We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scotland Lodge Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winterbourne Stoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scotland Lodge Farm
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Over Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Difficult to find - and once found if you leave on foot have to walk the long way round the farm to avoid upsetting the owner's daughter and her horses. Make sure your suspension is sound, there is a huge hole and dangerous dip in the turning off the main road - fine if you are driving a land-rover, tough if you have a sports car.

Lovely house, garden and breakfast cannot be faulted. However, I prefer to be left to my own devices and will ask if I need advice/help/assistance - I did start to feel like myself and partner were being treated like teenage children, also was not keen on being engaged in conversation all the time.
Couple were extremely friendly, and very (over) helpful, but it you prefer to just get on with your break unaided this is not the place to stay.

Breakfast advertised as from 7.30am, but when we requested it at this time on the Sunday we were informed it was a bit early! We would have liked an early start, but had to agree on 8.30 in the end (because there were other "horsey" guests staying.

Our closet contained overspill clothing from the family - which I found disconcerting, as had not been informed that this would be the case, and felt the need to be very quiet in the room as it was next door to their living accommodation, "en suite" was in fact next door, and the central heating boiler/immersion heater starts up at 11.30pm and grinds away behind the headboard until the early hours of the morning, heating your brains to boiling point. We now refer to that weekend as the one where we stayed at Wiltshire's Fawlty Towers.

If you like feeling like part of the household then this is the place for you, excellent service, great eccentric owners, and offers of fetching you from the pub........brilliant breakfast and lovely gardens - just not my cup of tea.

Room Tip: I really don't think it matters which room you stay in - though upstairs means you are further f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iliad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe52, Owner at Scotland Lodge Farm, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thanks for your comments and the pot holes were filled in shortly afterwards - heavy milk tankers use our drive and they are responsible for keeping the drive in good condition.
With regard to the "overspill of clothes in the closet" - there are 2 large double wardrobes in the upstairs double room and the first one is empty (apart from dressing gowns) and is for guest use. The other one does have a bolt on the front of it and this is where my extra clothes live.
Apologies for the boiler noise we will see if there is anything we can do about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

This place was our stop-over from Dover to Bath in order to see Old Sarum, Salisbury, Stone Henge and Wood Henge. The owners were exceptional hosts and most welcoming. Breakfast was substantial and set us up for a good day of sight-seeing and travelling ahead.
A beautiful home. I would love to visit again when next in the UK.

Room Tip: The upstairs room is best but is accessible by a narrow, steep stairway. Fine for us, but may be a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PidynTeithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

My friend and I spent three restful, comfortable nights at Scotland Lodge Farm. What a wonderful place to stay! Our twin room was immaculately clean and the beds were so comfy I actually didn't want to get up in the mornings. The grounds are absolutely stunning, I fell in love with the garden. Can't sing enough praises about the place! Love the fact that it is pet friendly, wandering the grounds to see the horses and the two lovely little dogs was a daily must for us. Every morning we had a variety of choices for breakfast including fresh fruit. The owner Catherine was fantastic, so welcoming and friendly. Catherine was a fountain of knowledge when offering advice on places to visit! All in all....a perfect place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_Jueze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Only stayed one night as part of our 3 week stay in UK (from Australia) and loved the lodge, the owners and great food. Nice clean comfy room and beautiful location.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colint42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

I stayed just the one night mid week on a business trip. I was a lone pregnant female travelling and as you can imagine felt quite vunerable. However, Scotland Lodge Farm made me feel instantly welcome and at a ease. I felt safe and comforable from the start. I would highly recommend to other lone females and hope to vist again one day. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

We have stayed here 3 times now. The downstairs two rooms are great for a family with children. The owners are very friendly and accommodating especially with the children, who loved the dogs and visiting the horses and the stables.

Stonehenge is literally 5 or 6 minutes drive away and Salisbury about 15 minutes.

We will definitely be staying again; it's also a great stopover when heading across from London to Devon or Cornwall.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marksmith99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Lovely location, beautiful and spotless rooms and divinely comfortable beds. Breakfast was lovely with a huge choice. Catherine and Bill were totally charming and helpful hosts - just perfect. We would heartily recommend and will certainly return ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ormesbysaint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Scotland Lodge Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland Lodge Farm

Property: Scotland Lodge Farm
Address: Winterbourne Stoke SP3 4TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Winterbourne Stoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winterbourne Stoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catherine and William Lockwood welcome you to their 4 star silver B&B set in 46 acres of grassland in the beautiful Wiltshire country close to Stonehenge. Lovely views and walks. Conservatory and garden for guests. We have 3 attractive, comfortable rooms with private bathrooms. Free Wi-Fi. Off-road parking. Excellent local pubs. We try to use locally sourced and Fair Trade produce and environmentally friendly household products. French, German and Italian spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing