We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
10
10
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
10
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub fish and chips room was spacious and clean warm place place to stay the west coast trail ron kitchenette suite festival accommodation beds dock
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 28 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2018

The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly. The location is good: a 5-minute walk up the hill from the dock in East Bamfield. Regarding air conditioning: I don't know if the motel has it, but it's generally not necessary because Bamfield is right on the ocean and isn't an overly warm place.

My only complaint was the Wi-fi. Bamfield doesn't have high-speed which isn't a great problem. The problem is that the motel doesn't have enough power in their system for all the people's needs and in the evening the wi-fi hardly works. I found that the best time to use the wi-fi was first thing in the morning before other people were awake.

Room tip: My room was street front and was quiet.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

After our hike along the West coast trail this was the perfect accomodation. Including pick up Service from trail head. Including sightseeing Tour of east bamfield and pick up Service to the seaplane base. The room was perfect and the Pub and Café (for breakfast) beside! All in all the best choise in bamfield!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

I stayed here a year ago & had heard that it was under new management. I was interested to see what changes had been made.

So far, the changes have been made to the outside of the motel. New siding, re-painted stairs, etc have given it a freshened-up look. Based only on the room we stayed in, the renovation now needs to move inside. Our room was actually fine in a basic motel sort of way ... the only thing that needs changing and updating are the carpets. The humidity is high on the west coast of the Island and the carpets have acquired a musty unpleasant odor. The cleanest smelling room in our "suite" was the bathroom. Why? Because it was linoleum only.

Suggestion: rip out the old musty carpets. Put lino down ... and buy some cheap area rugs from IKEA that can be replaced at minimal cost every few years.

One thing that has not changed @ the Bamfield Motel is the hospitality. Ron, the Manager, could not have been more helpful. He even repaired a tire for me so we could leave on our kayak trip early the following morning. So A+ for service.

Room tip: Ask if there are rooms with no carpets.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank full-mountie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017

I believe the reviews of this place have been "kind" because the new owner is seriously ill. For that, I have great compassion. . . so I will show a rating of "poor" instead of "terrible". Also, the bed was comfortable, the reception employees were nice and we had (slow) internet in our room.

This is a very old establishment that is undergoing a "cosmetic" renovation. Unfortunately, slapping some paint and siding on a building that has NOT been maintained for many years, and has obvious "structural" problems, is a loosing battle.
The building is as much as 6 inches out of "level". . . making the doors stick on the linoleum floors. The plumbing has clogs that gurgle up into the bath tub/sink, that are filled with long rotted, disgusting "who knows what".

Rather than go on with what needs to be greatly improved. . . in deference to the illness of the owner. . . and because there are limited choices of accommodation in Bamfield. . . here is a list of what I suggest you will need to be relatively comfortable staying there:

If you have allergies to animal dander or cigarette smoke, stay elsewhere.

1. Make sure the room has had the plumbing pipes cleaned
2. Make sure the room has internet access and a "new" TV. . . so "maybe" you can stream some internet entertainment, because there is NO TV programming access.
3. Although "kitchenettes" are advertised, bring your own "everything" from dishes to spoons and forks, pots and pans, a sharp knife, a coffee pot and all things you use to cook, or even make a sandwich. Do not count on "anything" being provided.
4. Bring a broom for sweeping up the cigarette butts outside.
5. Check the rates posted on the back of the door, and make sure you are charged correctly.
6. Bring all food and beverages with you because the tiny grocery store is very limited and the prices are much more than you will pay at the other end of that long gravel road or boat/ferry ride. Also, be careful at that store. . . make sure they only charge you the price displayed. You are "tourists" and they need to make all their profits in the short summer season.

My best advice. . . make a contribution to the owner's medical fund, and figure out a different place to stay.

Good Luck to You!

Room tip: If possible, choose a different accommodation.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank sherrrrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2017

A friend and I stayed for 3 nights while attending the Music by the Sea festival. We had a room with 2 twin beds on the ground floor. The room had a fridge and a television. We didn't use the TV. The fridge worked. There was no fan in the bathroom, so towels remained damp; also the shower curtain was too long and dragged in the bath tub.
There was also a coffee maker and mugs in the room.
We ate our meals in the Cafe across the street and in the Pub attached to the Motel. Dining options are limited in Bamfield but the portions are generous and the food was OK for 3 days. Very hearty breakfasts; dinners were mostly fish & chips or burgers.

Room tip: rooms on the upper floor should be quieter and have a railing you could use for hanging towels.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LJYToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews