We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the middle of Cognac land”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Moulin de Narrat
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We have stayed the weekend with M. and Mme. Moreau and were welcomed with warm regards and lots of hospitability.
The Moulin itself is an amazing mechanical relic that was restored beautifully and all teh historical details are available as well.
As we were traveling with friends, we have stayed at the gite, which is located just across from the main house. In the house there are the shared living-room, dining-room and kitchen, as are the B&B rooms.
M. Moreau is a chef and not justthe owners and he has provided as with lovely breakfasts as well as a dinner that was well-cooked, well presented and joyfully served.
The rooms are newly-renovated and each has an en-suite shower and toliets. Everything was clean and fresh, and the decoration was tasteful. The little kitchen that the gite has could be better equiped. Yet since both owners have indicated so themselves and were open to any demand we made concerning something we lacked, we didn't have any serious problems.
The moulin is located right in the heart of the lands of wine-making of Cognac and is a nice base to explore the different little towns and experience everything the regon has to offer. We highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bendorim5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

A great location and a peaceful spot, an ideal place to de-stress. The owners are friendly and welcoming and the food outstanding, not surprising I guess with a trained chef as co owner. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary here. Also has a fully working mill. Easy traveling distance of Cognac and Bordeaux. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Cedrick and Agneska are wonderful hosts. Menu was on a blackboard and walked through with detail descriptions and the food produced was superb. They are a great couple. Cedrick is local and Agneska from Poland. Both lived and worked in ireland. Will be back. Great intimate experience and beautiful location.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed overnight on our way to Paris is this beautiful house with lovely people. Jeff and Thierry are the perfect hosts, very friendly and helpful but at the same time discreet. They showed us their wonderful and ancient mill and served an excellent and delicious breakfast.
Our room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. This will be an obligatory stop for us when driving through France, but next time we will stay a few days. St Maigrin is a tiny hamlet but there are many places to visit within a days drive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pruedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

The moulin narrat was absolutely amazing! The location is just gorgeous in the french country side amongst the vineyards. I would recommend paying a little extra for the dinner which was all fresh produce from the local area. Also spend some time checking out the fully restored mill. It is amazing! Highly recommended, I wish I could have spent more time here...

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helpfultraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We were amazed and impressed with everything at Le Moulin, we stayed for two nights and wished it could have been longer. Only open since April 2010, it is a beautifully restored watermill and farmhouse, set in a stunning rural location about a half hour drive from Cognac. Everything about Le Moulin was high quality and sympathetically done, the large rooms and bathrooms are decorated in a contemporary style mixed with antiques and farmhouse chic. Nicolas and Aline made us very welcome and accommodated our every need. We travelled with our children (10 & 6), who loved playing in the gardens, bamboo forest and rowing and fishing on the small river leading to the watermill. The highlight of our stay was becoming millers for the afternoon and milling our own flour, which we got to take home! We ate a delicious meal, cooked by Nicolas, of locally produced ingredients, accompanied by a fabulous wine. Overall an excellent find, do go there soon!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samjmoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FrancoisG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Moulin de Narrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de Narrat

Address: Lieu Dit Narrat, 17520 Saint-Maigrin, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saint-Maigrin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Maigrin
Price Range: $140 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come spend an unforgettable moment in the heart of the two Charentes, the Moulin de Narrat, charming guest house.Thierry and Jeff welcome you in a structure of high-quality accommodation, including 5 comfortable rooms including 1 suite suitable for disabled guests.Le Moulin de Narrat is a former water mill fully restored to the same (Heritage Foundation).We will make every effort to ensure you a pleasant stay in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast is included in our rate.Possibility of table guests by reservation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Moulin de Narrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing