We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Creamery front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Creamery front
Creamery front Side of Creamery in a very snowy Kniveton
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Creamery front
Creamery front
Side of Creamery in a very snowy Kniveton
Creamery side
Kitchen
Living room
Living room
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom with bath and shower over
View of church from garden, available for use by guests
View across field to Church Farm in the background
Bridge at the bottom of the garden that guests can access
Side of the Creamery . All windows look on to the garden
View from lounge
View from patio area which can be used by guests. The summerhouse can be used too.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kniveton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stuart A
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed June 10, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Great cottage in a lovely area Liam was very helpful when we needed help but we were left to enjoy a relaxing holiday which is just what we needed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lara757
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great cottage in lovely village ”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this well equipped and cosy cottage. There were lovely homemade biscuits for when we arrived and an Easter egg as it was the Easter weekend. Cottage is in a good location for not only the excellent local pub, The Red Lion but also to get to other local attractions. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clews123
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect cottage for a nice quite get away from the world!”
Reviewed November 29, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This cottage is located brilliantly in the center of a small village called Kniveton. On arrival me and my wife were warmly greeted by the owner Liam and he was quick to show us around the cottage and how things worked. As the heater was not working in the bedroom Liam had already provided us with a small portable radiator that did the trick. Also a pint of milk and a nice cake was ready and waiting for us which was a nice touch! The cottage was clean and comfortable and me and my wife had a lovely short weekend stay. We went to the village pub (Red Lion) on the Friday evening which can only be described as fantastic and is a must if you are to stay at this lovely place. Liam provided us with a torch for the walk as the village is free of light pollution. We also got to experience the first snow of the winter which added a nice touch to our walk around Carsington Water on the Saturday. Overall I would recommend this cottage to couples that want to escape for a few days, little phone reception or 4G. Liam was happy to provide his landline number which we could pass to family so that if we needed to be contacted we could be. I will certainly be visiting again :D

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S
1 review
“Cosy hideaway in great location”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here. The kitchen is well equipped so we were able to eat in on a couple of evenings. Bed is comfortable, living/ dining area is surprisingly big and again comfortable and cosy. Bathroom was clean. Noticed that there is a washing machine and clothes aired which can imagine would have been useful if we'd got muddied while out walking.

Nearest town is Ashbourne (10 minute drive) and is a great base for exploring the peaks, villages and stately homes.

One potential downside is that there was no Wi-Fi and we struggled getting the t.v. to work, however we quite enjoyed the escapism!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari520...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This cottage is in a fantastic location to explore the Peak District and areas around. The bike trails are great and are not hilly. Carsington Water, Tissington Trail, Monsal Trail, High Peaks Trail and Manifold Trail. We did all these and really enjoyed them.
Wirksworth is great and the railway station has steam trains - so interesting. We had a ride on a really old one in the brake car. Buxton, Matlock, Bakewell are all lovely to explore.
For food we liked The Red Lion at Hognaston best. The Knockerdown is good value and a great Sunday roast but is busier with families with children. The Red Lion in Kniveton is ok but shut on Monday and Tuesday. If you're in Matlock try The Running Hare. It was brilliant. Lovely food and good service.
The cottage was lovely and comfortable and clean. Quite a lot of cobwebs though. I would suggest that cottage information is updated as there is a lot of out of date information. This did not take away from our holiday though and is only a suggestion. We loved it. We had great weather and we had everything we needed in the cottage. Liam was available if we wanted him. Most of the time we didn't need him for anything. We had some lovely home made cakes left for us on arrival and also a pint of milk. There is plenty of parking space and Liam gave us a key to the garage to store our bikes securely.
I would thoroughly recommend this location for a holiday. This actually is the most comfortable cottage I have stayed in and I've stayed in a lot.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
workingmu...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ideal, tranquil and perfectly equipped rustic cottage”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I booked this property for my parents for a weeks holiday to celebrate their wedding anniversary and birthday. They couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting.

They were warmly welcomed with freshly made home baked scones and the cottage was cosy and inviting. The front door is very low as it is a very old building but my dad soon adapted to the height, you do have to bend if you're tall though.

The bed was extremely comfortable and it was a peaceful night sleep each night. There is only limited telephone signal so it was a nice quiet stay! My parents didn't think to ask about Wi-Fi so they had no internet all week. The garden is enclosed and very relaxing to sit in and watch the tortoise!

There is no local shop in the village (nearest shop is 3 miles away) so go prepared with milk if you want a cup of tea when you arrive.

The owners live onsite and were absolutely great, they responded to all queries and even did my parents washing when the washing machine broke down which was much appreciated.

The cottage is perfectly located for a wide range of activities and days out.

It is a fabulous place to stay and very highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing