We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room and tiny loo/shower” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downlands House

Downlands House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Downlands House
Ranked #22 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Small room and tiny loo/shower”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The two bells at the front door did not work when we arrived and so we had rather a long wait. The welcome was good, but the room (which had been booked well in advance) was on the top floor and was very small, as also was the double bed; and the shower/loo was too tiny to be practical. The bed was hard up against a velux window blind covering the only window and the tv was diminutive. The breakfast was good. The soundproofing in this house is poor. Altogether disappointing and not good value for money, and parking is very difficult in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor if possible, but we were not given any choice and the room was booked well in ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    13
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
16
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

in henleaze close to shops and town /zoo /clifton, lovely breakfast and a warm welcome from pat.
Comfortable bed room just right temperature in room books to read must have been 10 times now/

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Warm welcome with a cup of tea in the comfortable lounge. Very good downstairs room with en suite with bath and separate shower. Television and comfortable chair welcome for when we got back in the evening. Excellent breakfast in the conservatory. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryedalerambler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed two nights at Downlands House in their ground floor twin room with en suite bathroom. On arrival we were greeted by Nick who is a very pleasant, helpful man. Having welcomed us and given us the necessary info. Nick handed us our key and told us to come and go as we liked. Likewise with all the staff, they were helpful but not at all intrusive.

The room was nicely furnished and the beds had crisp, clean good quality linen (the first thing I always look at!). Facilities were adequate. The shower actually had some power to it. The hair drier, although the same good quality make that I have at home, didn't have a lot of heat to it - Health and Safety..? But here I am nit picking.

We loved the atmosphere in the conservatory dining room where soft classical music playing in the background. The outlook is beautiful onto a terrace with beautiful hanging baskets and planters which would be the envy of every Percy Thrower amongst us. Breakfast was good although on the second morning the fact that one wanted brown toast and the other white seemed a challenge and we both got white. Nit picking again.

Parking was an issue as on the Friday evening when we returned at 10 pm we had to park at the furthest end of the road. However, it is a very quiet, pleasant road and the houses in it very attractive and we felt quite safe walking back. Saturday evening we were luckier and got within 30 metres.

To sum up. The location is excellent. Downlands House is very attractive both externally and internally. The ambience is excellent, very warm and welcoming. We felt totally comfortable at all times and are sure we will return when next in Bristol.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed for one week and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. The wonderful welcome, peaceful atmosphere and friendliness of staff and visitors made me feel really at home - Excellent for couples - but also for those on a solo break away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank think2read
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

I stayed 3 nights at Downlands House and really enjoyed it. The house is located in a quiet, green area, within easy reach from the centre with public transportation (however, I walked most of the time in order to enjoy Bristol's atmosphere). The breakfast is good and abundant. The house is lovely (a great attention has been paid to details) and extremely clean (having chosen a standard room I appreciated the perfect cleanliness of the shared bathroom). Patricia and Nick are helpful and friendly, they gave me useful advice before my arrival, kept my luggage while I travelled to London, and Nick answered my many questions about the city's history! I will definitely stay there if I I go back to Bristol.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patbolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

This was a part of a cycling tour and I tried to book a night for a group of us for one night via email. We were asked to confirm our booking, which I did. It was only when we tried to pay for the accomodation that they couldn't find the reservation.

There were no spaces left, so we have to find somewhere else. Very dissappointed. MIstakes do happen, but how many times are you supposed to call to make sure your booking has been taken?!?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phizco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
3.1 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.5 km away
No photo provided
Westfield House
#24 of 53 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.9 km away
The Wellington
The Wellington
#8 of 53 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Norfolk Guest House
Norfolk Guest House
#12 of 53 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
4.3 km away
Southville Guest House
Southville Guest House
#4 of 53 in Bristol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.6 km away
Number Thirty Eight
Number Thirty Eight
#2 of 53 in Bristol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downlands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downlands House

Property: Downlands House
Address: 33 Henleaze Gardens, Bristol BS9 4HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downlands House is a family run Bed and Breakfast near Bristol Downs. This Victorian town house provides comfortable accommodation for visitors, with a choice of single, double, twin and en-suite rooms at very reasonable rates, with TV and Wi-Fi included. This elegant yet cosy guest house has become a firm favorite with professionals visiting Bristol as well as families and tourists looking for a convenient base from which to explore. Situated at the top of the Downs, it is convenient to access local hospitals, Universities, business areas such as Filton and of course city centre attractions. Tourist information is available in the guest house where the hosts pride themselves on their warm welcome and friendly service to all guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing