have a book for sale showing their collection. Across the road is a well designed area of native plants etc. which,again unfortunately,has been neglected in terms of maintenance.A few hours of weeding and raking could restore it to its original beauty.Another point that would bring more visitors would be better signage helping motorists find this treasure because that is what it is. Enjoy your visit.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank eddyVictoria_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

Stopped here with a group of us. The history is amazing and the museum is by far one of the best. It costs 10 dollars per adult and young children are free. The scenery is perfect for an outing. The museum offers a gift shop that has an array of options and some cute items for children. My daughter was attracted to the puppets. Before walking in make sure to check out the petroglyphs!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank JR02014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

The Nuyumbalees Cultural Centre was one of the best things we saw while visiting Quadra Island. Outside there are houseposts (totems), petroglyphs on the rocks, a garden displaying indigenous plants, and a tv with recordings of the elders telling stories. Once inside cameras are not allowed, as requested by the elders. The masks and regalia are beautiful. Learning about the potlatch ceremony, dance and tradition was very interesting. Our family took almost 2 hours here, but we read everything, and our youngest is a tween. Many other families made it through in less than an hour, but had much younger children. Very beautiful to learn about the people whose land we stood on.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank HarvestMoonBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews