We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, great food”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Room was slightly small but that was only downside. Ups were: comfy bed, hot shower, quiet, free Wi-Fi, great tv, and an absolutely delicious breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel as great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    857
    251
    71
    31
See reviews for
171
805
154
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Having stayed here many times in the past when the hotel was trading as the City Inn, I feel the standard is much less now. I had booked a club room at a club room price. However, because I needed a twin the room seemed quite small, I thought club rooms were bigger, they used to be. But not on this occasion! I did enquire and was told that there is only a small allocation of these rooms. Oh well! My fruit platter was not in the room upon my arrival, I ordered a newspaper for the following morning and it never materialised. The breakfast was so basic in terms of no service, I was served tea and nothing else, I used to have toast and a cooked breakfast made fresh to order and delivered to me. The trouble with a DIY breakfast is when everyone comes to breakfast at the same time, you end up queuing whilst your cup of tea is going cold. Breakfast I found quite stressful.

This hotel used to be great, now I'm not so sure!

Room Tip: Make sure you are in a double and not a twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeyrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

On the day I arrived the restaurant and bar had not quite opened following a refit and the same applied to the health club. A restaurant had been set up in small conference room, which was deserted when I looked in.

Otherwise the room was very nice, good size and very clean with the added advantage of mac computer/tv. I paid an extra £10 for a club upgrade,this gave me VIP status, although I didn't notice any difference in my status from staying in an any other hotel. I did get fruit in the room and a welcome drink so maybe that was my status upgrade!

The hotel is a 10 min walk to the city centre but if you didnt want to go too far I found a nice italian restaurant immediately across the park at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Opposite the park looked like the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovecorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed at the Mint Hotel in Bristol for one night and was very impressed with the friendly welcome and well appointed room. The free wi-fi was a nice touch (so many big hotels choose to fleece people with that!) as was the iMac in the room. The bedroom was not huge, but it was very pleasant and quiet which was just what was needed.

There was some construction work happening so breakfast was in a different room, but this was carefully explained and the breakfast was a perfectly calm and pleasant experience.

The location is very close to Bristol Temple Meads railway station and the main shopping centre so I highly recommend this hotel for a city visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovy146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaddesley Corbett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed overnight in the Mint Hotel when we had booked to see a show. Although our room was small, it was modern, spotlessly clean and well-appointed with a safe and refrigerator. The restaurant staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the food was very good. Car parking was £10 per day.There was a bus stop directly outside the hotel and the regular bus service took you to the flourishing Cabot Shopping Centre and harbourside which has a wide choice of restaurants. The railway station is conveniently located a few hundred yards from the hotel We had a rear room on the top floor and never heard any traffic. The lifts were silent and efficient. Agnes the Receptionist was particularly pleasant and very helpful. We visited the fascinating MShed museum on the harbourside which has free admission and enjoyed an outstanding interactive display of the historical development of Bristol and its people. There was a charge to visit the display of fashion photographs on the 3rd floor. Have booked another stay at The Mint Hotel next month although I understand it has just been taken over by the Hilton so I hope it maintains its high standards and customer focus.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brubeck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Nice clean and quite room, with a nice view over the park. Having the apple mac was a bonus and good to have something to play music on whilst getting ready to go out. Not in the most picturesque location but a good option if going out in Bristol as relatively close to everything. Especially good location if you've driven or got the train.
Breakfast was excellent with a really big choice. Although if I was having to pay for it on top of the room (ours was included), I probably would have said it was a little pricey. One word of warning - the bar man may proclaim that he is an amazing cocktail 'mixologist' but he made me the worst cocktail I have ever tasted (he put creme de menthe in a Long Island Iced Tea???) and took about half an hour to make it. My boyfriend also had to talk him through his choice. Meanwhile a table of 3 were still waiting for their beers, which they had ordered before me! Was very frustrating but in hindsight pretty amusing. Somebody tell the boy to stick to what he knows!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The hotel was in the process of being reburbished when we visited, but I can't say this affected our stay. They were rebranding from the Mint hotel to Hilton Gardens on 13.2.12. The rooms were a little on the small side but were more than sufficient, with a comfortable bed, plenty of lighting, an iMac, plenty of wardrobe space and an iron and ironing board. The bathrooms were new and clean with rainshowers. They are a little on the small side, so you may struggle if you are on the larger side. The car park was open air and had about 50 car parking spaces and was well lit. For busy times when you can't get in the hotels own car park, there is an open air NCP next door - also openair. The hotel was in a good location for us, about a 10 minute walk to the bars and restaurants at the harbourside, probably slightly further to the shopping area. It was quiet at night, so you were not kept awake by revellers in the street. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Helen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.9 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 km away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing