We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once or Twice a Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Reviewed 19 October 2017

It is our regular place now. We had room 126 , a surprise : the renovated bathroom -
top job - and also the absence of a "tudoresque" room odor, which seemed to bother others, we felt it lent authenticity to Elizabethan times.
The W-Dog is close to ferries in Sidney and Mill Bay not to far from downtown and especially it is close to a few friends. Oct. 2017 D.F.H.H.

Room Tip: Rooms with north orientation are quiet, is the hotel historic ? after all its Tudor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dietger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

This hotel looks really English. It is very quiet and has a very friendly staff.
It is just 6 minutes from Victoria airport .Is is reasonably priced and has
a liquor outlet , a great pub and a top notch restaurant all under one roof.
I will definatey be staying here again.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel, quiet. Had what we needed but if you go hoping to see the dog, don't. Breakfast was excellent and the hostess was very friendly and kept everything full and looking nice! Plenty of towels and linens. Very clean also. Mattress was comfortable with room to stretch out. Didn't eat in the attached pub but there is a restaurant across the highway.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Everything about this place was fantastic during the day. Staff was excellent and the hotel was clean and charming. The reason for my 2 star rating is that I like to sleep and there was no sleep to be had at this Inn. This was due to the roaring traffic ALL NIGHT right outside the hotel. I over heard a women in the breakfast area asking to be moved to the back side of the hotel in hopes it would be more quiet.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jill_degroote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic P, General Manager at Quality Inn Waddling Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am happy to hear that you found our Inn to be beautiful. It really is a very charming little hotel. I am very sorry, however, that you found it noisy at night. It is not a comment we hear often as our new windows make the rooms very quiet. I hope you will return on your next visit to Victoria and we will be sure to give you a room on the back side of the hotel. Safe travels and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Enjoyed the stay.
Staff was fabulous/very helpful.
- Had to cancel one of the rooms on the reservation after the cancellation cutoff time because of car trouble. The staff was very cooperative and cancelled the reservation with no charge.
- Had a few guests (family of 4) visiting us in the morning. The hotel staff had no concern around them joining us for the Free Continental Breakfast.

Was truelly pleased with the service offered.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alta321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

When we first pulled into the parking lot, I thought to myself that the hotel was different looking. Upon entering the hotel, I fell in love. It was nice to see something a little different than the usual hotel lobby. It was older, but beautiful. It reminded me of going antiquing. I adored it. My next thought was that the rooms may be a bit older too. To my surprise, our room was quite modern. Big comfy bed, big tv and modern bathroom. And the a/c and wifi worked well. It might not be to everyone's taste though, depending on how modern you like things. My husband and I just loved it. We didn't try the breakfast, so I can't speak to that. But it was pretty central to most things so getting around was a breeze. We would definitely recommend this place, especially if you're looking for " not your average" hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Been a few years since our last stay. Great beds and updated bathrooms. One of the better hotels on the island. Staff were very hospitable. Great location close to the airport and the ferry service. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
5.2 km away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
6 km away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
6.2 km away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
10.3 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake
18.7 km away
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Waddling Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Waddling Dog

Address: 2476 Mt. Newton Cross Roads, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 2B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range: $108 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Waddling Dog 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn Waddling Dog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Waddling Dog Hotel Saanichton
Quality Inn Saanichton
Saanichton Quality Inn
Waddling Dog Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing