We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fun, informative and professional

We had a wonderful time today with Andrew our guide, visiting the islands, coves and waters around... read more

Reviewed September 30, 2020
NorthVanPat
,
North Vancouver, Canada
via mobile
Spectacular wildlife experience

Wow, did this trip deliver! Although the weather did not fully co-operate, we saw 2 black bears... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2020
ATL-YVR
Read all 14 reviews
  
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indigenous history sea otters great tour wildlife tour saw humpback whales hydrophone andrew port pod knowledge guide boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2020

Loved the small boat experience, only 8 of us passengers and it was perfect - we all had prime seating, and the ability to move around and to chat with the guide. Our guide (/owner) Andrew was incredibly knowledgable about the area, the wildlife, the history, and daily life. He led us on a 6-hour tour through open channels and small inlets, checking in regularly to make sure the experience was tailored to us. We ended up seeing 15+ orcas rubbing on the beach (so rare to see!), and with Andrew's hydrophone in the water, we had such a surreal experience as we stood in awe for almost an hour while listening to their noises and the sound of the stones. We also saw a lot of sea otters, and a couple of humpbacks from the distance. Lunch was more delicious than I could have expected - it was all fresh and healthy, with homemade cookies for dessert, and with nearly zero waste which was impressive. The weather wasn't great but it didn't matter - it's a west coast experience and these guys do it right!

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank PamDuyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise26713280119, Owner at Coastal Rainforest Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2021

Thank you so much for the enthusiastic review of your tour. Your trip was definitely one for the books. Witnessing orca rubbing is an exciting and unique behaviour that we are so glad you could experience! We are also pleased to hear that you appreciated your lunch and the steps we take to reduce environmental waste. We hope to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2020

We had a fabulous wildlife tour with Andrew! We saw dozens of sea otters, Dall's porpoises, humpback whales, stellar sea lions, seals, and orcas! Andrew is an excellent and knowledgeable guide, who went the extra mile (many miles, actually!) to locate a large pod of orcas that had been spotted in the area. It was such as bonus to see them as part of this tour. Thank you - we heartily recommend this tour!

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank debr832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise26713280119, Owner at Coastal Rainforest Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2021

Thank you for your amazing review and recommendation! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your tour and that you were able to encounter Orcas during your trip, as well as the other wildlife. Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2020

I took the 6hr tour from 10-4 and it was great. I don't expect any guides to produce wildlife for guests. I just expect that they put us in a position to see wildlife using their knowledge of the area. In this case our guide fully delivered. We saw a large pod of orcas, sea otters, 5-6 humpback whales, pacific white-sided dolphins, bald eagles and a sea lions. Everything you could want in 6hrs. Also very knowledgeable about the indigenous cultures and traditions in the area. The boat ride was really smooth as well and a great lunch was provided.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise26713280119, Owner at Coastal Rainforest Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that we were able to showcase such an array of local wildlife. Visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2020

I had an incredible day on the water viewing wildlife with Coastal Rainforest Safaris! I enjoyed the scenery and all the amazing wildlife, especially the whales. The staff were knowledgeable and followed all the recommendations for COVID-19 protocol. Lunch was delicious and I felt comfortable and safe on the water. It was a wonderful day and I highly recommend this trip!

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank diannehL3443RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise26713280119, Owner at Coastal Rainforest Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2021

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with Coastal Rainforest Safaris and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed all the wildlife that came to celebrate with you. Guest safety is very important to us and we are glad you felt safe both on and off the water. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2020 via mobile

What an amazing experience. We were treated to sightings of numerous humpback whales, stellar sea lions, porpoises, and sea otters. Our guide was knowledgeable of the area and wildlife. If you get the opportunity to go on a tour, I recommend you don’t pass it up!

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank zoeelaine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise26713280119, Owner at Coastal Rainforest Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2021

We are pleased you were so impressed with our tour and that you were able to view such a variety of wildlife. Humpback whales are truly an awe-inspiring experience and we're glad we could take you to them. Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews