We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
US$93
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-10
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$92
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-11
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$93
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$93
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
243
132
53
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
243
132
53
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alton towers lovely surroundings full english the ground floor bit dated get together poached eggs biscuits stayed for one night comfy bed the pub carvery gabby uttoxeter receptionist
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 462 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2021 via mobile

4 of us had lunch here, we all had a roast dinner served to the table by a very friendly and helpful member of staff. The food was served hot with plenty of freshly cooked vegetables that were perfectly cooked. The roasts were delicious, tender and tasty and we were served very quickly. We all enjoyed our different desserts too, served with plenty of custard which is unusual these days! We then had coffee in the comfortable lounge which was very nice too. All in all a great visit and can’t wait to go back again.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 16, 2021 via mobile

This was a really comfortable stay and an excellent meal. I know the cauliflower steak sometimes causes controversy, but all I'm going to say here is that this one was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection with a lovely subtle flavour and substantial and tasty accompaniments, and I'm happy to pay for that! I enjoyed every single bite.

All the staff were charming and it was so refreshing not only to have two good vegan main course options but to be told that they could adapt another dish if I preferred. Good breakfast, too. Thanks, all.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Lennielovesplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 13, 2021 via mobile

We stayed one night and loved our experience. The staff were kind, helpful and very polite and the food was absolutely excellent we will definitely return. The room was spacious and comfortable and it's a great location for visiting Staffordshire and South Derbyshire

Room tip: Parking is great, good size car park
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JJRodgers65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 6, 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the Boars Head following our wedding reception. The hotel staff couldn’t have been more helpful, allowing me to drop my car and our bags off in the morning, and making sure that everything was in our room for our arrival later that evening.
The bottle of wine that I’d ordered was nicely chilled. Room was spotless and the bed very comfortable.
Breakfast was included the following morning. My wife had the veggie breakfast, whilst I paid the small upgrade charge for excellent Eggs Benedict - well worth it!
All the staff through the hotel were very friendly.
Not normally somewhere we would consider staying, as it’s only 15 minutes from home, but can highly recommend!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BlueJohn1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 30, 2020

We stayed 2 nights at the Boar's Head in September. A very warm and friendly welcome greeted us from this excellently run family hotel. We were upgraded to a King size room that was extremely clean and comfortable. The beer garden is a great addition and we enjoyed pre dinner drinks there each evening. The meals in the restaurant were freshly prepared, piping hot, good quality and reasonably priced (even without the 25% reduction!). Breakfast - again excellent with a full hot choice selection. The staff are well drilled and provide a friendly and attentive service. Gabrielle- the owners daughter deserves special praise. Certainly recommend the 5* quality and service.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elainesholidayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews