We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location wonderful service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Cove Cottages Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful location wonderful service”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. It is just down from the ferry terminal. The cabins are lovely. The view was beautiful. Shannon, the owner, was very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tornane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
36
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

What a trip! To say the least this is one of the best trips I have been on hands down!! The cottages were easy to find, clean and comfortable with all the amenities you could want. Fishing started early every morning and Captain Wade always found the fish for us in short order. After that it was a day filled with screaming reels, fish and fun! I can't wait to go back and experience the hospitality that Wade and his wife provided on a daily basis. This is the place to go for monster Chinook and halibut! Wades boat is awesome to fish from and rides like a dream in any weather. Wade is very knowledgeable on the water and provides a top notch fishing charter that has to be experienced! I would recommend this trip to any fisherman beginner or seasoned and challenge them to have more fun on the water. Thanks again Wade and Shannon - I will be back!!

Room Tip: They are all great....views of the water and like new
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanPendergast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Arriving in Port Hardy on July 20th, it was very convenient to follow the signs to Bear Cove Cottages. Upon our arrival we checked into our cottage and were very impressed with the cleanliness with all the comforts of home. Our trip was a 3-day/4 night fishing adventure and it surpassed everything we had expected. The trips out to our fishing spots were filled with laughter; the hours of fishing we spent celebrating our catches, and the trips back were again filled with nothing but smiles. They don't nickname the Chinooks "SMILEYS" for nothing. I have been fortunate enough to travel the world and have to say that this adventure was second to none. The local scenary (whales, dolphins, and bears) as well as the entire fishing experience ranks second to none. The buzz of the reel and the netting of the tyess was so incredible. Enjoying fresh salmon on the BBQ was the only way to finish the day. In spending time with Captain Wade you could tell that he loves what he does and that makes for your experiences on the water to be safe, full of laughter, and excellent fishing. In thanking both Shannon and Wade for the unforgettable experience, I have already booked my FOUR DAY FISHING ADVENTURE for 2012. An absolute A+ establishment from the cottages, to the boat, to the results. Thank you very much . . . you still owe me a 40 pounder . . . hahahaha. CHEERS!!!

Room Tip: Book Early As This Experience Ranks Second To None - Absolutely Incredible Adventures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppipke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowsman, Manitoba
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My wife and I purchased the two day three night fishing trip. Fishing was fantastic!!
Wade will go the extra mile to find the fish. The cabins are very clean, comfortable and provide a great view of the ocean.
Highly recommend this operation to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtis_cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We picked this property because it is about the closest thing to the Port Hardy Ferry. Checking into the room we were just stunned by the place. Wonderfully appointed, nice touches, full kitchenette, Wi-Fi, TV. It was just great. Only are about 6 or 8 rooms, all overlooking the ocean/trees. Opened the curtains to watch the bald eagles landing on the trees. If it weren't for the fact that we were there just to take the ferry, we would certainly have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler98761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schagen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here for two nights. We were welcomed by the friendly owners. The cabin was very clean and even had a whirlpool in it! The location was very very great, splendid views over the sea, eagles flying around and we even had a black bear walking on the property.

We thought the inside of the cabin (furniture) didn't match with the outside and the splendid views. It was good though, but basic. If they would change that it would be an incredible to stay here. But I would definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Again we enjoyed our time staying at the cottages. So quiet and peaceful.....could watch the eagles from our bed! Amazing ocean view...always changing. Very nice owners.....very clean.....nice little kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yukon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Hardy hotels
2.8 km away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
3.2 km away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#2 of 6 in Port Hardy
24 reviews
2.5 km away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
156 reviews
1.3 km away
Ecoscape Cabins
Ecoscape Cabins
#2 of 15 in Port Hardy
148 reviews
2.5 km away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Cove Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Cove Cottages Resort

Property: Bear Cove Cottages Resort
Address: 6715 Bear Cove Highway, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Cove Cottages Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Cove Cottages is located 1 km from the ferry terminal. We specialize in saltwater fishing packages, ecotours and whale watching. All of our cottages overlook Hardy Bay and are equipped with hydrotherapy tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and wireless internet. Stay tuned for outdoor Wellness Spa, coming Spring 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Cove Cottages Hotel Port Hardy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing