We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Ranked #3 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The guesthouse in a very convenient location right in the centre of Bristol you can easily walk to the floating harbour and the Hippodrome.

The staff are excellent very welcoming, friendly and accommodating. They were outstanding.

There are plenty of spaces to sit and unwind. An indoor lounge and outside seating. There is also a laptop guests can use and wifi.

The room was small but then we did expect that it being a small double. The decor is nice but it did feel tired in some areas (a few small water marks on the ceiling) however it was cleaned to a high standard and the bathroom was modern. If I booked again I would book a bigger room it's a little claustrophobic (big enough for one person but not two).

The breakfast was good but not outstanding. Little things let it down toast not very well toasted, egg not runny so nothing major. However the breakfast was better the next day.

From the website it does give the impression of being a more luxurious experience than it actually is. However for the prices they charge in the centre of Bristol it is a good reliable find. It certainly beats some of the big chain hotels in the city.

Overall we liked the guesthouse and would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: If I booked again I would upgrade to a bigger double room not the small double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jediknight26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    243
    60
    22
    14
See reviews for
102
358
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

To be fair, we paid £54 room only via Late Rooms so we can't grumble about our stay. This, therefore, is a factual review based on our stay at the end of May 2012.
Location: close to the Hippodrome theatre, Park St bars and restaurants, University of Bristol. Rooms are set around a courtyard ( both facing into and away). No parking but a negotiated rate with NCP for under £10 for 24 hours.
Noise: A market opposite the entrance as the many bars around the hotel don't make for the quietest of nights sleep but we slept reasonably well ( Sunday eve). Seagulls are in abundance as is their noise but we are used to this where we live.
Comfort: our room was small ( no smaller than what you get in a modern build house these days) but was ok for a one nights stay. Not sure we would have been as comfy staying longer as there is no storage space other than a wooden unit which houses the tv, kettle and hair dryer and fan. Two small bedside cabinets and wooden hooks with four cost hangers plus a wooden school type chair provides the only storage so if you have more than a bag with you this really does eat into the small room space. We had the small fan on the whole stay as the room was very hot. Air conditioning would be an ideal advantage to these rooms as though the court yard is pretty it does mean there is no breeze. There is no room on the wooden unit to have both the fan and the kettle which meant we had to boil the kettle on the floor near to bedside cabinets ( the cord of the kettle didn't reach the plug when placed inthe bedside cabinet). The shower room ( no bath) is modern but no natural light.
Cleanliness: spotless in the reception, lounge, communal areas and bedroom. Bathroom was clean but shower had mould around the base. Large spillage stain on the bedroom carpet but I can imagine that it would be hard to clean as the carpet is like a soft ratten type.
Decor: I personally loved the style and decor of the hotel especially the colour
scheme and open planned kitchen/lounge area. It might not be to everyone's taste but it is modern with a twist of Scandinavia thrown in. The decor suits the style of the hotel.
Breakfast/food/bar: we didn't eat breakfast as felt it was overpriced for what we could get locally but the range of breakfast was varied and a special board offered 'something different' to a traditional full English if that is what you fancied. An honesty bar ( fridge in the lounge with sheet to sign for what you took) is provided and stocked with a range of items. Prices are typical for a mini bar so don't expect to pay shop prices.
Pros: good location if you are happy to park in the NCP. Pretty hotel with nice features and if you book at the rate we did (£54 room only via late rooms) then its a reasonably priced hotel. Very friendly reception staff.
Cons: no air conditioning, smaller than average rooms and noise might cause a disturbed sleep. Also, despite booking a double room there was only one 'set' of towels (hand and large), one bathroom glass and one tea cup and saucer.

Overall: we'd stay here again if booking at the discounted rate but wouldn't pay the rack rate as there are other nearby hotels which, if booked through discount sites, offer the same facilities but with larger rooms and which include breakfast, air conditioning, quieter nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelasarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Symondsbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had a lovely time staying at Brooks guest house. It was most unexpectedly comfortable, warm, simple but with comfortable furnishings and very good bathrooms. The service was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was also amazing especially the Eggs Florentine, not to mention the home made marmalade! The location was perfect too. All in all I couldn't recommend it enough and will definitely tell all my friends and hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

a surprisingly lovely b and b which, as you enter feels calm and nicely decorated. my only complaint was that the room i was in looked onto a painted brick wall. the night was noisy as the rooms are not well sound-proofed and so you can hear people returning to their rooms very clearly. i was then woken by nesting pigeons outside my room making the oddest noises. but the breakfast was the best thing about it. the menu is fantastic and they cook it right there in front of you. bit too noisy for me but a good choice for those on a budget wanting to stay centrally.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronjronj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Recently stayed here for two nights (B&B) and loved everything about this 'hidden gem' in Bristol City Centre! Fab: staff, service, breakfast, bedrooms, bathrooms, atmosphere, clientele, location, price, decor. I adore the way in which the open plan kitchen, serving & dining area has been designed.....extremely clever and really unique! The whole place is ultra clean and the daily breakfast specials board is a lovely touch! I have already booked again to stay there early July! Please keep up all the wonderful work!

Room Tip: Some bathrooms do not have windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This accommodation was a very pleasant surprise. If you're looking for somewhere that clean and reasonably priced then this is the place for you. The bedroom was very well finished with an en suite and a great shower. The loaction is also very central.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeanMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#5 of 36 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 36 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.4 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

Property: Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Address: St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique guesthouse smack bang in the heart of the city with luxury John Lewis pocket sprung mattress beds, Hansgrohe power showers, floor to ceiling travertine tile bathrooms, hospitality trays & i-pod dock players. All rooms have Cole and Son wallpapers & Hungarian goose down duvets and pillows, large flat screen TV/DVD player, hairdryers and full length mirrors. A large bright contemporary open plan breakfast room and guest lounge with free wifi & a guest laptop alongside an honesty bar. Delicious organic hot or cold breakfast served daily from 7-10.30am Residents have exclusive use of our urban haven courtyard garden. Parking available upon request for £9 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guest House Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing