We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Roanoke, VA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cute and cozy”
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We spent 2 nights here. The place has the feel of a cozy bed and breakfast. Our room was charming. The location was perfect. Walking distance to everything in the town and an easy drive to other sights in the park.

Room Tip: Wifi is spotty at best in the far end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaRoanoke_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    84
    39
    27
    5
See reviews for
53
115
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This lodge is in the center of the small town so literally everything is within walking distance and there's a lot to see! If you like to browse gift shops, this is your town! The town itself is kind of old-fashioned but pretty and you feel at home right away. One real downside to this lodge is that the promised wi-fi wasn't working...they said "almost all year." Maybe it was unseasonably hot while we were there, but there is no air conditioning and it was very hot in the room until about 11 PM. The manager is very personable and the ever-present cookies are delicious! Reasonable place for a brief stay.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a microwave, you have to book a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortherelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Gorgeous location, both Waterton and where the Lodge is located once you arrive at the Park. Rooms musty smelling, older building, need to be aired out better. Wildlife just out your door as you are next to a piece of the lake. Small rooms, even as a couple I would feel a bit cramped. VERY small washrooms, just enough room to turn around. VERY Friendly staff though and go out of their way to help in anyway you need.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peachnmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Aurora, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We loved our three nights at Crandell. It's on Main Street but away from the worst of the crowds and traffic. An ideal evening after hiking consisted of walking easily downtown to get some goodies and then enjoying the view (RV watching!), squirrels, weather and WiFi on the porch at Crandells. We had just ended a five day backpacking trip and room 16 was perfect for us! Great amount of room. Private entrance and didn't hear neighbors. There was even a chilly and windy day when we got to use the fireplace! We loved staying there and would definitely stay there again when we come back to Waterton. Oh one note - only one TV channel - but that's part of the charm of Waterton! Bring a cable connection and plug in your laptop or something :)

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenn0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

The Crandell lodge was the perfect location for our few nights we spent in Waterton. We had a room with a small
Kitchen, 2 bedrooms, fireplace and a living room area which was more than enough space for 4 of us. On arrival we received delicious home made cookies and the staff were extremely knowledgable and helpful with what to do and where to go. I highly recommend staying at the Crandell mountain lodge if you ever visit Waterton.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lucyd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Firstly, the positive reviews are accurate - great location, friendly staff, large enough units and reasonable standard of cleanliness. However, we were unfortunate to get a ground floor unit and, as others have mentioned, the noise from the creaky floorboards above was unbelievable to the point of making the accommodation unfit for purpose. Yes, the building is old but this was totally unacceptable as you are entirely at the mercy of the movements (literally) of the upstairs occupants. You are aware of their every step from their evening entertainment, to their bedtime to their visits to the bathroom during the night. The owners are aware and apologetic but in my opinion they would be far better having less occupancy in the motel than taking a risk with offering these rooms. Poor. Oh, and Waterton by the way is spectacular so find some alternative accommodation and enjoy the wonderful scenery, hikes and wildlife!

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GetWotUPay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

This is a wonderful place to stay in Waterton. We stayed there for three nights and loved the location and the room(s). Aside from our clean and tidy bedrooms and living room/kitchenette, there is a shady porch/deck in front of the building that is a great place to have breakfast/any meal or sit out and read a book. The staff is all friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.4 km away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
510 reviews
0.9 km away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
182 reviews
0.3 km away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
236 reviews
0.5 km away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
476 reviews
0.6 km away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crandell Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crandell Mountain Lodge

Property: Crandell Mountain Lodge
Address: 102 Mountview Road, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crandell Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated a Charming Inn of Alberta, Crandell Mountain Lodge is a rustic and quaint property that, with no telephones and few TV channels, feels like a true getaway. Guests receive complimentary use of the outdoor BBQ and access to the local Recreation Center. Choose from standard, deluxe, kitchenette, or the “Bear’s Den” that has a king size bed, fireplace and in-room jetted tub; it’s a favourite among our guests. The Crandell Mountain Lodge is a jewel within itself; with a feeling of a country bed and breakfast and the comfort of a lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Crandell Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crandell Mountain Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Crandell Mountain Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing