We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$102
Hotels.comUS$102
PricelineUS$102
Official HotelUS$102
eDreamsUS$102
Orbitz.comUS$102
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
60
98
65
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
98
65
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat launch small town vancouver island port pub fishing waterfront kitchenette eagles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 254 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2020 via mobile

Stayed at the Quarterdeck Inn while fishing in Port Hardy in July 2020.

Inn is close to boat dock so that is handy. Hotel close by has reasonable restaurant

Ok rooms. Nothing fancy but clean.

Staff some what friendly.

Early morning continental breakfast.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank g123456n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beena Ishraq, Other at Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you taking time to review The Quarterdeck Inn. We are glad to know you liked your stay.
Hope you have a nice day

Kind Regards
Beena
Ph. No. : 250-902-0455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2020 via mobile

In light of COVID-19, we decided to explore Vancouver Island this year with mini-breaks to selected areas. July was Port Hardy, on the North Island.

The Quarterdeck was a good choice for this trip. Not knowing what could be provided during this challenging time, we booked a room with kitchenette and brought breakfast supplies for our 4-day trip. We found the staff to be excellent and the room both clean & comfortable. Good views & resident eagles entertaining. Despite COVID precautions, they were able to provide a limited breakfast for guests- coffee, boxed juices, hot/cold cereal, pre-packaged muffins to name a few. Toasters & coffee makers were available if requested.

Although the hotel restaurant was closed, we found three places in town for eating in & others offering takeout.

Once again, this property is recommended

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 284rickw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beena Ishraq, Other at Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for recommending The Quarterdeck Inn. We always strive to provide best hospitality despite the current circumstances. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Beena
Ph. No. : 250-902-0455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2020

In light of the pandemic, alot of routines in the hospitality sector must've changed. I get that.

But that doesnt excuse the following:
After moving into our room, we had to go downstairs and ask for towels, hand soap, toiletpaper cause none were in the room.
The room clearly wasnt vacuumed and had notes and trash of the previous guests in it.

Every night the bathroom sink filled with black water that wouldnt drain. When it finally did it left a residue of crumbs and dirt in it.

No housekeeping at all, even with sign on the door. New TP or towels only on verbal request.

Ive stayed in Hostels that charged a tenth of the price and had better service.

The breakfast is a joke. Yes, the pandemic makes things tricky, but to charge full price and offer nothing but muffins and coffee is more than dissapointing, especially cause we inquired over the telephone and were promised a full continental breakfast selection.

But the staff is friendly enough, the location is quiet and just a 5 minute walk out of town (in which almost everything is shut as of late June 2020). Beds are comfortable. Most furniture is damaged/broken.

Would not recommend.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LeonBiermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2020

The staff were helpful and friendly, but the room was not up to standard. The floor had not been cleaned, there were hairs on the bathroom floor from the last guest, the drawers of the bedside table were filled with previous guests drawings and when arriving in our room we weren't able to wash our hands or both shower as there was no hand soap and only 1 towel. When we called down to front desk they did help us and were lovely, just a shame the room was not cleaned fully. Bed was comfortable and the sheets looked clean.

The views of the waterfront were lovely and it's a short walk into town so the location is great. Unfortunately their restaurant was closed, I think they said for the full summer season. Breakfast was alright, looks like the buffet breakfast would've been a lot better but under the circumstances it was still good.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 343jennyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beena Ishraq, Other at Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review The Quarterdeck Inn. First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you. Above all else, providing excellent customer service is our main goal. Given the opportunity, I would like to learn more about your case. Please contact me at you convenience.

Regards
-Beena
Ph. No.: 250-902-0455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2020

Our Bantom Hockey team travelled to Port Hardy Feb. 28th until March 1st for the weekend. Our entire team and parents experienced very rude customer service from most of the staff at this hotel. The ONLY staff member that was pleasant and welcoming during our 2 night stay was Darcy at the front desk. The other front desk staff, as well as the manager harassed our kids and parents for doing nothing more than having good conversation and laughs in one of our rooms. On our last night there, one front desk staff creeped outside of our first floor room and took photos of our group sitting in our room at 9pm having some beverages.

The continental breakfast was very small offering not a lot of options. Upon checkout the hotel overcharged me by $42 and tried to blame Expedia. The hotel charged me, as well as several others on our team, wrong room rates. Thankfully other parents noticed, but I was not provided a total at the end of my stay, just an option to keep it on the credit card on file, so once I discovered their mistake the charge had already gone through. They refused to refund the charges and I had to get Expedia involved who were more than gracious to refund the screw up from the hotel.

We travel a lot for hockey and this is one hotel we will not be staying at again. We had far better service from the Glen Lyon Inn next door and I would highly recommend their pub and hotel over the Quartedeck Inn.

When you get staff threatening to call police on grown adults having some laughs in their room at 9pm, well before quiet time, and harassing 14 and 15 year old kids, that is not a place that we would ever consider recommending again....and we brought them a lot of business.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank B999BHshannonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews