We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely comfortable cottage in an excellent...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back garden of Church Farm which can be used by guests. Snowy day in Kniveton
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Back garden of Church Farm which can be used by guests. Snowy day in Kniveton
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Twin bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Miles of walks from the front door
Brook at back of garden offers shaded tranquility
Llama in field overlooking Carsington Water
Garden with bridge and swing seat
View across field to Church Farm in the background
Open fields with panaromic views of Kniveton,Ashbourne and Carsington Water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kniveton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CJH61
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed September 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We enjoyed a lovely week’s stay in this cottage. It was very comfortable and clean. It is well-equipped and very good value for money. Our young children felt very at home. It is in a great location for exploring the Peak District and we enjoyed days out in a number of places including Matlock, Bakewell and Chatsworth. The only downside for us was the lack of WiFi. This might be an advantage for some to get away from being connected, but we couldn’t use the internet to look up and book places to visit, and had no phone signal to do this either (also meant we couldn’t phone to order a takeaway!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nat2chat
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed September 2, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We took our three young girls to milk maids cottage for a short break and were pleased to find such an idyllic place. Liam had baked rock cakes and even put milk in the fridge so we could have a cuppa upon arrival. The cottage was spacious and the girls loved all the games and DVDs that were there. The only downside was that the travel cot didn't fit the master bedroom so i stayed in the living room with the youngest but it wasn't a problem as there was a pull out bed there which was sufficient. When the batteries died in the thermostat Liam went straight to town to purchase new ones and was very helpful and approachable throughout our stay. Will definitely recommend milk maid cottage to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla W
2 reviews
“Cosy, comfortable Cottage”
Reviewed August 20, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

A lovely little cottage for a short stay. Clean and comfortable. The home cooked biscuits on arrival were fantastic.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimmy w
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage in a lovely area”
Reviewed July 3, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Milk Maids Cottage, KNIVETON, Derbyshire was exactly as was described on the website. Spacious with every convenience. An excellent centre for visiting the local attractions. Car parking was very satisfactory.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Lynn...
1 review
“Delightful Cottage,very warm greeting, added extra unexpected homemade buns”
Reviewed June 12, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Well situated for travelling, site seeing properties, countryside, personally went to Chatsworth Flower Show.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieBut...
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dads 80th”
Reviewed May 9, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Milk Maid Cottage is an excellent place to stay. Lovely, comfortable cottage, with everything you could possibly need to enjoy your stay. The home made rock cakes on arrival were delicious . Ideal location for visiting other areas and excellent pub food at Red Lion pub, a 5 minutes walk away

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs pauli...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Milkmaid Cottage”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Milkmaid cottage is one of the most charming and cosy cottages we have stayed in, very well equiped and a central base to visit lots of attractions in Derbyshire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing