We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection for our special time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfection for our special time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We arranged an event following the renewal of our wedding vows (on our 38th anniversary) at East Lodge; what can I say? Well it lived up to the reputation and we are so pleased that we chose the East Lodge for our family and close friends.

The attention to detail was great, the food was great and the chef and his team provided exactly what we requested for the overnight stay.

We found the rooms comfortable and the service from the commencement of the booking through to our checking out was first class. I would like to once again say a big thank you to East Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    76
    23
    13
    17
See reviews for
87
214
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Nice intimate wedding venue with stunning grounds. Service was attentive throughout although the service during the wedding breakfast was a little patchy with a whole basket of bread getting dropped on the floor and adult and child food portions getting mixed up, not being spotted by staff and when pointed out, not corrected, not that it would have really made much difference as the childrens portions were virtually adult sized, so a minor niggle in reality. Food was of a good standard, particularly the evenin hog roast. Overall very nice facilities, staff were extremely and impeccably presented, polite and helpful especially when considering the intoxication of a few guests and the fact the wedding had quite a few children. The surroundings, food and staff make it a good venue choice. - jan2011

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roastbeefandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is our second visit in the last 12 months ( see previous review ) . The staff were fabulous and extremely attentive ,the room was amazing ( four poster room) and the food was second to none . As for the breakfast I finally got my 'eggs Benedict' ,I have definitely missed out for the last 45 years as it was to die for . Thank you East Lodge we will be back again ......

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pd1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We visited East Lodge for the weekend to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday and had a wonderful time. The staff were extremely pleasant and attentive and the rooms and food were first class. the venue would be wonderful for a wedding.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordonw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

From the very moment we walked into the hotel, we immediately felt at ease, welcomed and relaxed. The staff at East Lodge really are fantastic.
We were shown to our AMAZING room - the bridal suite - gorgeous four poster bed, with a lovely roll top bath - and TV!!! The staff were very attentive and showed us around the room.
Now, I am the most fussy eater but can honestly say that the meal was the best I have had in a long time - maybe ever, my partner also enjoyed his that much that he booked a champagne afternoon tea for his parents christmas present!
Will certainly revisit for a meal and to stay, and I think that the fact this is a family run venue really shows.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenkezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basildon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

My partner and I stay here on Friday evening on our way home after collecting a new car from Wilmslow. When we arrived at 6pm the car park was packed and the reception area was full of people, what a night mare!!. Then the manager popped up from behind the reception counter and greeted us very warmly, saying "these people will be gone soon they have just had a lunch party" and showed us to an free upgraded honeymoon room. The room was big with a very nice outlook, the bathroom had a large rolled top bath and walk in shower. Dinner was very nice, the waiter and waitress were perfectly attentive. so to a perfect nights sleep, breakfast was perfectly cooked local produce. We had a really nice stay at East Lodge and after driving around the beautiful peak district, vowed we would come back for a long weekend next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brackbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Friendly welcome and staff at this family run hotel. Lovely four-poster bedroom at a good room rate. Room was well furnished with superb bathroom where you can watch tv whilst in the bath. Lovely hot power shower. Dinner was excellent - one of the best meals I have had out! Superb breakfast with lots of choice. Apart from inadequate instructions for tv in bedroom (staff came to show us immediately we asked) I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
5.3 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
19.0 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.3 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
16.0 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.1 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lodge Country House Hotel

Property: East Lodge Country House Hotel
Address: Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EF , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your East Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Country
East Lodge Country House Hotel Rowsley, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing