We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A lovely setting but a dining disappointment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Wales Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Swansea IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely setting but a dining disappointment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We traveled into Canada and stayed at the Prince of Wales Hotel in Sept 2011. The setting was beautiful especially at sunset. We hiked a trail that took us up 600 ft so we had a spectacular view of the hotel and the area. There was a lovely English style tea luncheon. There are nice shops in Waterton for coffee and gifts. Our experience at the hotel dining room was only fair-the service was poor and the food was just average. Maybe, since it was soon to be the end of the season, there is an excuse.
Overall we enjoyed the trip.

Room Tip: Facing the lake is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
No excuses here! I am so sorry to hear that our service was sub-par. Our management sets a higher example for our employees, and I want you to know that your comment has been passed on to our company president in an effort to continually improve our service. We take it as a great compliment that you still awarded us 4 of 5 rating points even with only fair service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    252
    138
    123
    79
See reviews for
195
433
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Our family of four shared a two bedroom suite on the sixth floor overlooking the lake. We had a private balcony accessible through one of the rooms. The large and very clean bathroom was accessed through a hallway within our suite, which gave all of us considerable privacy. We planned our entire itinerary for our week long trip once we secured a room at this property and it worked out beautifully. The price is high, but we felt it was well worth it for this very unique property. We were able enjoy a bottle of wine on our balcony for a very memorable stay. Afternoon tea was being served when we checked in and a harpist performed. There is a very nice gift shop featuring British imports. We had dinner in the main dining room which featured very good Alberta beef. The elevator is operated only by the bellman, so when we checked out before he came on duty, we had to carry our bags down six flights of stairs, which is the only disappointed we had during our all too brief stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth and sixth floors do not have elevator service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary_228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking your time to leave us this feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again, on your next visit to Waterton. I will pass on your disappointment in not having the bellman on duty when you left to our company president, in an effort to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We were able to walk in and get a room in this very beautiful old hotel. The view is spectacular and the employees were very helpful. The price? Too high for the accomodations but we felt it would be something to remember..and it was. We were on the sixth floor but the elevator only went to the fouth. The stairwell was extremely tight and the suitcases were a struggle. We will always remember our night with a constant wind whistling through the window. The small room was barely large enough for our suitcases and the double bed. However, the view from the window was wonderful. Are we happy we stayed there? Yes. Would we stay there again? No. Been there - done that.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view of the lake and has elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bhfsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking your time to leave us this feedback. We will take it as a compliment that you are willing to award us 4 of 5 rating points even with all the modern amenities that we leave out in order to maintain the historic value of this property. Even though it sounds as though we will not be providing you a room, we would love to see you again for tea, maybe?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Beautiful location and great architectural piece. Worth visiting. Staying, well... not sure.

We spent two nights at the hotel in August 2011. With such a location and presence, it is difficult to believe that the full potential of the hotel is not exploited. I found the rooms to be completely outdated, the restaurant / bar of modest quality, the parking lot in need of repair, etc. At about 250 dollars a night, the hotel falls in a price category where one would expect more; and I would venture to say that with modern accommodations, a fine restaurant, a spa, etc. this hotel could easily command a price of 500 /700 dollars a night.

A generous three star, and most likely a one time experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLTfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your stay. We do our best to reveal to our future guests the “feel” of this historic property, but sometimes we still fall short. Of course, we understand the potential for profit with this hotel, but with prices set by the Park Service, it is not an option to eliminate the historic nature of the property to make way for something completely modern. That probably would not be in the best interest of service to our guests anyway. Instead, we intend on maintaining the Prince of Wales Hotel in an original fashion. Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I would stop by to see the view, but never stay there again. The hotel has not been taken care of. The rooms we had problems: dripping plumbing, very worn furniture, very worn flooring, curtain falling off one door, make-shift repairs, broken wood door grate. We had a lake-view room which was very expensive and you couldn't enjoy the view through the small windows & the furniture was too big & awkward to turn around to face the view. Outside they had no furniture or benches to sit to enjoy the view. One of our rooms had left over toiletries from the last visitor. The student-summer help were all very nice and helpful, but not enough to compensate for the rooms. Their policy for canceling the rest of our stay made it too expensive to leave, but I would have if I could. Also, we had bought a week pass at Glacier National in the US and had understood that it covered Waterton Internal Peace Park as well. Not so. It cost another $20+ per day just to be able to reach the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We are so sorry to hear that we did not meet or exceed your expectations of a stay with us. Managing and maintaining the Prince of Wales Hotel provides some unique challenges that I would like to address. First, this Hotel opened in 1927, and has changed as little as possible, since then, in order to maintain the historic nature of this property. Second, the Park Service sets the price of each of our rooms and is something that we are required to abide by. Third, the Hotel is only open for roughly three months each year with most of the staff hired new each season. I hope this information is helpful when considering the reasons why our management team makes some of the decisions they must in order to maintain the hotel. Lastly, the location of this Hotel is something out of the imagination of an artist, however, the natural elements are, at times drastic, and require features such as small windows which are much safer than larger ones and the lack of outdoor furniture which would blow away in high winds anyway, if our guests decided to brave the mostly, consistent, strong weather.
That being said, there is no reason that you should have experienced any lack of regular maintenance of the building. I will pass this information on to the president of our company in order to best improve the quality of our service. Thank you for taking your time to leave us this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Irvington, Alabama
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

This property confirms the adage: location, location, location. Altho pricey (~$250 night), I am glad we budgeted one night here for our visit to Glacier National Park. After taking the afternoon Waterton Shoreline cruise, and a sunset drive to Cameron Lake, we settled in for the night at Prince of Wales Hotel. We were too late requesting seating in the dining room (reservations not accepted), so were seated instead in the bar lounge (same spectular view as dining room, same high quality food). We ordered the smoked prime rib w/ mustard seed mashed potatoes (an exciting pairing) -> this was the best meal we had on our 10-day trip through MT & WY. We had fun snooping around the stairways, and interior hallways of this victorian hotel. The clawfoot tub shower enclosure was like a 1940's experience. In the morning, on our balcony we looked out and saw deer peacefully grazing next the parking lot before sauntering off among the parked cars!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank byumama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking your time to leave us this great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy to have been able to serve you. We look forward to seeing you on any future visit into Waterton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
303 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is not too updated and sways in the big winds and is a bit stuffy at first, but we got used to it, and our extra twin bed in front of the big window overlooking the many railings. The kids running the place were nice and pretty helpful. The restaurant was the only drawback after we had figured we now lived in the Victorian era. It was almost out of food by the time we got there right before seasonal closing and they'd not even had oatmeal for 2 weeks. Go to town for food and cheaper lodging but don't miss the views from this hotel. Stunning and wear wind gear.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Yes, wind gear is a must, especially in the shoulder seasons. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and sorry that we ran out of oatmeal. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.8 km away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.9 km away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.7 km away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.3 km away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.0 km away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing