We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sleeping makes me grumpy”
Review of Sea Raven Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Raven Motel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not sleeping makes me grumpy”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The staff are great. The location is good, in that it is close to lots of amenities. It was very clean. However, the walls are so thin that I heard the neighbor snoring and everything else. Unfortunately there is no way you can hide the smell of musty dampness no matter how many air fresheners are used. The cost benefit ratio a little too high, because of the lack of sleep made me grumpy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Need4travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    6
    8
    2
See reviews for
3
10
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prince George
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

First of all the Restaurant has good food and you can get nice views of the ocean from the motel but there are better places to stay. First of all the rooms are set up very weird. The beds are parallel to the tv which is awkward if you have the bed behind because you cant see. The worst part though was the cheap floors when we were there that sunk when you walked on them. Overall stay in a B&B or another motel this is not one I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pggolfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchellgrant
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Great stay here. We couldn't get an ocean view room with balcony but instead got one of the rear rooms that overlook the parking area. We still had a view of the ocean from our window though. It was comfortable and quiet. The location is central and we just wanted the privacy. Check in and check out was easy. Good price. Overall, we would come back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchellgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We had an overbooking experiance at the Sea Raven dispite e-mail and phone confirmation with the Sea Raven staff which assured us that we had a pet friendly room reserved for our five day stay.
Arriving on the PM ferry our party was checked into the Sea Raven by Joe, after we entered our room we were advised that we were not in a pet friendly room.
Joe ( who then identifided himself as the owner of the Sea Raven ) stated that the only pet friendly room was booked and that we could not have a pet in our room and that our dog would have to stay in the car.
When we questioned the Sea Raven's position, Joe stated that as the owner he could do anything he wanted, turned his back, walked away and ignored us.
We were shocked at the owners refusal to acknowledge the impact of the overbooking or discuss any type of service or room options.
The non friendly pet room reserved for us had the musty odor discribed by other guests.
Refusing the non pet friendly room offered by the Sea Raven, our party faced the early evening task of finding alternate accomodations as Joe / Sea Raven refused to provide this service.
When we returned the next day for our refunds a staff member confirmed that Joe / Sea Raven was overbooking, adding that she was just getting back from time off because she was tired of dealing with frustrated and disapointed guest who were overbooked.
We are grateful to the inn operator and their staff for recognizing our situation and made special arrangements to provide accomodations for our family, pet and the family we were traveling with.
We choose the Sea Raven because they represented themselfves as pet friendly (re: internet, phone and correspondance ) and because of their location, we thought it would be an enjoyable experiance for children in our party to be close to the beach.
To date we have not recived any follow up from the Sea Raven.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WesternTraveler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Rupert
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I stayed at the Sea Raven and was placed in a room that was obviously moldy and smelt of urine. When I requested a change of rooms because of the smell the manager refused. We ended up[ leaving the hotel that night despite having to pay because we could not stand the smell or the cleanliness. When we returned the next morning the manager had opened the room to air it out and he left it that way all day. It was obvious that he knew the room was deficient. The hotel commonly overbooks their rooms and you can can get sent elsewhere. This is the manager's strategy to make sure that he is always booked. Be very careful booking here. There are some rooms that are good with a view, but there are others that are so bad you don't want to take your clothes off when you go to bed. The restaurant is good, but it is managed by someone else and is always busy. It is a very good place to eat.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharliePrinceRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 November 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Sea Raven Motel & Restaurant with the rest of our tour group from Calgary. Located across from the ocean, we had a wonderful room with a beautiful view. The room was very simple, and a little dated, however, it was extremely clean. The most wonderful thing about the rooms are their beds. They have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. Our whole group all commented on how well they all slept. The owners are wonderful people and genuine super hosts. They have a fantastic restaurant overlooking the ocean, serving fresh local seafood. You better reserve ahead if you want to get in...it was very busy with waiting lines out the door, every night of our stay. Great food, nice people, spectacular scenery.

Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queen Charlotte City
0.0 km away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
414 reviews
0.0 km away
Northern Shores Lodge
Northern Shores Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sandspit
3 reviews
0.0 km away
Hiellen Longhouse Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
0.0 km away
The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)
The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westc...
#5 of 24 in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
47 reviews
0.0 km away
Cacilia s Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Raven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Raven Motel

Property: Sea Raven Motel
Address: 3301 Oceanview Dr. | Box 519, Queen Charlotte City, British Columbia V0T 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) > Graham Island > Queen Charlotte City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Queen Charlotte City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Motel has 29 rooms and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Raven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing