We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub with great staff”

The Ashley Park Ember Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Popped in for a quick bite late one Sunday.
Did not have starters went straight in for mains the service was very good and efficient and friendly.
The Burgers are very good and they have a great selection you could double up with an extra burger and onionsrings for a couple of pounds, great value.
I went for the mixed grill not only was it very big but it was very good.
The staff were great offering to get us more drinks or offering to get us desserts.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DenMufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ashley Park Ember Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Denmufc, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Ashley Park! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2017 via mobile

I occasionally drink here as it's next to the station.

The staff are very nice and there's a good wine and gin list.

I don't generally eat in these kinds of places but was really hungry so ordered a lasagne. I didn't have great expectations but since I was ravenous I could have eaten anything. Chose set menu with nachos and lasagne.

Nachos starter portion was really small and the salsa etc tasted like it came from a jar. Tasteless but edible.

The lasagne was not very hot, bland, flavourless and tasted like a really cheep ready made microwave meal. It could've been soya the meat was so bleh and there wasn't even a decent white/béchamel cheese sauce to distract from the gloop underneath. Despite being starving it was so stodgy and lacking in flavour that I couldn't eat it.

The garlic bread was nice. Moist and garlicky!

Thank Woody151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ashley Park Ember Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2017

We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. We have launched our new spring summer menu today and the lasagne has been replaced with a new product which hopefully will be of better quality. Thanks for taking the time to review us, all feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2017

Easy to find as it is opposite Walton-on-Thames train station and there is parking too. The food is excellent and at a very good price. Bookings should be made for lunch time at the weekends as it does get crowded. There is a wonderful log burning fire where you can eat next to. Service is good and the atmosphere is good as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A8223XUangelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ashley Park Ember Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. All feedback is appreciated but it's always nicer when its as nice as yours. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Have been to the Ashley many times and in general have been satisfied however the Sunday roast has often been disappointing. The meat is not of a great quality and often overcooked. Obviously they cannot cater for everyone's taste in how the meat is cooked but some variation would be nice. The gravey is very runny and tasteless(this applies at least to the beef). If going on a Sunday, avoid the roast beef.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank surrypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ashley Park Ember Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review use. All feedback is appreciated however as you said we do cook the beef to try please everyone's taste. We are getting a different roast beef when our menu changes on 29th March and will be trying a different gravy as well so please try us again once our new menu has gone live and I'm sure it'll be improved. We do appreciate that you are usually satisfied with our offer but we are always looking for ways to improve which hopefully we will with the new menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile

As a local, my friends and I visit The Ashley, regularly. It is very well priced and I've always had excellent food. The staff are extremely friendly and efficient and make you feel very welcome. I couldn't recommend it enough!

Thank Dayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy23999, General Manager at The Ashley Park Ember Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2017

Dear Dayle C. Thanks for taking the time to review the Ashley Park Ember Inn. We pride ourselves on providing a friendly and enjoyable atmosphere coupled with great service and products and we're delighted to hear you feel the same. Have a great weekend and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ashley Park Ember Inn Restaurant also viewed

Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 

Been to The Ashley Park Ember Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing