We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older Building - Great View!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Gardens Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Port Alberni, Bc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Older Building - Great View!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had a room on the top floor of the older building. It's a retro styled room and is in no way fancy. But we slept well and it was quiet.

The view is spectacular - bobbing boats in the Beach Gardens harbour. You can see across the inlet to Texada Island.

We paid $99 inc tax, and this was high season during Blackberry Festival (we had come back to town to go to the street party). The shower worked really well.

I would be so glad if the owners installed screens on the sliding doors. It's so difficult to ventilate the room without screens or air conditioning.

The older building is a bit rickety, but if older motels don't bother you, it's a pleasant place to stay. Maybe we're more forgiving of the decor, but the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RemoteCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    67
    48
    20
    14
See reviews for
55
57
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

not bad. pool is under lock and key from manager which is wierd. we were there to kayak in desolation sound and that was almost 50 min away by car but you are closer to "town" which was good. room was clean, doors windows dont have screens and there are bugs so you need ac in summer and ac is loud. canada in general is expensive. this place was 175/nite and should have been like 80 but like i said canada especially bc is expensive

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

This Hotel is luckily situated on the ocean front but otherwise, I wouldn't recommend this Hotel to anyone. We were happy to learn that we were booked in a newer part of the hotel but greatly disappointed to find our room is similar to motels such as Super 8. For a "deluxe room" at $139 a night - the rooms were finished cheaply, hallway entrance to your room is straight from a horror film and the rooms aren't equipped with an iron/board (do not use the ironing board because the cover is so thin that your pants/dress/shirt will be left with marks.) Reception Staff are quite rude and seem disorganized. At the desk, there was a sign that the reception is open from 7AM to 10PM and when we went to check out at 7:05AM (so we can line up to catch the 8:10 ferry to Comox) there was no one there but there was another sign at the door that reception wasn't open till 9AM.

Don't bother paying for their overpriced hotel rooms and opt for a lovely B&B or hotel. Everything in Powell River is close by and driving from one end to the other is no more than 20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouverVioletBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanagan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hotel is located right on the ocean so the view is exceptional and is the best thing about the hotel. The hotel itself is only okay - clean and confortable enough but not anywhere near a luxury standard. Stayed in the "newer" building but unfortunately the walls are not well insulated so you will hear your neighours. There is a restaurant/pub located on the premises which is nice (again not high quality) but good for what it is. The pub has pacific hold'em poker and the full restaurant menu is available. If your expectations are not high this is a hotel that will fit your needs

Room Tip: ask for a room in the newer building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Will find another place to stay next time. Two Queen bed room was clean in new building but over priced. Access to room was awkward. Air conditioner did not work properly, too loud to even talk. Customer Service was poor. The view was lovely. Pool is difficult to access and wary of cleanliness due to health region notices. Kitchenette not avail due to long term rentals. Restaurant and beer and wine store on site.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed for 3 days in the new section of the resort. The view of the Marina and surrounding area was stunning. Very convenient was the restaurant and beer and wine store on the premises. Had breakfast, lunch and dinner in the Savoury Bight. Great service, excellent food and nice ambiance overlooking the water. They also catered the wedding we were attending, and that was very well done by the restaurant and staff. The resort would benefit from further updating to the rest of the buildings on site. Also, none of the rooms come equipped with a mini fridge without a fee. Our room was not very sound proof either, which I found surprising for such a new building.
But would recommend this resort as a good place to stay and enjoy the Powell River area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowgirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

First off, the woman behind the desk was so disorganized and clueless that she couldn't sort our our two room reservation... it was simply too complicated for her. Next, WHAT KIND OF HOTEL IN 2011 DOESN'T HAVE WIRELESS INTERNET?!?! I called the front desk and I was told that I could walk up to the front office to get an ethernet cable to connect to the DSL... For the cost of my $300 charge for two rooms, the hotel could buy TEN wireless routers for the hotel. One of the rooms was okay, but the other, in the older wing of the hotel was right out of the 70's and not worth the cost at all. Some friends staying in the newer wing were kept up all night with noise in the walls that could not be solved. Not impressed. Don't stay here!!!

The only plus was the restaurant downstairs. Nothing fancy, but the staff was very nice and accommodating and the food was decent.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petervallance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Powell River hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
8.3 km away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.4 km away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
8.2 km away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Historic Lund Hotel
4.1 km away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
4.1 km away
Beyond Bliss Suites
Beyond Bliss Suites
#1 of 19 in Powell River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Gardens Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Gardens Resort Hotel

Property: Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Address: 7074 Westminster St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Gardens Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Beach Gardens Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Gardens Hotel Powell River
Beach Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing