We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveller rating
565
151
40
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
151
40
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub butchart gardens jetted tub vancouver island gas fireplace view of the bay small marina third floor room rain shower ferry dock beautiful resort floor to ceiling windows romantic getaway local ferry minute drive outdoor pool downtown victoria
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 809 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2017

We stayed here 1 night at the end of our Vancouver Island vacation. Wanted a nice place to unwind before flying out of Victoria airport next day.
The pictures at their web site were a little misleading. It gave the impression this was a big place right on the water with commanding views of bay and a beautiful board walk .
Well , not quite.

It really isn't that big and its kind of jammed into the side of the hill with just a small walkway down to a little pier which is apparently only open for business in summer. There is a ferry boat that drops people off from across the bay . Otherwise, the area is kind of "blah" with some low rent neighbors near by. Not high class in at least the surroundings.

The hotel itself was VERY NICE. Room was beautiful, bathroom with heated tile floors was a delight. Didn't use the jetted tub but liked the big shower with multi sprays.
( Didn't like the bathroom soaps/shampoo items. A very unpleasant smell to me and it lingered for hours. I dislike heavy fragrances and not anything that lingers.)

We had dinner at the restaurant. It is a very nice and serene place. There was only 1 server for the night. There were maybe 4-5 tables of people - so not super busy. Maybe 1/5 full. Server was nice friendly type and helped with our order since I needed GF items.
We ended up ordering from the Sushi menu as nothing on the main menu was interesting and GF.
( please update your menus to be more GF friendly - more options)

The server did warn us that the sushi woudl take a longer time because they only have 1 chef for the sushi. Hmmmm. It took a LONG time for the food to come out. Like over 30 to 40 min. We ended up wanting another roll as we were still hungry so another 30 min wait time. Luckily we were in no hurry so overall it was not a huge deal. But they should have offerred something to tide us over with such a long wait.

PS - they did serve us some GF bread at beginning but said that was all they had and didn't have any more. This is apparently due to them closing down for a few weeks for remodeling and their supplies were very low. REALLY?
I'm guessing that was why service was slow too ... probably low on staff too.
Oh - once the food arrived, it was very good. Everything we ordered was good.
Also - their main menu didn't have much in the way of interesting seafood options . That was surprising for Vancouver Island.

Overall - We would not come back to this place just for the fancy room.
Would rather have stayed over by Sidney where we could walk about the town a bit or by the coastline.

Room Tip: If you just want a beautiful room and take advantage of SPA services, then this is a great place. Otherwise, kind of boring stop over.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank starrider2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeadershipTeam, Front Office Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Dear starrider2016,

Thank you for your thorough review! I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy your room and the bathroom’s spa features!

I am disappointed to hear that your experience wasn’t quite the exceptional stay that we strive for. I do apologize if you were misled by the photos on our website; Brentwood Bay is a tranquil little area hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but still a close enough distance if you wish to venture out there. We do feel that our photos capture the natural beauty of the area and its surroundings, there are some neat local restaurants and trails nearby – I sincerely apologize if we failed to provide you with all the options.

Regarding your dining experience, it sounds like your wait times may have been delayed. We have shared this feedback with our food and beverage program and are taking steps in order to improve the flow of service during busy times. Because our sushi is prepared from scratch, it tends to take a little longer than some other menu items.

We try our very best to accommodate dietary restrictions such as gluten intolerance, especially as many of our staff can relate. Most of our menu items can very easily be modified to be gluten-free, and I am sincerely sorry you felt that this was not the case. We will be sure to speak to the staff about how we can better offer these options in the future.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, and perhaps assist you with finding some things to enjoy in the area.

Warmly,

Gina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

We were in Victoria visiting family for a week. We decided to take a couple days to treat ourselves with a romantic getaway. We chose Brentwood Bay resort and we are so glad we did. From the moment we checked in they made us feel very welcomed and spoiled. We were given sparkling apple cider in champagne flutes and guided to our room. The room was spotless clean with the most spectacular view of the harbor, water, pool and hills. We had a welcome card with cookies as we are Expedia VIP members.
The room has a nice soaker tub, shower with jets and fireplace. The bed is super comfortable. The balcony was awesome to sit outside and have a drink. It was a bit chilly while we were there but we bundled up and it was still very much enjoyable.
The resort has a spa which we did not use but I have been to in the past and was very nice. They have a pool and hot tub which are heated and open year round. The pool was a bit cool for me given that it was chilly out but the hot tub was perfect.
They have a pub in the resort and the food is delicious! I would recommend having dinner here at least once during your stay or even stopping for drinks and an appy. We had breakfast in the dining room once which was good but we found a place up the road called Zanzibar and much preferred their breakfast. Also recommend checking out Seahorse Cafe, a great little mom and pop restaurant with great harbour views.
Will definitely stay again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeadershipTeam, Front Office Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Dear Catherine C,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to hear from the moment you walked in, you felt welcomed and spoiled – that is exactly what we strive to deliver. The cookies are proudly made in house, and cider is from a delicious local farmhouse only about 15 minutes away.

I am glad to hear that you stayed cozy during your stay. If you enjoyed the hot tub, we suggest trying out the One Bedroom Ocean Suites with your own private hot tub on the deck for your next stay.

Your suggestions will be much appreciated in the TripAdvisor community – Zanzibar and Seahorses are some of our favourite local spots too.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you,

Gina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

I loved the relaxing atmosphere. The views of the bay were very nice. The room had an open bath to the rest of the room (with shutter style windows if you want privacy). Loved being able to talk to my friend while having a bath. The spa was amazing...had a fabulous massage. The food was also very good. Very "Vancouver Island", & you know it's fabulous when Island residents come to stay there. Staff was perfect. Loved it.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeadershipTeam, Front Office Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Dear Laura C,

Thank you for your fantastic review! The lovely tubs are certainly a favourite – who doesn’t love bath with an ocean view?

I will be sure to share your warm words with our team. We love capturing the essence of Vancouver Island in our dining, and are glad you were able to enjoy it!

Kind Regards,

Gina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile


Couple. Stayed here for 4 nights in late September for a wedding.

Beautiful resort depending on what type of vacation you are looking for. Please note my cons may be another's pros so my review is in no way suggesting this hotel was any better/worse than similar stated properties in Victoria.

Staff were awesome!

Pros

-Overlooking ocean

-Nice pool

-Large spacious ocean view suites/villas with outdoor hot tubs, two person dual split soaker tub, heated bathroom floors and a fireplace

-landscaped as if you were on an ocean escape in a tropical country (definitely didn't feel like Canada)

-staff/service was on point

Cons

-Very secluded

-$50 can ride into downtown Victoria or civilization of sort (we did not receive the heads up that Victoria has no uber present and later rented a car on the second day, so if you're going to stay here and plan on leaving the resort at any time I would strongly suggest renting a vehicle as one return trip into town will cover the cost of your 4 day car rental)

-only one restaurant whose kitchen isn't open all night

-no 24h room service

-nothing to do in the area, there is no walking beach access, it's basically just a beautiful waterfront view which gets boring after awhile

-kayaks available to be rented from the hotel for a large fee. I've stayed at many 5 star luxury properties in various parts of the world and it is pretty basic standard practice to have beach toys accessible to resort guests to compliment/entertain them during their stay. Especially seeing as the resort is built to be a hideaway on its own I would certainly look into providing more activities/things to do on the resort free of charge to add perceived value to guests during their stay

-no restaurants, other properties, shopping or anything nearby

-30 -45 min drive into Victoria depending on time of day and traffic if you have a vehicle

-safe was not working in the room and we were not told this at checkin. We didn't bother changing rooms afterward as the other 2 villas of our room type were not available so it would've been a downgrade.

-September in Canada is not your typical ocean escape temperatures range from 12-17 degrees Celsius however this is not cold enough for the room to be freezing which was an issue for us. The thermostat was not able to be programmed higher then room temperature and anytime anyone opened the patio door even for a quick second the room would become freezing and take an hour to heat back up to a comfortable temperature. We also had the fireplace on blast which helped at night.

Overall the resort was beautiful and would definitely recommend it for a couples escape. However I feel the summer months would certainly be a better time for this. As for a wedding venue, it was beautiful! Amazing service/food and stunning view/backdrop for the ceremony itself.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeadershipTeam, Front Office Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Dear tessy143,

Thank you for such a thorough review! I am pleased to hear your kind words. We are always striving to exceed our guests’ expectations, and your warm words will be appreciated by our entire team.

I am also glad to hear that you felt as if you were at a tropical escape. We aim to create a private and tranquil atmosphere in order maximize our guests’ relaxation while staying with us.

I do apologize if you felt separated from the liveliness of downtown. Our Guest Service agents try to provide transportation options to our guests so that they are able to experience all that downtown has to offer. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team and work on ensuring consistency when relaying information to our guests.

Regarding the in room safe, we have taken your experience into consideration for our upcoming renovations.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback to help us improve. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back next summer.

Warmly,

Gina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

It’s our first time to stay at this resort and we enjoyed our dining experience. For appetizers we ordered mussels and a salad. The flavour and presentation were excellent. For entrees we ordered the duck breast and lamb. They were delicious. The server was very pleasant and he was doing his best

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews