We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience.”

The Dining Room at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brentwood Drive
Transit: BC Transit Bus Route #75 located directly in front of Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa.
Description: We celebrate, we dazzle, we educate. Since 2004, Brentwood Bay Resort and Spa has had the pleasure of accommodating thousands of guests locally and from all over the world. Set on traditional Saanich territory, The Resort incorporates the natural beauty of its surroundings into our guests' experience. From the architecture, boasting of Douglas Fir and Red Cedar, to our locally-sourced ingredients, The Dining Room is committed to incorporating the culture of the Resort and the soul of the Pacific North West into each dish. We hope to welcome you to the Dining Room and share the experience with you.
Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

Sadly we had a very poor experience yesterday. As locals we have eaten in the main dining room numerous times over the years! Generally its pretty good... so 9 of us embarked on a family dinner there. The limited menu (that is never consistant) is currently very tricky for kids and teens and very meat centric. We love our veggies and salads. One used to be able to order from the pub side menu (which provides many more accessible options) but we were told the kitchens were now separate, yet food was continually leaving the dining room kitchen headed straight for the pub! Service was extremely, extremely slow when there were only 2 other tables seated as we arrived at opening time. We were denied our pre-requested patio seating of which was vacant for over two hours from our arrival time. The restaurant did not fill up for 2 hours during our 3 1/4 hour meal that was spent waiting and waiting for our meals. Mass confusion over splitting the bill occurred as well. The food was delicious but it was a very disapointing experience for Mothers day. I feel management is making and changing rules and menus that do not seem to serve their customers. Who serves 'roasted winter vegetables' with nearly every entre in late spring? We won't return to the expensive dining room for a long while!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank jewellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin P, F&B Leader at The Dining Room at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2018

Hi Jewellery, thank you for taking the time to review our Dining Room.

I am sorry that you find our menu limited; we are currently working on a new menu but unfortunately at this time I am not sure when to expect the launch. In the meantime and as always, we are certainly happy to offer menu changes upon request, such as extra veggies or custom salads. The roasted winter vegetables on the 3-Course Menu was definitely overlooked by our team and we simply did not change the wording as the menu is no longer offered as of May 16th.

You are very correct, our pub line and dining room are separate. However, they are located in the same kitchen, which is why it appeared that dining room food was going to the pub.

I do apologize that you were denied a seat on our patio. I will speak to our host team to ensure that we are filling those spots during the summer months.

We are also continuously learning how to best offer our larger groups the best experience; your feedback in this matter is greatly appreciated. We hope that we can persuade you to come back and experience what we strive to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2018

We went with a Groupon as did a lot of the people there by the looks of it. We were seated and did not get approached for 20 minutes by our waiter. We ordered sushi and waited over 50 minutes for it to be delivered. Shortly after finishing it (was decent sushi but not cheap) the waiter said the kitchen was backed up so we waited another 20 minutes. Meal was tasty though. The french fries were a religious experience! The food was pricey for what we got and there is no way it was worth it without the groupon.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rdrambuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin P, F&B Leader at The Dining Room at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2018

Hello Rdrambuie,

I am very sorry to hear about the aspects of your experience that fell flat. Our sushi chefs provide handcrafted dishes to both our Pub and Dining Room, but I admit that 50 minutes is certainly a long time to wait. I will be happy to speak with our team about how to better communicate these wait times.

I notice that you rated our service with one star and would encourage you to call us to discuss the matter further. I can personally be reached at 250-544-5110.

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back for a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018

My husband and I enjoyed several breakfasts and dinners in the dining room. My reoccurring comment was, "So good!!". We enjoyed every meal. The service and ambiance was outstanding. Hope to return again for more smoked salmon eggs benny and sushi.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

I am three for three. They have great soups and salads. This place is becoming a favorite on my trips to the island. Also coming up from the states it is great to be able to order fresh ice tea.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin P, Food and Beverage Leader at The Dining Room at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hello Alan,

Thank you for your lovely review! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Warmest Regards,

Caitlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

At the price, we were happy with our choice for dinner. Our server was very good and had some useful wine suggestions to accompany our meal. Ambiance was good, as we were overlooking Brentwood Bay.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Freddie754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatherineMMurphy, Manager at The Dining Room at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Freddie754,

Thank you for the kind works. We look forwards to welcoming you back.

Cheers,
Katherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Dining Room at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing