We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
483
249
70
27
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
483
249
70
27
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thorpe cloud dovedale bar haddon restaurant bar area afternoon tea lovely hotel bar food peak district superior room stepping stones excellent food following morning sandwiches main course four poster bed hotel is situated fish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 839 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Stayed for a wedding.Easy to find from the A.515 and more than adequate parking.Situated perfectly for walking in the Peak District or just a quiet holiday.Rooms comfortable. Certainly not modern but with plenty of character. Friendly,efficient staff. Good food. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Dear Robert, thank you for taking the time to review The Izaak Walton Hotel. I am pleased to hear of your recent stay and especially that you found your room to be comfortable. It is also good to hear that you enjoyed the food and found the staff to be friendly and efficient. We do hope to welcome you back again and we would recommend booking direct with the hotel for our best available rates. Best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch at this friendly hotel during a walk from Ilam to Dovedale. Welcoming staff and they are happy to have dogs in the bar (although we used one of their two garden seating areas as the weather was nice).

Prices are typical hotel level and somewhat above that you’d expect in a pub. However, quality of the food was excellent and the portion sizes very generous. Super views from the garden.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review The Izaak Walton Hotel. It is good to hear of your visit following your walk in the local area and especially that you enjoyed the quality and portion sizes of your meals whilst dining with us. We do hope you will visit again when next in the area. Best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Spent a lovely weekend here. Quiet and peaceful. Right on the edge of Dovedale so great for exploring. Food was excellent both in main restaurant and in the bar. Large room. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout. Especially receptionist who having learnt I had forgotten my razor got her son so bring over a disposable one.

Room tip: Rooms at front look out over Thorpe Cloud which is quite dramatic
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Dear Dave, thank you for taking the time to review The Izaak Walton Hotel following your weekend stay. I am pleased to hear you that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of the hotel and surrounding area and that you found the food to be excellent in both The Haddon Restaurant and The Dovedale Bar. We do hope to welcome you back again and we would recommend booking direct with the hotel for our best available rates. Best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Excellent location for our walking plan. Room was ready on our arrival enabling us to change into suitable gear. Knowledge of the local walks needs brushing up, both staff seemed very unsure? Staff very friendly throughout and helpful. Good ale and the bar menu was very suitable for our needs. Bedroom exactly what we requested. Poor WiFi but what you’d expect for the location. Overall would fully recommend.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank RPW1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review The Izaak Walton Hotel following your walking weekend. I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and were able to make the most of the nearby walking routes. I am also pleased to hear that you found the staff helpful and friendly and the menu in The Dovedale Bar suitable for your needs. We do hope you will visit again and we would recommend booking direct with the hotel for our best available rates. Best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Always a lovely place to go and relax. They do good coffee and even better hot chocolate. We had these in one of the sitting rooms snuggling down into sofas and arm chairs. It’s a glorious view over Dove Dale & there is plenty of parking. You pay no more here than you would in one of the many coffee shops in Ashbourne. Bar menu looks good too

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Loobeloo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review The Izaak Walton Hotel. I am pleased you to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing hot chocolate with us and were able to enjoy the views from one of our lounges. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews