We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Galiano Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We recently had our wedding at Galiano Inn and it was perfect! I don't even know where to start...the location of the Inn is fantastic and the rooms are beautiful. A few of us stayed in the Villas - gorgeous views and loved the jetted tub and fireplace on the patio. Our families also stayed in the Queen/King rooms and they were roomy with beautiful views as well.
The wedding went off without a hitch, thanks to the extremely helpful staff. They were more than willing to talk with us on many occasions before the big day and were very accommodating to our requests once we arrived on site. I cannot imagine a more perfect location for a wedding! Stunning view of the ocean and coastal mountains - absolutely breathtaking. We were fortunate to have a very clear and sunny day for our wedding, however, had the weather not cooperated, there were many options inside the inn that would have been very nice for the ceremony. Also the food in the restaurant, as well as for our wedding dinner was delicious. We could not have asked for more!
Would highly recommend Galiano Inn as a wedding destination or just a romantic getaway for two!

Room Tip: The Villas are a treat, lovely kitchen, living room, bathroom and bedroom. A fireplace and jetted tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

It really was an amazing wedding, wasn't it?!! It was an absolute pleasure for all of the staff to help create your special day. From the bride and the groom to all of the family, you were all so pleasurable to have as guests...the "flower girl" was particularly special (^;

Thank you for all of your excellent comments about the Inn, our location, and our food: we always appreciate feedback...but most of all thank you for the comments about the staff, it is great to see them get well-deserved praise for the excellent service they provide. We hope to see you again at the Inn, perhaps for an anniversary ??!! All our very best go out to you for a wonderful life together.

Conny Nordin,
Owner and Inn Manager
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
info@galianoinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel is wonderful! The rooms are clean and beautifully appointed with a spectacular view of the ocean. What a way to wake up each morning! It is conveniently located within walking distance from the ferry. The staff are extremely kind and friendly! I couldn't have been more thrilled with my stay at the Inn....I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you so much for the great review and, more importantly, for choosing to stay with us! I quite agree about our extremely kind and friendly staff:... as Owner of the Inn, I consider myself blessed to be able to work with the wonderful employees that have chosen to live on this beautiful island and work with me at this lovely resort.

I am so glad you found us to be a wonderful stay! Like you, our other guests enjoy the views, the convenience to the ferry (when they're booked: how great it is to walk aboard and walk to the Inn!).

We look forward to having you come back to the Inn and enjoy the Island.

Warm regards,
Conny Nordin
Owner and Inn Manager
c.nordin@galianoinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a nice place but nothing to do on this island at all..
No place to eat...Really we booked a 2 night stay at this place and the resturant was not open for breakfast or dinner the night before we left it was open..and we were the only 2 people there...and the food cost was crazy..with only 4 choices. mashed potatoes and a 4 oz steak $33.00 and i had a butter knife to cut it with...
the spa was nice . i has a floatation bath..the water is full of salts so your body floats really different but nice..i will not be going back..could of starved there...

Room Tip: there is only 8 rooms..they must all be similar..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janelle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Hello and thank you for writing. I am glad you thought of us as a nice place. It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband when you were here, and even though you were not feeling well, recovering from pneumonia, I am glad you were able to enjoy your massages at the spa and also, especially, the flotation bath which is, I agree, a great experience.

Galiano Island: it is a spectacularly beautiful island, with miles of walking trails, beautiful vistas, gorgeous (but very safe) wildlife, incredible beaches, many many artist studios and great little casual places to eat and shop. I am sorry, however, that you did not enjoy those experiences, and being ill can certainly be limiting in enjoying the outdoor, or the shops. For food experiences, our guests always enjoy the Bakery and the Grill, which are walking distance from the Inn, for breakfast or lunch, and then the Pub in the evening.

Yes, Galiano is quieter in our "Secret Season" but that also enabled you to enjoy your gift certificate that was a 'half price' room rate. Our restaurant is indeed closed Monday and Tuesdays in this season, but we also find our guests thrilled with the quality of the food and choices: we have many more items (not just 4) on our menu than you mention, it is available for guests on our website. I will however mention to our Restaurant Manager the experience that you had: as a boutique resort, we always try to make it a great experience for everyone.

All the best,
Conny Nordin,
Owner and Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

A beautifully located resort where you can leave your car in Vancouver and just hop on a ferry and then just walk directly to the resort.
The food was absolutely delicous and the Spa out of this world! You simply have to visit and see for yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms at this resort are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SatnamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you! Thank you! We love guests who love us! Thanks for spreading the word an inviting everyone to come and see for themselves: we are definitely much better 'live' than 'online'. Hope to see you again.

Conny Nordin, Owner and Inn Manager
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
c.nordin@galianoinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent two nights at the Galiano Inn & Spa and we were not disappointed with the friendly hospitality and relaxing atmosphere of this little getaway retreat. Our ferry to Galiano was actually canceled on the day we planned to arrive, but the receptionist was able to accommodate us, and bump our reservation back a day. She also rescheduled our spa appointments.
Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly, and shown personally to our room. The room was cozy with a lovely view of Sturdies Bay, where we watched the ferries come and go. Great wood fireplace, and champagne in our room (we booked the Romance Package).
The spa was heavenly - we both had massages in a small cottage out behind the inn, where you could hear the babbling of a little brook outside the window. Massages, steam room and mineral bath were all wonderful!
Restaurant food was pretty good. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed on the second night of our stay, but the front desk manager offered us a complimentary rental of one of the resorts Smart Cars so that we could go for dinner at a local pub (which was also great - wonderfully friendly staff and tasty food!).
All in all, we had a wonderful stay - wished we could stay longer - and look forward to returning to Galiano in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ejstar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I just got back from two nights at this lovely hotel, and I can't say enough good things about it! The hotel itself is very beautiful. The furnishings are cosy and they have some great pieces of first nations art in the public areas. The resturant is first rate. Food was exceptional and they were kind enough to serve dinner for us at the late hour of 9pm (my friend caught a late ferry coming from Victoria). We enjoyed seared tuna and spinach salad, halibut and garlic mashed potatoes with delicious purple cabbage coleslaw for main course, and for dessert we had the most incredible vanilla bean panna cotta I have ever had in my entire life! I think all panna cotta from now on will be anticlimatic.
We stayed in one of the ocean front spa rooms, it was lovely with gorgeous view of the harbour and the bed was marvellously comfortable. We enjoyed the fireplace immensely. There was no problems with heating at all. All of the staff were fantastic and we especially enjoyed meeting Barry at the front desk and Rich at the resturant who were both kind and full of great information.

There are some great hikes on the island, weather was cold and rainy and typical for west coast this time of year so bring your gortex and waterproof boots. We were very happy to have a truck to get around the island. It is worth visiting the Galiano Island Soapworks (beautiful shop, fantastic products) which is situated on a picturesque farm which has horses and llamas and loads of wintering canada geese. They also do flowers for weddings so be sure to ask if you are planning to get married on the island! The local grocery store is worth a peek (very eclectic decor, love the owls) and we found a great shop "Ixchel" which sells funky clothing, far eastern influenced jewelry and artifacts. Liquor store was great too. We got to see some deer and bald eagles, overall a fantastic trip and I highly recommend as a weekend or mid week getaway to fix those mid-winter blahs!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icedkachang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

We love to receive excellent reviews like this and pass on the remarks to all of the great staff at the Inn (who work very hard to make these kind of excellent experiences happen!) We are pleased you enjoyed the dining, and our desserts (we have a hard time taking desserts "off" the menu, by popular demand our chocolate lava cake has returned, our creme brulee as well; now it sounds like our panna cotta will be a "regular" with returning guests). It's also great to get comments about the other island places and businesses: we love our island neighbours! I will pass on your kind comments to staff...the love getting such great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Beautiful location, relaxing property, lovely staff! We spent two nights and it wasn't enough... When we checked in there were only two other guests at the Inn so we were upgraded to a complete suite for no additional charge - amazing!!

Unfortunately the restaurant was closed as it was December, so we did not get to sample their cuisine. However the staff in the spa told us about a little French Restaurant on the other side of the Island so we went there - very good, unique spot with great food.

I imagine in the summer the property is gorgeous with the gardens in bloom - will be back if and when the opportunity arises!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TofinoRoxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us: we love creating excellent experiences and special memories for our guests ... and having them call us "amazing"...well, that is just amazing! (^:
We hope to see you again soon, and hope you will then be able to sampl our restaurant and enjoy our gardens when they are in bloom (which they are now already: daffodils and crocuses are up!)
Thank you again...guests like you make this place a wonderful place to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
13.4 km away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
13.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
448 reviews
1.1 km away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 4 in Galiano Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Serenity by the Sea Retreat
Serenity by the Sea Retreat
#5 of 11 in Galiano Island
75 reviews
16 km away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
467 reviews
6 km away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa

Address: 134 Madrona Dr, British Columbia V0N 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galiano Island
Price Range: $207 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular West Coast island resort, minutes from Vancouver, yet a world away. Luxury retreat in natural surroundings enhanced with beautiful gardens. Every Room and Suite has ocean views, fireplace, terrace, luxury ensuite. Our Oceanfront Spa has treatments unique in Canada,luxury steam rooms, garden treatments, flotation therapy. Award-winning Atrevida Restaurant in an architecturally stunning setting or casual outdoor setting with wood-fired pizza oven. Free WiFi, Free Phone, Free plane pick-up. Smart Cars, Dock for boats, golf, kayaking,whale-watching, shopping, hiking, famous Kunamokst mural. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galiano Oceanfront Hotel Galiano Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing