We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very disapointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location but very disapointing!”
Reviewed 16 July 2016

First off, the positives! Superb location and the staff were friendly. The room was clean and quiet, unfortunately, that's where it ends. This hotel is quirky at best and although I realize there are going to be some compromises when booking an older hotel, I don't believe you should have to compromise on quality. The room was small and dark, the bedrooms tiny. The double bed was comfortable but the two singles were so hard it was like sleeping on a board. We booked at two bedroom apartment but the bathroom could only be accesed via one of the bedrooms (not advertized), very inconvenient in the middle of the night! We had no wifi, I mentioned it to the lady on reception who was very polite but she just told me, it was working yesterday and she would try to reboot it! I understand connection can be spotty in the mountains but again feel this should be mentioned when booking. If a hotel asvertizes wifi, then I expect to get wifi. The TV only had one channel and the picutee was poor quality. This would not have been a problem if we'd picked a sunny weekend for our stay but unfortunately it rained heavily so it would have been nice to have some internet and TV to kill the time.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haydenfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    82
    39
    27
    5
See reviews for
52
114
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Let’s get this right out of the way, if you prefer to stay in very modern and/or updated lodging, this may not be the best choice for you. On the other hand, if you are willing to stay in a lodge that is a little more dated and homey, this place could be a fun stay. We stayed for two nights in Number 6 which comes with two bedrooms, a small living/dining area with a couch and kitchen table with four chairs, and a kitchenette which includes a stove, large refrigerator, microwave, toaster and coffee maker (which uses basket style filters). The rooms were clean and quiet. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Note, the bathroom is accessed through one of the bedrooms and the rooms were a little short of outlets. A market, restaurants, ice cream shops, clothing stores, souvenir shops, outfitter, marina, gas station and multiple trail heads are all a short walk or drive away from the lodge. For us, the lodge was a pleasant place to rest-up, cook some of our own meals and quickly hit the nearby trails once we were ready.

If you found this review helpful and/or our photo, we hope you will click the “helpful” button; those of us who write reviews really appreciate the feedback and it motivates us to write more. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IllyCoffeeDrinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Maybe I expected too much from a "rustic mountain lodge", but for the price one would have expected the wi-if to work. No cookies were available as promised. Owner seemed apathetic to the customer's needs, not just our's but other guests as well. The beds were comfortable. It was fairly clean, could have been cleaner. Smelled dank and musty, especially the bathroom. If you decide to stay here, bring along your ear plugs. The building is old and creaky, if you're on the lower floor the elephants above you will sound as if they might come crashing down into your room at every step, in addition to the unbelievably loud plumbing noise every time someone in the building uses any water at all. This was our first and last stay. No remedy was offered for the wi-if not working. I couldn't help but feel the nervousness of the young girl who checked us out when we complained. As if she was not giving the whole story.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We made this reservation only two weeks before our trip so we didn't have a lot of lodging choices. The person that checked us in was very friendly and accommodating and gave us a lot of information about the village. This is an older property that has not been recently updated but our room was very clean. We were on the second floor (Room 8) and there were no elevators. Our room had a queen bed, TV (which only got one station but we did not stay in a National Park to watch TV) small refrigerator and coffeemaker. Internet connection was not very good. The location was great as it was a short walk to the center of the village and the lake was just across the road. A plus to staying here versus the Prince of Wales is that you are able to walk anywhere you want to go in the village. Our room was small, but clean, and I have attached pictures.

Room Tip: No elevators so if stairs area problem request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowagirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here. We loved getting our own rooms and having a kitchen and common area. I highly recommended! At first we were disappointed we didn't get to stay at prince of Wales but this place was so homey and comfortable we instantly fell in love! Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Isabella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Rooms are comfortable if not all that large. Room 12 was a decent size with a fridge, microwave, small table and two chairs, and king bed. Shower was a good size and good water pressure. This is an older property for sure and hasn't been updated for quite some time, but the rooms were clean and the place was well kept. The first room they gave us the bathroom was so cramped the toilet was literally jammed against a wall. I barely fit and there is no way a guy or larger lady could comfortably fit on that! We addressed this with the check in clerk and she was able to book us into a different room right away with no fuss. Very much appreciated how accommodating they were for us. Only complaint was they said we had to change rooms on our last day as our room was booked by someone else....not sure why or how this happened as we book our 4 nights over a month prior and were not advised of this...as it happened we found another hotel for about the same price so instead of switching rooms we checked out and moved hotels. Probably wouldn't stay here again, only because we like a more updated hotel with a nice view.

Room Tip: Room #2 has a very small bathroom; toilet is literally jammed against a wall - likely not comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

This so called quaint rustic motel has not been updated I'm sure since it was built. It's creaky with saggy floor boards and mattresses. Our room had no where to put our bags (2 people, 1 luggage rack, just a ratty old chair for my husbands bag).
Our room had 2 double beds and pushed so close to the wall and so close together that you could barely get in beside them and of course no bed side tables for either bed.
They advertise TV and I am including a photo of the ONE fuzzy station we could pick up in our room. Deception in advertising is my biggest pet peeve.
There is no sound proofing or insulation in this 1940s building. Hang yourself over the bed and feel for the know in the radiator to adjust the heater. Not convenient in the middle of the night.
Great shower! Small but good and lots of hot water. How's that for a positive.
Wifi was pretty bad. It comes and goes. This place has seen better days.

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeymoonjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.4 km away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
501 reviews
0.9 km away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
180 reviews
0.3 km away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
230 reviews
0.5 km away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
475 reviews
0.6 km away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crandell Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crandell Mountain Lodge

Property: Crandell Mountain Lodge
Address: 102 Mountview Road, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crandell Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated a Charming Inn of Alberta, Crandell Mountain Lodge is a rustic and quaint property that, with no telephones and few TV channels, feels like a true getaway. Guests receive complimentary use of the outdoor BBQ and access to the local Recreation Center. Choose from standard, deluxe, kitchenette, or the “Bear’s Den” that has a king size bed, fireplace and in-room jetted tub; it’s a favourite among our guests. The Crandell Mountain Lodge is a jewel within itself; with a feeling of a country bed and breakfast and the comfort of a lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Crandell Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crandell Mountain Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Crandell Mountain Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing