We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just as lovely as a stay at Grandma's house.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Courthouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Courthouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Certificate of Excellence
Comox, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just as lovely as a stay at Grandma's house.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

The Old Courthouse Inn was recommended to me by previous guests and as it turned out, my stay exceeded my expectations. I stayed for several days throughout the month of January and was not only delighted by the welcoming innkeepers who supported my work schedule but by the comfort of each room. Each room was beautifully decorated and had all the ammenities that I required living away from home. I slept very well and started my day out relaxed with an inhouse breakfast. I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends and colleagues and look forward to future stays. Thank you to Lilia and staff who made my stay as lovely as one at Grandma's house.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derk111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    69
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
55
117
20
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

I love heritage buildings and enjoy cosy rooms. I stayed here last year and decided to come back because of the comfortable atmosphere. The Old Courthouse Inn has lots of character in its 12 different rooms. My favourite so far is #9. Definitely a place to stay if you are into heritage and can do without large rooms or bathrooms.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenF21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

I write with great pleasure about the Old Courthouse Inn, to Lilia and her family, and to those who work there, who made our stay a memorable one, an intimate one, and a great place to work and play out of. Nestled in the small historic district of Powell River, the Old Courthouse is a perfect place for curious people, people who like access to more than one impression of a town yet visited. For me, having stayed in more than one of your distinguished rooms (after extending our stay), it was essential to be by that amazing old mill, now an air friendly facility, and to feel deeply the connection between that corner of the town and the lives of everyone in it. But beyond that, being steps away from so much incredible nature, the Willingdon Beach Trail, the historic movie theater, and having such a fantastic restaurant in the very building we felt at home in....well, it was a great fit for us.
If in Powell again and I need a place, expect me.

Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasminspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We found this inn through searching on-line and were quite impressed by their website and the generally good reviews here on TA. So we felt justified in having quite high expectations of our one-night stay at the Old Courthouse.

Location:
Things did not start well. As we drove into Powell River we passed several attractive B&B and some nice waterfront accommodations, but the other end of town where the Courthouse Inn is located was much less attractive and with few facilities within walking distance. Immediately next to the Inn is a large open space that seems to have once been the site of a large building that has been demolished and crudely tarmac'd over. The front of the hotel is completely overshadowed by the large papermill factory. We knew about this in advance, and in fairness were not unduely disturbed by it's presence (no significant noise or odour), but it really is an ugly eyesore with huge clouds of steam/smoke belching out 24/7.

Room:
We had reserved Room 3 in advance. On arrival (at approx 6pm), the owners were out and had left a note to call them on the phone in the hallway. On doing so we were told that there were "issues" with Room 3 and we were allocated Room 12 instead. This room was apparently slightly larger than Room 3. We thought the room was quite nicely presented, in a faux-traditional style, although overly cluttered with ornaments, books and other assorted detritus. Unfortunately, what one person might see as a charming curio or antique can just appear to others as old junk salvaged from a garage sale. The bedroom door rattled all night and did not seem very secure.

Service:
As mentioned, the owners were out when we arrived and we did not see them the following morning either, which all felt rather strange and impersonal. In fact the only contact we did have was when someone (she didn't introduce herself) knocked on our door late in the evening (despite the Do Not Distrurb notice) to briefly inform us about the breakast arrangements.

Dining:
The on-site restaurant was closed the night we were there due to the owners being away. As we'd had a long drive we didn't really want to drive around looking for somewhere open, so we used th only other available option we could see - a family-type restaurant across the street from the Inn. It was OK but quite basic. Breakfast was laughable. A small room with a fridge and delapidated cooker was made available for guests to "self-cater" their breakfast. The bread was out of date, the peanut butter in the fridge was almost empty, there were little flies buzzing around the "compost bin" and the coffee maker was filthy, etc etc... This room would not look out of place in a seedy hostel and was completely unacceptable for a B&B costing $100 a night. To add insult to injury, the owners had put up notices insisting that guests do their washing up and clean the room after use!!!

Summary:
This property has great potential to be a charming and atmospheric inn, but currently fails to deliver on several counts. I just got the impression that the owners, having put in the time and money to set it up in the first place, now look upon it as a cash cow to generate an income while they get on with their own lives - without having the nuisance of having to personally greet guests or cook their breakfasts. Perhaps we just stayed there on a bad day, but on the strength of our own experience we would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

First off, it's like a museum. If you are into antiques, you could be in awe for days. You can tell someone has a talent and has spent a lot of time, money, and thought on the decor. There isn't a lot of pretense. It's run by a woman, Lilia, and her small family.regarding the history of the establishment and the surrounding area. Lilia was very very kind and very interesting to talk to I stayed in two different rooms. Both were very comfortable. If you ask, she will give you a tour and let you pick from the vacant rooms for the one you like most, which I thought was very endearing. My advice would be to ask for room. It's slightly bigger. I also heard good things about the in-house restaurant, Manzanita. If I were to return to Powell River, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrgemini1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We found this hotel online, and called to reserve a two room suite less than 24 hours before our arrival. A two room suite wasn't available on such short notice, but we were offered two separate rooms at a surprisingly reasonable rate, which we accepted.

Upon our arrival, we were shown to our rooms and asked if we could check in later, as Lilia, our host was taking a mob of kids for a swim. When we checked in, Lilia was most helpful, offering suggestions on recreational activities in the area.

Our rooms were delightful; tastefully old-fashioned decor with modern amenities: full ensuite bathroom, small refrigerator, free internet, cable television(with DVD player), AC, and that all-important coffeemaker, with a fully equipped kitchen nearby. There is also a decent selection of DVDs and some excellent books to be found.

The hotel restaurant, called the Manzanita, offers tasty food and occasionally live music on the patio. On our first night, we were treated to an interesting combination of jazz and reggae.

All in all, the place is a treat. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, without intruding. And as for the pulpmill just down the street, There was very little odour, and it presented an unlikely but fascinating backdrop for the evening's entertainment. We were so taken with the old courthouse that we stayed on longer than we had planned, and I suspect many other people do the same. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Spent an absolutely amazing night at this gem of a hotel. Had room 11 which was actually 2 rooms. Looked out over the mill and the water beyond. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioner kept both rooms cool. Breakfast was basic, serve yourself toast etc in one of the downstairs rooms. The best part though, was the decor. It you appreciate antiques then you will love wandering the halls and will enjoy the simple but wonderfully decorative touches that are in the room and everywhere else. Suitcases used as a night table, old purses and full legnth gloves hung along one hall, and old artwork on the walls. Even an old sewing basket full of books on the history of Powell River. Although we most likely not be back in Powell River for a while, we will definitely be back again. Thanks for a very unique travel experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abroseabrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
4.2 km away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 km away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
19.1 km away
Historic Lund Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
8.3 km away
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
#2 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.2 km away
Beyond Bliss Suites
Beyond Bliss Suites
#1 of 19 in Powell River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courthouse Inn

Property: The Old Courthouse Inn
Address: 6243 Walnut St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 4K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Courthouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests can enjoy the unique charm and character of each of the 8 rooms. An eclectic mix of antiques and collectables adorn the rooms and halls reminding guests of the days gone by. Enjoy a free breakfast at Edie Rae's Cafe with your overnight stay. Our guests can also take comfort in the modern Amenities of today. We welcome you into our Quaint and Unique Little Heritage Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Courthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Courthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing