We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Definitely coming back”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hollington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

tillyturn...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely coming back”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The last thing my daughter said as we were leaving Philippas place was can we stay again. The cottage was a perfect place to come back to after you have had a busy day exploring. Philippa our host was so friendly and we felt very welcome. I took my two children 7 and 2 who loved feeding the pet sheep sometimes twice a day and quickly made friends with Philippas cat Tasha. The cottage is in a really beautiful setting and has everything and more then you need. We were sad to leave and will definitely be staying again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Retreat!”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

After a long journey up, we were greeted by the very friendly Phillipa. She happily showed us around the retreat and had made sure there was some delicious cake and tea ready. Fresh eggs from the local chickens were greatly appreciated for breakfast too. The cottage is even nicer than it looks in the pictures with everything you could possibly want provided; every piece of kitchen equipment we could think of, tv, dvds, wifi, decent shower. The fire was lovely to warm up to of an evening and the bedding was amazingly soft for a great sleep after a busy day. The leaflets in the boxes were a great help when deciding where to cycle/walk/explore and this spot was a great base, with just a short drive to everywhere we visited.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy Sofa
Liked least: Shower could be more powerful if I'm being really picky
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us all, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your time at The Retreat. The welcome you received from from the owner sounds top notch - a tour, afternoon tea and fresh eggs for breakfast - wonderful! We certainly hope that you return for another fun filled stay very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iChrisEva...
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really lovely and peaceful place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Me and my partner were looking for a relaxing few days away over a weekend for my birthday, we were looking for something not too far away but something a little different. We thought the pictures of the property looked nice and decided to book, we were very happy with the property when we arrived, while the pictures look nice actually when you see it in person its even better. The owners have done a great job on this property. The peak district itself has some lovely views, your able to go out in the day then come back to a nice place to relax and watch some tv or just read. We had a great time and im pretty sure we will come back in the future for another short break away.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design and general look of the property inside
Liked least: We forgot to try out the hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy R
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing away from it all break”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Just arrived back for our mid week break and have to say we are fully relaxed and switched off. The Retreat enabled us to 'get away from it all' in really great accommodation and surroundings. We spent valentines night at The Saracens Head which was a lovely treat. The hosts are wonderful and friendly and are to hand if you need them but leave you to relax also. We had everything we needed and the bed was so comfy our lie ins got later and later! Thank you Phillipa, Julian, Neil (the sheep), Archie (the very friendly cat) & co x

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalismanU...
UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Retreat lives up to your expectations and more”
Reviewed July 19, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Have just returned from a very enjoyable week in the Derbyshire Dales, we stayed at the excellent and aptly named Retreat in Hollington which is well placed for visiting the local tourist spots and only a short ride to the magnificent Dovedale. We arrived in Hollington having travelled nearly 190 miles in torrential rain and tackling flooded local roads, not sure what to expect on our arrival. We shouldn't have worried our host Phillipa was there in the rain to give us a warm welcome and show us around The Retreat. On arrival we were treated to Jam and Scones which were most appreciated after our long journey. The property is a converted barn and Garage which has been transformed into an open plan holiday home and has been decorated to the highest degree and equipped with everything you will need to make your holiday complete, unfortunately the hot tub was not included in our package although is available for the larger property's. The cottage is equipped with a wet room which made showering a pleasure. The Bedroom is partitioned off by a curtain and is a good size and has a very comfortable bed with a duck down quilt, very snug. Free wifi is a godsend when looking for opening times of attractions and directions. The kitchen has all the equipment you would expect from a quality let and the lounge dining area was well set out and tastefully furnished. We were well looked after and made to feel welcome by Phillipa, Julian, George and Annabelle not to mention the family pets. The Red Lion is within a short walking distance and does excellent good value meals, try the Sunday Roast and Rib Eye Steak, mouth watering and tender. Places to visit, Arkwrights Mill Matlock, very interesting demo on old weaving machines, Eyam plague village, Critch Tram Museum, Monsell Head, Haddon and Hardwick Halls. We enjoyed our stay at The Retreat and will return in the near future.

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Tranquility and made to feel welcome
Liked least: Lack of proper wardrobe
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully relaxing”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We would recommend this holiday retreat to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing and romantic break away from everything.The Retreat cottage is beautifully decorated, very comfortable with everything you would need. The owners are very friendly and will help in anyway they can. We had our 18 month old son with us who enjoyed the daily routine of feeding the very friendly sheep in the next field. The only time we left the Retreat was to visit the nearby pub for lunch, which is also great. The only negative I have is we were under the impression we had a shared hot tub, and discovered we didn't when we arrived there. I had spoken to sykes the day I booked who didn't inform me differently, so when I called back regarding this I was spoken to very rudely and told I was wrong.....Very poor.......But that has nothing to do with this wonderful place, if your going to book it, go straight through the owner, NOT through Sykes.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed, friendly atmosphere
Liked least: no hot tub :(
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Reviewed November 5, 2010 for a stay in August 2010

Date of stay: August 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.