We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
252
82
36
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
82
36
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood burning fireplace ferry terminal pizza dining room sturdies bay hot tub active pass steam room bc ferries explore the island villa suites sunday night king size bed lounge chairs get away romantic getaway gulf islands
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 393 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2017

This hotel was okay. It was comfortable but not quite what we were expecting.
The ocean view looked out at the ferry terminal. The restaurant was closed because it was October. The whole building gets locked at night and the front desk person goes home, so forget about any service at this place.
It is probably fine for people staying and going out hiking or if you are not into service of any kind. It just needs a bit of work done to it, especially for the high price.
But, overall it was relaxing.

Room Tip: The ocean view is of the ferry terminal, so if you don't mind an ugly view or the noise of a terminal, it will be fine.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank theboogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

From the ferry rides to the stunning gardens this place is a hit. We really enjoyed the ability to walk from the ferry right to the resort with no need to bring a car along, unless of course you want to explore the island a bit more. The rooms were very spacious all with ocean views, the gardens are incredible, everything from bamboo to palm trees to arbutus, very lush. The spa experience was pretty good but the private couples steam room was actually pretty cool for being a steam room, we were cold when getting out. The flotation room is nice. Staff is very helpful and nice throughout. Breakfast was amazing every day with very efficient service. Pizza restaurant right on the grounds is a very nice touch, great pizza right at your doorstep. Only issues I can mention is that the access cards for the rooms de-magnetize if they come in contact with a cell phone, happened a few times with us, as well as the many insects in the rooms, the cleaners left our windows open upon arrival, and while the amazingly fresh air was really nice, most of the windows had no screens. Ceilings also should have been de-webed before arrival.

Room Tip: For the extra $ the Villas side of the resort is really nice
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shake-N-Baking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

Second time staying here and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful rustic getaway. First time we stayed in the smaller bedroom and second time we started in the suites. The suites are much bigger with an outdoor fireplace that we enjoyed.

Both times noticed it is really warn down. Hole in sheets, ripped carpet on patio, and just in need of a deep clean. Cobwebs and dust, and bathroom could use a scrub.

I would still consider going back because the staff are so considerate and accommodating, and the location is pretty perfect. Great bakery down the street for breakfast, and babes in the woods had nice pizza and salad as well.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank yowyvrtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

Galiano was our first island stop on our island hopping trip. We reserved a Queen Room but the Inn Keeper upgraded us to a King Suite. This suite was amazing! A fully equipped kitchen, full sized refrigerator, cooktop, wine fridge and all other small appliances. Bathroom was fully equipped with robes, a wonderful shower and a closet containing a washer and a dryer. We spent the majority of time on our fabulous private balcony, which had a wood burning fireplace (which we did not use due to the fact that it was August) a bbq and an outdoor tub. (which we also did not use.) Dinner in Atrevida Restaurant was fantastic. Food was prepared perfectly and service was great. The only negative on this trip was that our neighbours decided to party both nights that we were there. Yelling and screaming with no regard for anyone staying at the Inn. I did complain to the front desk and the issue was taken care of immediately, however, the same thing happened the next evening. The purpose of our visit was R & R but unfortunately, it was ruined by these very inconsiderate people. I did mention this to the person at the front desk upon leaving but they didn't seem too concerned. That for sure was disappointing!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

There are variety of reasons I would suggest staying here. First, it's a couple minutes from the ferry terminal at Sturdies bay and amenities needed on a small island. Second, every room has an ocean view. Third, food options on site. Fourth, a spa. Fifth and could be first, you're on an island that feels like you could be anywhere in the Mediterranean :-). They have a cute Japanese style garden, cars available to rent so you can technically walk or cycle onto the ferry and still zip to the north part of the island for fun! So many cool trails and beaches and even Mt. Galiano for amazing views of other Gulf islands and even San Juan Islands (US). My day always consists of morning coffee and reading a book (which never happens anywhere else) on my ocean view patio and then maybe some lunch at the Atrevida Restaurant (on site) and then an outdoor activity all afternoon and into the evening (hiking, cycling, kayaking, etc). Now this is what I call a vacation! Only an hour away from the hustle and bustle of Vancouver on the direct BC Ferry.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank EJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews