We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Helped us avoid the rain” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Bristol
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Helped us avoid the rain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We turned up and was told that we could get our room at 3pm, so we went around town and took in the sights. Returned at 3pm and settled in. It was raining more heavily now and so we took advantage of the lounge. It could have done with a little more furniture as there were lots of guests who wanted to duck the rainy streets but there wasn't much space. Luckily for us, our children went to play pool (£5 deposit and 50p a game). The room was OK - it wasn't too warm though and the radiator had been turned off completely and it took ages for the room to warm up once we had put the radiator on. The breakfast was nice and served quickly with plenty to eat. We're veggies but weren't offered any alternatives for the meat. It may have been there had we asked but the guy serving was spending more time round the back than serving, so he seemed really busy. Overall, this is quite expensive for what is meant to be a cheaper alternative.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kabads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    111
    70
    18
    7
See reviews for
35
20
74
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Firstly as mentioned in previous reviews the lift is out of order and we had to climb 9 flights to get to our level with suitcases, that was just the start. The toilets/ shower were dirty. Unfriendly, sarcastic staff and for three people sharing on a weekday £120!!!!! UNBELIEVABLE. Would never stay here again. Far better and far cheaper places to stay we were desperate at short notice. Would NOT recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashleighrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

A previous reviewer mentioned this but the lift is out of action and there doesn't seem to be any haste in getting it fixed. So you hear quite a few *bumps* on the metal stairs as kids drag their suitcases down the stairs. Luckily for me I had a rucksack but having to go up arouond 10 flights of stiars still wasn't pleasant. You certainly didn't notice the cold after that.

I stayed here for pretty much 2 weeks in two different rooms as I was moving to Bristol so couldn't stay in my flat yet. The first room I stayed in (401) I have to say was really good. It had an ensuite shower and bathroom. It was quite large and L shaped so you weren't really sleeping opposite anyone and therefore if you had your own light on it wouldn't really disturb anyone. The only problem is, was that it was facing Prince St and there is a club called The Warehouse which is fine if you are there to party, but if you need to be up to work, you don't want to be kept up til 5AM by people singing, clapping, yelling and smashing things. This was really only a problem the last couple of days (as in heading towards the weekend) and I looked on their website it closes at 4am. So be aware of that side of the building.

My second week I stayed on the harbourside, but as I learnt from the reception staff, the front rooms are normally reserved for the school groups and when you are in there, you can actually tell this, as the beds are wooden, they are smaller, they don't have as much facilities (e.g. only 1 working socket!!) so clearly are not for the adults.

It's located on the water side, so if you need to get to shops e.g. Broadmead you can walk easily or catch the bus. I had to trek up Park street to get to work, but coming from London where I had to catch the tube everywhere, walking was actually quite pleasant.

The self-catering kitchen is good. It's big and there always seemed to be enough space for food. Wifi is also not free. It's not bad in terms of strength if you do happen to fork out for it.

Unfortunately, most of my complaints (and what brought down the rating of my review) comes down to things the YHA can't control but it's because of these things I didn't enjoy my stay as much as I would have. I had my food stolen from the fridge (despite being clearly labelled), I had a lodger who had the smelliest feet (but insisted on keeping the windows completely closed at all times) and of course the club situation across the road.

Pity though...

Room Tip: Get one of the nice rooms at the back of the hostel but bring ear plugs OR stay in the front but be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mixedlollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Where do I start? showers not working. LIft out of action indefinitely, so this 4 story building is a problem for anyone with luggage or any mobility problems, ie most visitors. Chewing gum on the stairs, generally poor standards of cleaning, bunks too small. Bathrooms with black mould. Self catering kitchen has no kettle, dirty dishes are put away as clean, yet there are notes telling guests to clean up because their mother would be ashamed. . Well, I think YHA should be ashamed of this one. Quiet through the week, packed every weekend, so basically it's a place for groups who don't care about the conditions. It's not cheap, its' generally noisy - if you face the harbour you have parties on weekends, the other side you have the floor shaking from traffic.
MY tip: as with all the other Bristol hostels - spend a bit more and stay somewhere a bit decent. Or just avoid Bristol. There really isn't a lot here except for group tours and conventions.

Room Tip: Get one with a bathroom. At least you will get a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here for three nights, It is 10 minute walk from Bristol Temple Meads station. It is in a georgous old building in the heart of the harbouside which is a recent regeneration area, other hotels in the area are far more expensive. Rooms are basic, bunk beds, cupboard and sink, toilets and showers are along the hall, but the price reflects this. The last two nights I paid to have a 2 bed room to myself. On my first night I was due to sleep in a 6 bed dorm but they put me in a 4 bed dorm with ensuite instead on my own, which was lovely and ideal for a family or group. All staff was really freindly and helpful, and the communial areas were modern and well equipped. Overall if your happy with basic then this is a well recommended stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed here again last weekend for 3 nights, and apart from the last night everything was okay. Friendly and helpful staff, good self catering kitchen equipped with 2 gas and electric cookers with plenty of fridge space to store your things and 3 supermarkets nearby. Nice lounge to chill, watch TV and chat to other guests. Internet expensive - 50p for 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Anywhere towards the back that arent facing the noisy Quayside bars and you should be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarrulousGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

As seasoned youth hostellers we would like to recommend Bristol for its location, its chilled out relaxing bar/lounge and the make your own pizzas which are available all day. It was also very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#5 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
0.4 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 km away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#19 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 km away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 km away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bristol

Property: YHA Bristol
Address: 14 Narrow Quay, Bristol BS1 4QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For good accommodation in Bristol city centre, this backpackers hostel makes a perfect base. Explore the harbourside and old city areas, visit the magnificent Avon Gorge - Brunel’s suspension bridge or enjoy Bristol’s cultural base of theatres, museums, art galleries and thriving live music and club scene. A former waterfront grain house, this Youth Hostel has been sympathetically restored to offer relaxed cosmopolitan surrounding, ideal for a cheap city break or weekend away.YHA members can enjoy free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA Bristol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing