We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.. cosy atmosphere”
Review of The Lock Up

The Lock Up
Ranked #33 of 1,847 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$31
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

The lockup is an intimate cosy restaurant at the heart of Redfield. The menu is small but changes frequently. I have tried the Philly Steak roll with chips and a side salad. It was very good. Service is very good- the food can take while to arrive but it's made fresh to order and it's worth the wait. I love the decor and the cosy atmosphere of the restaurant. It can be really romantic in the evenings when the light are down and there's candles at the table. There's also seating outside which has heating. Again, very cosy.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank foodieash50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 352 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

We have tried a few of the tasting menu evenings at the lock up. It is always amazing not only the food but the wine pairing is very well done. The food is always well presented but very inspired pairings. Aiden and the team must spend a lot of time on these special menus. The staff need a mention all on their own they are friendly helpful and very passionate about the food.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sharon-bris1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic staff (Emily). Great food and service and very reasonably priced. Really enjoyed Sunday lunch and will return when in Bristol

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Annj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018

We had a very relaxed Sunday lunch with very good friendly service. The food, from a special lunch menu, was excellent in quality and very well presented.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank croatiabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Never been to this restaurant before but I was pleasantly surprised. We had booked the table in advance, this I would recommend as it was busy. We were therefore shown directly to a nice round table, which I think when there is a group of you, is for more congenial.
They were slow to take our drink orders but when the cocktails did arrive, they were great. We also had a slight delay in ordering our main food, I think this is down to them being very busy. When the food arrived it was lovely. All the meals well presented artistically, the look of the food definitely added to the taste of it. The dessert was equally as tasty and well presented.

This is a restaurant we would return to perhaps for a family meal next time.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank FrannyDenoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lock Up also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to The Lock Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing