We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel, nice and helpful staff, booked two rooms and got them adjacent as asked. Rooms are big and clean ...we stayed at the renovated part ...small problem with ac which was fixed quickly by the maintance guy who responded in few seconds. Breakfast is bit expensive for kids who eat cornflakes solely...
Free large parking. Few restarants near the hotel, which made our kids very happy.
Overall higly recommended for staying near Amsterdam or Schipol

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Victor_Traub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 3,542 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent 4 nights from Sept 28- Sept 31.
Although this hotel is far from the Amsterdam Historical Centre you can reach it easily using the hotel shuttle bus to the airport and then the train that goes to the Central Station. The shuttle bus works from 5:00 am to 11:00 pm. The staff at the front desk was friendly and accommodating.
We did not try the restaurant or other amenities the hotel has, but looked busy all the time.
Our room was quiet, clean and spacious. The bathroom was big with a deep jetted tub as well as a separate shower. Bathroom amenities were also very nice. The air conditioning was working properly. The WIFI was excellent.
I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Stay in this hotel for one night. Close to Schiphol airport. Easy connection to airport and no traffic jam. Had an upgrade to a four person room, very big and clean. Reception and people are very friendly. Nice Coffee machine on the room. Very good when you need to travel. Will use this for sure again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Erik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I’m in The Netherlands weekly so I know just how bad Dutch customer service can be. This is particularly true of hotels around the airport where staff seem to specialise in hiding from customers or sneering when they comment on being ignored.

However I’m a bit of a fan of Van Der Volk Hotels. They can be quirky, either ultra-modern or somehow stuck in a 70’s time warp. They seem to be frequented by people who are either 8 or 80, I know that’s not true but it seems that way. The upside is service is good in them and it they always are well managed and each one has its own freedoms. They are not a generic chain.

The A4 Airport is in a motorway layby and has all the charm of a service station. It is chaos as large groups of Chinese tour groups check in or out at all hours or school trips use it as a staging post for a tour. However it all works very well.

The rooms are large comfortable and have fast Wi-Fi. The shuttle from the airport is on time and large. Note others are too small. Staff are always very customer focussed.
The large dining area seems to be split into one side buffet for the tour groups and al la carte on the other. The food is good, and if you like carbs you will love it. They give you a lot. As a regular they could change it or have some specials on. The serving staff look like they have come direct from school but they are always very good.

For the airport unless you want to pay a fortune at the Hilton, this or the Citizen M are the best choices.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank boxman266a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Park, Stay the night over and Fly the van der Valk hotel Schiphol has a very good arrangement when you have to catch a early flight the next day.
The shuttle bus bring you from 05:00 hours to the airport.
We had a good sleep in a upgrated room.
On the way back the shuttle bring you back to the hotel to pickup the car.

Room Tip: You will hear the planes, but you are near to the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chrisgeldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Really nice hotel, friendly reception staff, spacious rooms, nice pool, this is a larger hotel 600 plus rooms. it as a lot of charm, the reception staff are friendly and accommodating. however the cleaning staff are another story!!!. we stayed here for 7 days from sept 25th 2017 to Oct 2 2017. the cleaning staff were very lazy and did not clean, they made our beds daily and put clean towels in however they did not clean bathroom, vacuum, wash down tables from spills or remove garbage's. Did not leave clean cups or glasses or refill shampoos or soap, left clean towel folded on floor of wet shower stall?? knocked on door even with do not disturb sign on door. Did not communicate well in Dutch or English (didn't understand either language) and were kind of rude. Keep in mind this is not a cheap hotel and is classified as a 4+ hotel so I expected that they would at least clean the bathroom or clean up spills on the tables. I didn't expect clean sheets or vacuuming daily but they only did that once not 4+ service at all. We left good tips for the first 3 days but stopped after that as they did not do a good job at all. this hotel has a huge parking lot but extremely hard to find parking as they do park and fly and it is easily accessible to airport. also the meals we great but very pricey and room service prices changed for same thing ordered daily???. got a bit of a surprise upon checkout when the said I had a bill for 29 euro! said it was for city tax but that was already paid, then they said it was for room service and I explained we paid with cash and credit card, so then they told me oh it was for room service calls!!! really what hotel charges you for room service calls?? after I questioned the charges they said oh sorry it was a fault on their computer system and decided not to try and scam me for the calls. My advice is go down and order your food and bring it up yourself as room service is quit a bit more than the same item in the restaurant . and pay attention to you bill. if they can scam you they will!!! I did really like this hotel , I would recommend it and I would return but I would defiantly pay attention to all my expenses. all in all I would return but I will be cautious next time.

Room Tip: Be cautious of your checkout Bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

The airline cancelled our flight due to high winds in Amsterdam, so they put us up at the Van der Valk A4 Hotel. We have stayed at Van der Valk hotels in the past and so far we have enjoyed all of them, and this one was no exception. A shuttle picked us up at the airport and dropped us at the door. The lobby area is huge and nicely set up with comfortable seating. Just off the lobby is the restaurant. The breakfast buffet which came with our room compliments of the airline, had loads of choices and everything was delicious. There are places to shop inside the lobby as well as a large wine bar.

Our room was immaculate and spacious with a large patio facing the parking lot. The weather was hideous so we could not enjoy it, but on a nice day it would be great. The bathroom was big with a deep jetted tub as well as a separate shower. We each received a little welcome bag full of useful items in case you forgot to pack them. Bathroom amenities were also very nice.

This hotel was a little farther from the airport than we would normally choose but worth the drive. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Next time you're in Amsterdam, try a Van der Valk Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sailorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
10.2 km away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
7.3 km away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
10.3 km away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
10.1 km away
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol

Address: Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Schiphol, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Spa Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range: $102 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol 4*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, a stone's throw away from the Schiphol Airport and close to the centre of Amsterdam, you will find luxury, comfort and hospitality with us. Because of its ideal location our hotel is easily accessible by car, public transport or by the free shuttle service. Our hotel offers generous parking spaces, where you can park your car free of charge during your stay in our hotel. Our friendly staff members, the generous, luxurious rooms, suites and many amenities will make you feel at home straight away.We're looking forward to welcoming you in Hotel Schiphol A4! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiphol a4 Hotel
Schiphol a4 Hoofddorp
Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing