We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
C$269
Fully refundable before Fri, Apr 19
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
702lv
Nevada
Just what we hoped it would be...
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 2, 2022
After travelling for 2 days to get to Vancouver Island, this hotel was everything we had hoped for to stop and relax. Quiet location on the bay just 5 minutes from Butchart Gardens. The room was clean, spacious and well-appointed. A large tub and comfy bed made for a relaxing night. We enjoyed the view of the bay and marina from the room (see room tip below). There are not many restaurants in the area, but the on-site options offer good choices. We especially liked the steamed mussels at the pub.
Date of stay: July 2022
Room Tip: If the bay view is important to you, spend a little extra for a deluxe ocean suite.
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
C$189
C$168
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$168
5.3 km from Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Backyard garden area
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.9 km from Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Algotels
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
5.2 km from Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$269
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
0.0 km from Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$116
  • Expedia.com
    C$140
5.1 km from Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$252
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.0 km from Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
G5
Official Hotel Site
C$99
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
9.5 km from Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$257
C$194
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
9.1 km from Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$229
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • BestWestern.com
    C$229
9.2 km from Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$195
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$176
  • Expedia.com
    C$181
  • Priceline
9.4 km from Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Central Saanich
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveller rating
632
177
53
44
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
632
177
53
44
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub butchart gardens view of the bay vancouver island large jetted tub ferry dock our honeymoon outdoor pool third floor king bed fireplace lodge victoria inlet retreat waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 939 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2022

I hadn't been anywhere since before Covid hit (2.5 years) and had been through personal heavy stress. I finally had an opportunity to get away for a much-needed one-night solo retreat. I was looking for two things... a quiet room with an ocean view plus a big in-suite jacuzzi tub. I hunted high and low all over Vancouver Island and chose this location based on their view photos and advertising. I paid top dollar for an ocean view room but was put into a lower first-floor room with an obstructed view. Right away this was a HUGE disappointment and I felt short-changed. It was dark and not what I had expected. I made the most of it.

When I checked in, I was given a complimentary glass of cider and in the room, there was a nice basket with a yummy chocolate chip cookie. The resort is older but well maintained. The room was impeccably clean which was impressive. Well done in that regard. I ordered food which came in a reasonably short time. It was so delicious, fresh and tasty. Very pricey but again, well done.

The jacuzzi tub was nice and big. Bring your own bubble bath and don't put in too much. I got carried away and the bubbles went so high that it was quite funny.

They wouldn't let me have a late checkout, which was disappointing and others have also had this same experience. I think if I had been there as a couple celebrating an anniversary, they would have put me in a better view room. Since I was solo, it felt as though I wasn't a priority. So if you ever stay there, I'd definitely be firm on what kind of room you must have, preferably a quiet one on the third floor.

Room tip: Request an ocean view room on the second or third floor. The first-floor views are obstructed with bushes and trees.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CanadianCritic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris Eisnor, Guest Services / Front Office at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2022

Thank you for your valued feedback. We are happy that we met your expectations with certain things, but saddened we fell short in others. We are sorry your view wasn't as lovely as you would have liked. We have guests that absolutely love the first floor and garden access with an ocean view, and others that would appreciate being higher up without that access. We do have plans to separate the rooms so that our guests will know exactly where they will be located. We will certainly offer assistance with luggage and would be happy to do any walking for you to save you the walk and time if needed. We will honor a late check-out when possible, however with only 35 guest rooms at the resort we have a fairly small Housekeeping team. On many days, we receive numerous late checkout requests that can certainly place undo pressure on a small team that needs to have rooms cleaned perfectly for guests arrival at 4:00pm. We thank you for choosing us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2022

Stayed as part of our 40th wedding anniversary trip to B.C. The ocean view room was superb; well furnished to a high standard, spotlessly clean, serviced each day with a view of the boats moored from the balcony with seating provided. Quality toiletries and fluffy robes were provided which allowed us to walk to the hotel pool which was warm and a great place to look over water then return back to the room to shower after our swim. The cookies on arrival were a welcome surprise with the nepresso machine topped up with capsules each day.
We paid for a dining package, however the Arbutus room was shut so ate in the pub. Only downside was we couldn't reserve a table for pub so had to go outside hotel and wait in line for a table with non residents. Also didn't seem any consistency on what was included for breakfast for package. One morning had our hot drinks included in package the next morning had to pay for coffee with breakfast.
We found the staff very helpful and friendly
Overall suited our plan to chill and relax.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris Eisnor, Guest Services / Front Office at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2022

Hello Susan, thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed the amenities and a relaxing stay. Our packages that include breakfast, offer the choice of a main dish and basic drink (coffee, tea, or juice) for each adult. Alcohol or specialty coffees would not be included in the package. If we missed this somehow and charged you in error, please contact us and we can correct this for you. Again, we are so pleased you liked us and hope you choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2022

I made a reservation with Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa for what was advertised as an "Ocean Suite" room, which implies an ocean view, and accepted a premium charge for the room. When we arrived at our assigned room and looked out through the balcony, what we had was a view of the pool and had to stand tall to get an obstructed view of the harbor through the trees. This was nothing less than false advertising for the room category listed and not what we expected for a premium charge! We complained to the manager onsite at the time and were informed there was nothing that could be done to change our room. Not only was there no ocean or harbor view, but our room was next to the pool on the ground floor leaving us no privacy and we could hear all the noise from the nearby restaurant and pub so we had to keep our balcony door closed and the curtains drawn during our stay. Very disappointing!

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank biotech_engr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris Eisnor, Guest Services / Front Office at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Our Ocean Suite rooms offer a partial ocean view and are located on the poolside of the resort. Our Deluxe Ocean Suite rooms do offer a non-obstructed view of the bay. We are sorry we fell short on your expectations and hope you decide to choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2022 via mobile

The best hotel bar none I’ve ever stayed in. We had a room with a hot tub on the balcony over looking the ocean. Double jacuzzi. King bed. Fire place. The room was spotless, modern and comfortable while still embracing nature. The hotel thought of every little added touch to make us feel welcome and anything we could need. I have stayed in many high end hotels but this beat them all. It was the perfect spot for our 10 year anniversary. I will recommend this hotel to everyone willing to listen. Thank you for the amazing stay.

Room tip: Skip room service and head to Zanzibar near by. Get a room with a hot tub
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Allyalexmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris Eisnor, Guest Services / Front Office at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2022

We are so happy that you enjoyed your 10th anniversary as we realize we get only one chance to make it special for you. Thank you for letting us know about your stay and for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2022

We stayed during the Victoria long weekend, in the deluxe ocean view room with the dining package. Room and view were beautiful! Concierge was very accommodating and personally went to fix the broken phone in room. The next day, a different concierge was accommodating of our inquiries and usage of the $100 dining credit.

Our one issue came with some of the servers…
Saturday morning, we arrived at the Arbutus room for breakfast at around 10am. There was another young Caucasian couple looking at the displayed menu in front of us (we ourselves are an Asian couple). They went to the host table and was seated within a few minutes. There were quite a few tables still open, so we assumed we would be seated directly after… but the servers (three young women) blatantly ignored us at the host table… for what felt like about 10 min. At first I thought, they must be busy, since one of them was frequently on the phone taking orders, but none of them even acknowledged us for that duration. A simple “give us a moment” would have sufficed…

When we were finally seated, one of the servers gave us the menus and left us to peruse. But another 10-15 minutes went by after we were ready, of us raising our hands to get their attention while they directly passed our table and ignored us… and served everyone else. Maybe we were too passive and they simply did not see us at all, but I feel like the duration we were waiting to order was much too long without acknowledgement.. They also all seemed to be in a sub-par, grumpy mood… probably one of the worst services I’ve ever encountered.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peachtulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris Eisnor, Guest Services / Front Office at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We always try to give our guests the best possible experience we can. We are sorry that your service in the Arbutus room was lacking and that took away from your overall experience. We do hope you decide to return and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews