We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cottage, beautiful area, charming hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church Farm Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alsop en le Dale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage, beautiful area, charming hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were incredibly well looked after after a weekend away with our 17 month old toddler; she had a lovely time watching the animals from the window seat, and - some minor reshuffling of the coffee table later - was safe and happy roaming around the cottage.

The cottage is incredibly well equipped - every meal we prepared had exactly the right utensils immediately and easily accessible. The living room is comfortable, the TV equipped with Freesat for lazy evenings and there's decent broadband/wifi included too.

The hosts were wonderful; Chrissy greeted us with freshly baked cake on arrival (including a piece for Emily), provided a highchair for our daughter to save us bringing one all the way up, provided a soft toy when we left our daughter's favourite bunny behind and had all manner of toys from their grandchildren's visits lying around for our little girl to delight in. They provided helpful recommendations of things to do and great conversation for when we were wandering around the farmyard, marvelling at the turkeys and more!

Oh - and the location is good. There's tonnes of great stuff to do within 30-35 minutes drive (Chatsworth, Bakewell etc), and Ashbourne is 15-20 minutes away if you need a semi-urban centre.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank division6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just got back yesterday from a lovely break here with our 17 month old. The family who run the farm couldn't have been more welcoming, showing us round the farm and letting us meet a new born calf who had just been born. The cottages were extremely well equipped and there is loads to see nearby. Our daughter was absolutely in her element and adored sitting at the cottage window watching the animals of the farm. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Church Farm Holiday Cottages provided us with the perfect base from which to enjoy the beautiful surrounding areas (Dovedale, Matlock, Buxton etc), especially in the snow! We recieved a very warm welcome from Christine, along with a homemade cake. The cottage (Pinster) was clean, spacious and well-equipped with Freesat, board games and a large range of leaflets and walking maps within. Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay here and urge people to visit here yourselves.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben-Kirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lympstone
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

The first visit to Christine's Cottages was about four years ago, we were impressed with everything, loved the situation on the farmyard in a quiet spot and the location right by Dovedale and the Tissington Trail. So in 2011 we returned to stay again in Pinster. The cottage has everything for a comfortable stay and since our first visit now has a DVD player, satellite television channels and Wifi. Christine has provided a very well fitted out kitchen, comfortable lounge and dining facilities and lovely bedrooms and bathroom. Pinster Cottage is very spacious, and it is a great space to stay in. The farmyard is a joy, and we were there when some piglets had recently been born so there was much entertainment watching them feeding and growing. Much of the farming proper is taking place a couple of miles away so the farmyard is nice and quiet.

The road outside sees little traffic so walking into the local village is easy, as is the footpath over the fields to the Tissington Trail and Milldale at the top of Dovedale. The Cottages are so close to Dovedale that you can enjoy beautifully picturesque walks there without meeting many of the 2 million other visitors each year simply by setting off after breakfast and walking down the dale from Milldale when others are starting later and walking up from the stepping stones.

Christine and family are genuinely interested in making sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay. They are very nice people too !!!

We look forward to staying again in the future.

Alan Sally & Leonie

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Spacexecadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have just returned from staying in one of the cottages and were very sad to leave. We had a great relaxing family holiday here and will return. I have to say we could not fault it at all. The reasons we enjoyed staying here were the claenliness , the animals being around , Christine and Chris`s hospitality , the quiet unspoilt location , Derbyshire itself with all the activities of a varied nature just on your doorstep and other I could go on. We really felt at home with the rare breeds and focus on recycling of things on the farm and also your general waste. Nothing was a bother to the hosts. We will return.
Sue and Cliff and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dumbledoor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Very pleased with the cottage we stayed at here (Pinster, the one on the left). Had a warm welcome from Christine, and her friendly dogs and cats. The homemade Victoria sponge was very nice. Set on a small working farm in a very small village with Gloucester cows and a few pigs, they also sell their beef and eggs.

As bird watchers we were delighted with watching the resident house martins and swallows swooping around the farm and feeding their young from several nests under the gutters.

Everything was clean, spacious enough for the two of us, and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed, and the washing facilities were in a separate part of the cottage complex. The Wi-Fi we managed to connect to straight away.

The owner's were extremely helpful with places to see and there was a lot of info. provided on local walks. From the cottage we managed to walk the full length of Dovedale starting from Milldale down to the bottom and back, just over 9 miles. The Tissington trail was within about 10mins walk, which was great for our dog.

We would definitely consider coming back here, it was a nice quiet location, not too far from the main road, and very well placed for a short drive to see many of the main towns (Buxton, Bakewell, Matlock).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_The_Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Thanks Christine and Chris for making our stay special. We enjoyed your warm hospitality and will definitely try to come back.
You have a lovely warm cottage, which is excellently set-up with full kitchen and all amenities we needed. Having Freesat HD a bonus we have never come across before!
Claire still remembers collecting the eggs and playing on all the farm toys.
You made the end of our trip memorable by allowing us to leave the best till last!
5 out of 5
Andy, Grace, Claire, Emily and Ruth

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glass3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsop en le Dale
4.5 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.0 km away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
14.5 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
1.0 km away
Newton House Hotel
Newton House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newton Grange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
5.1 km away
Bentley Brook Inn
Bentley Brook Inn
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Church Farm Dam Lane, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park DE6 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alsop en le Dale
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Farm nestles alongside the historic Norman church in the tiny village of Alsop en le Dale, at the head of one of the most beautiful but undiscovered dales in the Peak National Park. Our topsy-turvy cottages were created from an old barn on the farm. They have a wealth of character with high ceilings and and exposed beams, are at the top end of the Tourist Board Scheme and inspected annually. They are situated in the cobbled yard of our Rare Breeds farm and are just the place for your Peak District Derbyshire holiday. Winnets is the larger of the two cottages. There is a downstairs single bedroom, another single bedroom upstairs and a double bedroom that overlooks the courtyard (an additional identical full sized bed is available for the single room, if required to accommodate an extra person 5 max in cottage). Pinster has one double bedroom and one single. An additional identical full sized bed is available for the single room, if required, to accommodate an extra person (4 max in cottage). Changeover is on a Saturday. Prices for the week vary from £260 to £475 depending on the time of year. Between the end of October and 1st April except for Christmas and New Year, the cottages may be booked for Winter Breaks for any period of 3 days or more. The first three nights are charged at £170 [Pinster] or £180 [Winnets] for two people sharing. If there are more than two people, the price is £210 [Pinster] or £240 [Winnets]. Each additional night is £38 [Pinster] or £40 [Winnets]. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing