We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“So much potential...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Wales Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So much potential...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Beautiful location and great architectural piece. Worth visiting. Staying, well... not sure.

We spent two nights at the hotel in August 2011. With such a location and presence, it is difficult to believe that the full potential of the hotel is not exploited. I found the rooms to be completely outdated, the restaurant / bar of modest quality, the parking lot in need of repair, etc. At about 250 dollars a night, the hotel falls in a price category where one would expect more; and I would venture to say that with modern accommodations, a fine restaurant, a spa, etc. this hotel could easily command a price of 500 /700 dollars a night.

A generous three star, and most likely a one time experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLTfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your stay. We do our best to reveal to our future guests the “feel” of this historic property, but sometimes we still fall short. Of course, we understand the potential for profit with this hotel, but with prices set by the Park Service, it is not an option to eliminate the historic nature of the property to make way for something completely modern. That probably would not be in the best interest of service to our guests anyway. Instead, we intend on maintaining the Prince of Wales Hotel in an original fashion. Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    253
    138
    123
    79
See reviews for
196
433
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I would stop by to see the view, but never stay there again. The hotel has not been taken care of. The rooms we had problems: dripping plumbing, very worn furniture, very worn flooring, curtain falling off one door, make-shift repairs, broken wood door grate. We had a lake-view room which was very expensive and you couldn't enjoy the view through the small windows & the furniture was too big & awkward to turn around to face the view. Outside they had no furniture or benches to sit to enjoy the view. One of our rooms had left over toiletries from the last visitor. The student-summer help were all very nice and helpful, but not enough to compensate for the rooms. Their policy for canceling the rest of our stay made it too expensive to leave, but I would have if I could. Also, we had bought a week pass at Glacier National in the US and had understood that it covered Waterton Internal Peace Park as well. Not so. It cost another $20+ per day just to be able to reach the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We are so sorry to hear that we did not meet or exceed your expectations of a stay with us. Managing and maintaining the Prince of Wales Hotel provides some unique challenges that I would like to address. First, this Hotel opened in 1927, and has changed as little as possible, since then, in order to maintain the historic nature of this property. Second, the Park Service sets the price of each of our rooms and is something that we are required to abide by. Third, the Hotel is only open for roughly three months each year with most of the staff hired new each season. I hope this information is helpful when considering the reasons why our management team makes some of the decisions they must in order to maintain the hotel. Lastly, the location of this Hotel is something out of the imagination of an artist, however, the natural elements are, at times drastic, and require features such as small windows which are much safer than larger ones and the lack of outdoor furniture which would blow away in high winds anyway, if our guests decided to brave the mostly, consistent, strong weather.
That being said, there is no reason that you should have experienced any lack of regular maintenance of the building. I will pass this information on to the president of our company in order to best improve the quality of our service. Thank you for taking your time to leave us this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Irvington, Alabama
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

This property confirms the adage: location, location, location. Altho pricey (~$250 night), I am glad we budgeted one night here for our visit to Glacier National Park. After taking the afternoon Waterton Shoreline cruise, and a sunset drive to Cameron Lake, we settled in for the night at Prince of Wales Hotel. We were too late requesting seating in the dining room (reservations not accepted), so were seated instead in the bar lounge (same spectular view as dining room, same high quality food). We ordered the smoked prime rib w/ mustard seed mashed potatoes (an exciting pairing) -> this was the best meal we had on our 10-day trip through MT & WY. We had fun snooping around the stairways, and interior hallways of this victorian hotel. The clawfoot tub shower enclosure was like a 1940's experience. In the morning, on our balcony we looked out and saw deer peacefully grazing next the parking lot before sauntering off among the parked cars!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank byumama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking your time to leave us this great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy to have been able to serve you. We look forward to seeing you on any future visit into Waterton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
309 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is not too updated and sways in the big winds and is a bit stuffy at first, but we got used to it, and our extra twin bed in front of the big window overlooking the many railings. The kids running the place were nice and pretty helpful. The restaurant was the only drawback after we had figured we now lived in the Victorian era. It was almost out of food by the time we got there right before seasonal closing and they'd not even had oatmeal for 2 weeks. Go to town for food and cheaper lodging but don't miss the views from this hotel. Stunning and wear wind gear.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Yes, wind gear is a must, especially in the shoulder seasons. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and sorry that we ran out of oatmeal. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Prince of Wales Hotel on September 13, 2011. We drove specifically from Banff to stay there. I was looking forward to staying in one of the old fabulous railroad hotels.

The hotel itself looks quite fabulous as you aproach it sitting there perched on a knoll. Little did I know that there was the town of Waterton looking out below.

Check in was simple, the lobby was average. It is a beautiful view through the lobby windows up Waterton lake. Too bad the windows don't open or have a door to go out on the lakeside patio to enjoy the view from the outside. You have to go out the front door and walk all the way around the building to get to the lakeside of the hotel.

Since there are no operating windows, it is very hot and stuffy in the lobby, bar and restaurant. I wish I had worn a tank top to dinner since I roasted in the dining room. The food was very good and beautifully presented. I thought it was also a good reasonable price for a nice dinner. The wine list is lacking though for a place that charges minimum $250 a night for a room.

We had drinks in the bar before dinner and it was even stuffier. They were playing Michael Jackson music on a cheesy sound system. There was television in the bar.

Our room, we were on the 4th floor with a room that had a balcony that looked over the parking lot. I thought I had reserved a delux room with a lake view, but I guess not. The bed was comfortable, the furniture was half period and half 70's modular oak. In order to get some air in the room I opened the windows but had to do a slip knot in the roman shades to keep them up a bit to allow the air to circulate in. There is no airconditioning or heat but we knew that going in. No tv and no wifi also, but we knew that also. It was however quite for us that night, but I could imagine if someone was noisy you definately would hear it.

The bathroom, the bathroom is BASIC. We had an old soaking style tub with a rail from the ceiling that hung plastic shower curtains to enclose it. The tub has been lined with fiberglass so looking at it it looks like a great old tub, when you sit in it you can feel the fiberglass bend a bit. The faucetts continually dripped but they warned you of that too. The floor was formica and the walls were formica. I would have thought they would have used tile back then!!! The towels were basic like motel 6. Come on....for $259 a night and no amenties you could at least use better towels. The toilet had skids in it when my husband went to use the bathroom.
We had tried to go outside around 9:30 ish to look at the stars. There is no lighting around the building and it was quite dangerous. We couldn't tell where the steps were. So we bagged that.

Another thing about outside, they have this great patio but no furniture to sit in. A beautiful view and no place to sit. Our waiter told us it's because it is usually windy in Waterton.

We were going to eat breakfast at the hotel but the line was long and it looked like it would take a while so we went into Waterton and ate at this great restaurant ZUMS.

Next time I would go get a place in the Township of Waterton and make a side trip to see the POWH. There's a nice hotel on the water that looked good to us.

My overall review...not worth the price they charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the waterside with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmp7020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We are so sorry to not have met your expectations. Thank you for taking your time to interact with us on TripAdvisor, and please know that your comment will be passed on to our company president as part of the ongoing effort to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Prince of Wales Hotel is a beautiful hotel with incredible views of lake Waterton and the surrounding mountains. The room we stayed in was large and comfortible and had nice views from the patio. THe hotel lobby is very nice with high tea in the afternoon and a piano player.

Room Tip: A room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foster-sammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and high rating. We hope to see you again, on your next trip into Waterton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, our expectations for the Prince of Wales Hotel were incredibly low. So, we were thrilled when we walked in and saw how lovely the hotel is. We were even more thrilled when we saw our room. We stayed on the 6th floor in a room with a balcony facing the lake. It was the absolute best view in the city and we were tempted to spend all of our time in Waterton on that balcony. You don't go for the value or the quality of the room (i.e. the bathroom was old and outdated) but do go for the historic aspect, the views, and the tea.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay at the Prince of Wales, make sure you get a good room. We stayed on the 6t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking your time to leave us this review. It is always disappointing to read reviews where our guests expected more and felt like they got less, so it is refreshing to find one that is the other way around. It is certainly not our intention to give a false impression, but I suppose that a lot of folks fail to do their research before they book. Thanks guys, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.8 km away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.9 km away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 km away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.3 km away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.0 km away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing