We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
261
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
261
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buckland abbey perfect hosts national trust tea and cake drawing room sir francis drake sloe gin charming couple local produce homemade bread roll top bath steeped in history attentive hosts kitchen garden stunning location perfect stay tranquil setting
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 266 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2018

The Cider House is a gorgeous property with lovely amenities and servings of delicious food, with the exception of the lemon cake we were served upon arrival, which was dry and stale. The hosts work diligently to ensure that everything is spot on; however, we sensed that they were struggling a bit to maintain their chipper attitudes. Their friendliness seemed forced and phony, and we grew tired of being leapt upon at the front door each time we returned from outside. That said, the house and its setting are exceptional.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank HH29March2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cider House B, Owner at Cider House, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Dear HH29March2018,

We have failed to receive any response to our correspondence with yourself as whilst this review has clearly been very well researched, having reviewed our records it becomes apparent that YOU HAVE NOT STAYED WITH US as you claim and as such this review has been reported to TripAdvisor for further investigation due to the false and misleading information it contains.

We fully respect the right of guests to publish online reviews of their experiences, but likewise as owners we too are entitled to protect our good reputation from such defamatory statements. It is important for all guests to know that when they read online reviews in relation to a business, those reviews are based on a genuine experience otherwise the integrity of the review system will fall apart.

We do not wish to waste time speculating as to why you may have created an account to leave such a post but would request its immediate removal due to its false nature and thus prevent time being wasted on this matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017

Cider House is located in tranquil setting National Trust Property Buckland Abbey.once the home of Sir Francis Drake.It is surrounded by lush green rolling countryside and gardens
The owners are very hospitable and generous with their time - nothing is a problem.
Our room was comfortable with all the amenities.Breakfasts were superb - homemade artisanal organic products

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank petesaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017

a lovely welcome awaits at this very comfortable B&B , I could easily have stayed longer. The property is ideally suited to visit a number of N.T properties as well as Plymouth and the surrounding area

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sub716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

We chose the Cider House due to it’s unique location and acres of National Trust gardens and woodland. We were not disappointed. Ahead of our stay, Bertie and Bryony kindly sent us some very useful information including recommendations about where to eat locally along with very detailed directions to the Cider House (which definitely came in handy as Sat Nav proved to be temperamental at best!)

The Cider House stands adjacent to Buckland Abbey with spectacular views across the Devon countryside. We were greeted by Bertie and honestly could not have received a warmer and more enthusiastic welcome, complete with home made cake and tea! We were instantly made to feel very ‘at home’. The house has been exquisitely furnished by Bertie and Bryony with great attention to detail. We loved the ‘honey bee’ theme running through the house, no doubt inspired by the beehives in the Abbey’s Kitchen Garden.

Our room was named ‘Northwood’, light and spacious with a dual aspect and huge ‘empire sized’ bed! The room was immaculate, very tastefully furnished with beautiful fabrics and furniture. Located in the oldest part of the building, ‘Northwood’ retains some original architectural features such as the granite mullions. We loved the bathroom, particularly the generously sized roll top bath. As an extra treat, we were provided with various REN products to enjoy

Breakfast was served in the stunning guest lounge. Bertie and Bryony clearly work very hard to provide a delicious breakfast with an emphasis on local produce and there is a wonderful choice of dishes. The bacon and sausages come from estate reared pigs and the eggs from the Abbey’s own rare breed hens. We especially enjoyed Bryony’s home baked bread which we topped with lashings of local honey! Thumbs up, also, for the spiced plums!

The location is incredibly peaceful and quiet. The gardens are open to the public during the day but after 5pm, guests at the Cider House have the gardens to themselves. Bertie was always very helpful, answering any questions we had about the local area. He also gave us a handy map of the Abbey estate which included several colour coded walks of varying lengths.

Bertie and Bryony clearly work incredibly hard to ensure that guests have a great stay and we honestly couldn’t fault The Cider House. Thank you, both, for making our holiday so special. The Cider House was just what the doctor ordered! We wish you continued (and well deserved) success and hope to see you again in the future.

Room tip: Northwood has a huge empire sized bed which is very comfortable.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyjpeach1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

We were in England for 4 weeks and this was our favorite BnB. Beautiful location, excellent accommodations and professionally managed. Attention to detail in every aspect of our stay was very much appreciated.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mikethompson34135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews