We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing hike!

We hiked Crypt Lake mid July 2021, it was about +29c. The boat ride to crypt lake was well... read more

Reviewed July 17, 2021
Inspire378136
Thus hike is a must!

I have done all 3 of the triple crown and this one is the best! Truly an adventure that involves a... read more

Reviewed September 8, 2020
Grumpy25
,
Saskatchewan
Read all 282 reviews
  
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
234
37
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
37
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afraid of heights natural cave an adventure ladder hike lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 282 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Although this was a challenging hike for my 6 and 9 year old children in terms of distance, 18km, it was well worth the effort. At the time we did the trail there were still numerous snow bridges which took some time to cross safely. We also brought climbing harnesses and rope so that we could confidently and safely traverse the point past the cave. Connecting to the cable gives you an extra level of confidence and freedom on this skinny section so you can take pictures and soak up the view without constantly worrying about you or your children.
Great Hike for experienced and fit hikers.

Date of experience: July 2011
3  Thank DStanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The boat takes groups at 9 and 10 o'clock each morning and returns at 4 and 5:30 in the afternoon to take you back to the dock. Living in Florida we struggled with the incline and it took us about 3 hours 30 minutes to get to the top. The trip down only took us 2 hours 15 minutes. My wife had 3 blisters when we finished and a handful of other hikers had similar issues. Several hikers were afraid of heights which made the last part of the hike very difficult for them. With all of that said ...... the scenery was beautiful and it was one of the most fun hikes I have done. It wasn't easy. I drank all of the 3 liters of water I carried. But the waterfalls, rock ledges, tunnel, steel cable handrail, and other unique features made it an awesome adventure. I had some aches the next day but since it's an 11 mile hike I got to go somewhere a lot of people won't even consider going.

3  Thank gatorhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Waterton Park has fabulous trails and the best wildflower meadows in the Rockies.
Crypt Lake is fun - especially with the boat ride however it is a far cry from the "best trail in Canada" as advertised by the Boat Company, In fact, it's not the best trail in Waterton - Carthew Alderson is far more satisfying in terms of variety of terrain, vistas, availability of water, diversity of flora and fauna. If you consult "Don't Waste Your Time in the Rockies" the authors agree that Carthew Alderson is a premier hike, whereas Crypt is "merely" outstanding.

Date of experience: July 2011
4  Thank Maria-Enrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We did this hike on Sept 11, 2010 and loved it. The boat ride is short and scenic and the hike is beautiful. The section with the tunnel and cables was lots of fun and really not so dangerous, but if you are terrified of heights you probably won't enjoy it. The lake was gorgeous, the waterfalls along the way were spectacular, and overall I highly recommend the whole experience. On the way back I asked the guy on the boat how often people don't make it back in time for the boat, and he said "never." I guess no one wants to be left with the bears!! FYI we did see bears right outside the Price of Wales hotel - a momma grizzly and two cubs. Be aware - they could be anywhere!

6  Thank brcornerstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The Crypt Lake Trail is one of the best hikes in Waterton because it provides you a variety of scenery along with a variety of terrain. The boat ride across Waterton lake gets you ready for the adventure.
You begin with an easy ascent through alpine forest that is lush with trees and vegitation. You then break out and begin the ascent on the ridgeways and switchbacks that help you with the 2000+ foot elevation change you will make. Along the way you will get to see spectacular scenery that consists of valleys, mountains, and 4 waterfalls.
As you near the top you will walk the ridgeline to an 8 foot ladder that leads you into a 60 foot tunnel. The tunnel is about 4 feet high and pretty easy to navigate. At the end of the tunnel you are treated to a great view of the valley below. Rounding the bend you will come to a ledge that has a wire rope for gripping. Some people got intimidated but they all made it across. While the drop to the right is long way down, it is not that frightening.
After reaching the top, you should take the trails to the right as they lead you to looking over the Crypt Falls. You are right on top of the falls and get a great view below (don't do this if you fear heights, of course). Then head left to Crypt Lake itself.
Crypt Lake is beautiful. Don't miss the opportunity to walk around the lake. You even get to be an illegal alien as you walk across the border into The USA and back, with no passport check :)
I would recommend you catch the 9:00am boat out to the trail. This will allow you plenty of time to hike. You can catch the return boat at either 4:00 or 5:30. DO NOT MISS THE 5:30 BOAT!!! There is not another one until the next morning and they don't wait for you.
It is about 3 hours up and 2.5 hours down, combine that with an hour at the lake.
There is another trail to Hell's Roaring Falls that connects to Crypt. If you want to do this trail, do it on the way DOWN! Also, be aware, after the views of Crypt, this is a slight let down. But if you enjoy water features it is ok.
Bring plenty of fluids!!! A large portion of the trail is on southern slope so you are exposed. Add to that the altitude and the general physical nature and you have plenty of reason for water. You will want at least 48 oz of water. Also bring lunch to enjoy lakeside at Crypt.
BRING YOUR CAMERA!

6  Thank netdogca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews