We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”

Wieners of Waterton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Fast food, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Oh my goodness, this was one of the best meals of our trip to the Canadian Rockies. The dogs were amazing, the sauces perfect and the best treat was poutine; what a great Canadian treat. If you are going to Waterton, this is a great stop for lunch or dinner. Max & Jon were delightful and most welcoming. Mahalo from satisfied customers from Hawaii.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    144
    40
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I'm more than happy to "share the love" about this place.. we don't even eat hot dogs and I totally recommend this little spot. My husband and I got falafels and they were excellent! The fries and interesting dip choices were all great as well. There are nice, friendly young people working there and it's a really cute little place where you can sit inside or outside at a picnic table. We will absolutely go again whenever we happen up that way.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Bestlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
320 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“I Love Wieners!”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Ok, I know I've made fun of this place before, but I've never gone inside. This time we were looking for something that was a break from the usual fare of down town Waterton. We wandered inside where we were greeted and introduced to the simple yet profound menu offerings. The buns are baked fresh on the spot daily. AND, they have the BEST Sweet Tator Fries I've ever tasted, with your choice of several of their very own gourmet dipping sauces. The Hot Dog price includes the drink. We ordered the smaller of the cone of fries, and still had LOTS for the two of us. Plus, it gave our pocket book a break from the $20+ each we were paying for dinners every night. We had money left to walk down the street a few steps to the best ice cream we've ever eaten.
Next time in Waterton, it's Wieners first for me!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debimlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
173 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Winning Wieners of Waterton...wow....”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

So, when you travel Chicago, NYC and other DOG capitals how in the world can a tiny place in Waterton, Alberta Canada even come close? It's the buns! Great model with simple offerings and high quality ingredients. These are not your ball park dogs folks. All beef with smoked (lightly smoked and perfectly flavored) as one option and one more with jalapeno being yet another. We went with the smoked flavored. Nicely grilled and topped as you like with plenty of options of krout, onions, yellow peppers, etc....

BUT, the BUN. I thought i have had nice buns before but these were perfect. NOT too much bread as in a classic "hot dog" bun. Made for them from a baker and cooked onsite. Really made my Wiener!

Sweet potato fries were also nice option with several different or no dippings at all.

Young folks with a vibe. Perhaps why i thought the young dude changing the DVD in the roof was a turn off as his pants were so low i thought i might have been back in Chicago or NYC in the hood. That was a trick. We were in flipping Waterton and those saggy shorts could not spoil the fantastic Wiener. Keep it up guys...the pants too....

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Yummy hot dogs!”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Decided to try their hot dogs after reading the review from TA and I also asked someone who were dining there....so we tried them and were very happy with our choice. You can build them any way you like ~ and the shave ice they serve was also highly recommended, but we didn't try that....just too full!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wieners of Waterton also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Wieners of Waterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing