We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
203
88
38
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
88
38
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room bennett bay the cottages on site main building hot tub toast steam room the kitchen ping pong wine store two nights salad bar washer and dryer shuffle board king bed get away
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 357 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2017

Spent 2 nights at Mayne Island Resort in a villa with our 2 dogs. First time on Mayne Island. Really enjoyed it. Great place to stay, lovely villa with everything we needed. Lots of great hiking and walking nearby. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Bistro was the "only show in town" and provided a very nice dinner. Great little bakery in Miners Bay. Look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2017

We just got home from a midweek getaway and didn't want to leave! The personal service we received and friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure we had a lovely stay made this an excellent choice- they even picked us up and dropped us back off at the ferry terminal so we didn't have to bring a car! The view cannot be beat and the the relaxed and cozy atmosphere was perfect for some much needed r&r. Since it's Fall (off season), it was quiet and we mostly had the hot tub, pool, and sauna to ourselves. We rented bikes and enjoyed a scenic hike and walks on the beach nearby (saw some seals, sea lions,and eagles). There are some cute deer who wander right up to the Inn too.
Every meal we had at the restaurant was delicious and service was great. We stayed in the historic Inn which was very charming. The game room with shuffleboard, pool, and ping pong is an added bonus as well as the library and fireplace. We will certainly visit again and will bring our dog next time!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have nice patios
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Picture P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017

This resort was perfect for a relaxing couple getaway. We spent the weekend there this past weekend and the weather couldn't have been more perfect. There is a main building which has 8 smaller rooms with balconies (no elevators) and a shared fridge in the hallway. It was extremely quiet there (good thing) but we felt like we had to whisper when we were outside of our room:) The bedroom is a little dated; but not too bad - the bathroom does need a bit of grout work done but nothing major. There were other larger cabin/villas available and if we go back we would definitely try this out. We arranged to go kayaking and it was amazing; 2 hour trip with our guide (Andrew) and he was very knowledgeable and friendly. The sea lions were even following us! Lots of walking trails to choose from and very friendly people everywhere we went. We are even considering going back to get married there! Great stay - thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHAMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2017

We head to the Islands or Sunshine Coast every year in the fall so we decided to try out Mayne Island as neither of us had ever been. Traveled here on a Social Shopper special and stayed in the main hotel - quaint and rustic for sure given the age of the property and the fact Mayne is a small island. Not sure what people expect when you choose to spend a weekend on "Island time". Rooms were clean with a great view of the ocean and your own patio. Given the age of the hotel there is not a lot of soundproofing so if you are light sleeper be forewarned. Sure the resort is obviously in transition but you get a sense that they are on the right track for sure. Bit more updating could go a long way but all in all I found it to be decent value.
The staff are fantastic - shout out to Andrew - he made us feel right at home in the mornings when we came down for coffee and toast and gave us lots of info on the hotel and Island. Make sure to book your reservation at the Bennett Bay Bistro. The seared tuna was to die for and the prices were very reasonable. The staff at the bar are awesome and to be honest the food exceeded our expectations for a small island resort.
While on Mayne you have to check out Farm Gate store (have the clam chowder!) and take a hike up Mt Parke to stunning views of the southern gulf islands. Travelers from outside BC should note that there is limited access to and from Mayne and to plan accordingly. Would consider returning again in the summer and bring our bikes and kayaks.

Room Tip: All the rooms have ocean views but are on the small side and you can get quite a bit of ambient noise from other rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShannonF1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Just spent a couple of midweek days at this resort. Early October weather was lovely, resort was very quiet with only a few guests. Very friendly and helpful staff. Resort has a spa which we enjoyed. The Island itself was very beautiful, great scenery and good hiking trails with our dog. The resort is dog friendly. Travelling to Mayne Island from Swartz Bay was easy. A perfect early fall get away.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanislecanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray R, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Hi Canuck, thanks for writing a review, I am glad you enjoyed your early fall getaway. Just to let you know, we are open year round and winter getaways here can also be very enjoyable. We get little to no snow, lots of green and very mild with flowers typically blooming early February. Lots of beach combing and trails to hike year round. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards
Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews