We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible no excuses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Town and Country Lodge
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Having checked in the accommodation was extremely basic very tired radiator didn't work in bedroom no cold water in bathroom tap. It was clean and this was a brief overnight stay as my daughter was competing in Bristol on the Sunday . Therefore initially we were prepared to overlook these things as it wasn't dirty . Sadly things got worse room 50 was host to a loud bunch of 6 to 8 guests partying shouting loud music etc. Management were informed and we were told that nothing could be done til 23.00hrs !!!! If you didn't know don't expect any quiet before then ! This continued and apparently the night porter would speak to them . Eventually they went out then there was another disturbance at 1.30 with men shouting laughing not sure what room this woke my daughter up I rang the porter who claimed he would investigate . Between 3 and 4 the revellers returned and partied all night til 5 /6am therefore we had hardly any rest . When my husband had spoken to management earlier in the eve he was assured that if these guests were so badly behaved they would be refunded and told to leave but In reality this never happened !
Instead on emailing the hotel on Sunday we were told there were numerous complaints given an apology but no refund to us was offered . I am especially cross that they don't value guests who behave in a normal respectful way at all! Several people and rooms were disturbed but they let the perpetrators of aggressive and binge drinking culture stay to the detriment of their business and guests very strange attitude to have .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karenza F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my daughter and grandson. We did a 3 night break. It’s very well placed (on A38) to get to a variety of places in Bristol and Somerset. It’s not far from the airport. The staff were lovely and went out of their way to look after you especially in the restaurant. The rooms were basic but comfortable. We had a bath and shower although the bath was very short! It was clean but does need updating.

Although it’s on the A38 we couldn’t hear the traffic in the room we were in. The only problem is as it’s used as an airport hotel it is quite noisy with people coming and going all the time and the walls are very thin. We did enjoy our stay and would go back but only if it was for a short stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank ragsnkisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Ok, it's not the Ritz but for the price this place is very satisfactory. A few of the reviews on here are quite negative but we enjoyed our stay. Well placed and set back enough from the A38 to be quiet. Very clean room, friendly and helpful reception staff and enjoyed the breakfast. Possible future stop off on the way to Cornwall I think...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adysheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Whilst the accommodation was basic although spotlessly clean, the service was amazing. The staff all went the extra mile to ensure we had everything that we needed, even providing an early breakfast to fit in with us.
Thank you and well done.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Polly176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

This is the second time we have used this motel,and again not disappointed,ok maybe it does need a touch of paint here and there,but what you get is comfortable at a reasonable price,we stayed as Bristol airport is very close,smashing evening meal with a good menu,breakfast is what you want,but good to gave full English,they supply all your toiletries,coffee tea etc (with biscuits),and smashing wrap around towels after your shower,my advice would be try for a upstairs room,It's only two story,but the wheelie suitcase with female in heels at 0445 hrs above you is not good....Staff are lovely and very helpful,and the good news is we were told in a few weeks they will have their own shuttle bus to the airport ...FAB...so leave your car there for the duration,they gave a huge car park.We will be back in the New Year as canary island trip planned...I do recommend this hotel,warm and cosy.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Very clean spacious room and bathroom. Hotel is a little dated but has much more character than chain. Nice breakfast cooked option available lady who served very helpful and friendly. Very near to airport plenty of parking.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank turtle68jg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This lodge is located at Bristol outskirt, comes with lots of parking space. Easy access to Bath, Chippenham, etc. The room, including the bathroom, is very spacious, very different from typical budget hotels in England, more similar to motels in North Americas. The room doesn’t come with air conditioning but it’s still cool and comfortable at night as far as the windows are opened during the hot summer days which is really different from London and its surrounding areas. Quiet neighbourhood and never got bothered with any noise with widows opened at night. Room was clean and tidy. We can tell the owners have done lots of renovation to the room lately. Some parts of the room reminded me childhood home and one of them is the long tail window stay. There is a patio with few picnic tables outside the rooms. Breakfast is included and there is eggs, toasts, beans, bacons, …, and they are freshly made when ordered. Restaurant is clean and is still decorated in 50-60’s country style. Staff was polite and nice. Felt sorry that we didn’t stay for couple more nights but moved to City Lodge Guest House at Gloucester. Highly recommend this budget lodge, big room, good price, clean. Have been to several hotels in England, this lodge offers the most spacious room with comparatively cheap price.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
13.2 km away
Travelodge Bristol Filton Hotel
5.1 km away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
491 reviews
6.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Arnos Manor Hotel
Arnos Manor Hotel
#38 of 39 in Bristol
675 reviews
9.8 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
11.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town and Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town and Country Lodge

Address: A38 Bridgwater Road | Bedminster Down, Bristol BS13 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range: C$88 - C$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Town and Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Town and Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town And Country Hotel Bristol
Town And Country Bristol
Town Country Lodge
Town And Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing