We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great for the cyclists” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avon Valley Railway (AVR)

Avon Valley Railway (AVR)
Ranked #38 of 187 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bristol and Bath's heritage steam railway, offering a six mile round trip which takes passengers along sections of the old Midland Railway, providing a chance to see the magnificent River Avon Valley from a unique viewpoint.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for the cyclists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The station is just like the old days. The supporters are truly dedicated. The cycle path NCN4 runs parallel to the track and of course it is very flat. Watch the Bacon Baps they can be a bit below standard. The staff are friendly, especially "blue eyes" . The hot chocolate is great on a cold day on the way back from Bradford on Avon. Recommend this as a stopping point.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank donuttaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidColeAVR, Manager at Avon Valley Railway (AVR), responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thanks so much for your positive review of us, in particular your comments on areas of improvement.
As we do not run trains daily our catering is an important means of generating income. Being open 364 days a year we need to get it right and, for this reason, we have recently made some changes that will improve not only the bacon baps but many other parts of the service as well.
Our new Buffet Manager has now been in post for a couple of weeks and we already have new suppliers, new menus and will very soon have longer opening hours.
Please give us another try and let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    97
    29
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fun Trains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Group for the Murder Mystery event, Victorian Dress. Tremendous fun and a very good meal served in between acts. It wasn't expensive either. Actors were good - 'victim' landed by my feet and we enjoyed conversing whilst the cast and observers solved the crime. We survived a blackout in the countryside, organisers eventually restoring power with emergency generator I believe - hilarious. Can't wait to go again

Helpful?
Thank BettyMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very short train ride”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Found this a little dissapointing.Train did not travel very far. Not an exciting journey.

Helpful?
2 Thank BristolIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidColeAVR, Manager at Avon Valley Railway (AVR), responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We would like to thank you for your comments on your recent visit to the Avon Valley Railway, as it is only through customer feedback that we are able to improve our visitor experience.
The railway you see today is very different to the one first encountered by our volunteers in the early 1970s following the closure of passenger services in 1966. The station building was derelict and all the track had been removed. Through the hard work and determination of our volunteers over the last 40 years, as well as the support of hundreds of thousands of visitors, the railway has once again risen from the ashes to become a major tourist attraction in the Bristol area.
Like yourself, we would dearly love to have a longer track. We are currently in discussion with the local authority to seek permission to double the length of our line from three to six miles, but even if permission were granted today we would need to raise some £2,000,000 to complete the work.
In the meantime we continue to provide a wide range of events and experiences for visitors aged 1 to 100, such as Day Out With Thomas, Santa Specials, dining trains, murder mystery events etc., and our Trip Advisor reviews to date show how much these are enjoyed by so many people.
Size isn't everything and we certainly hope that this first experience won't put you and your family off from visiting us again for one of our many other event. I and all our volunteers, who work so hard to provide so much enjoyment to others, look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Going back to steam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Brings back memories of steam locomotives and the smells and noises of yester year. GREAT!

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Steam Train Enthusiast Dream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

If you're in to steam then this is the place to go. Trains operate on most weekends, especially in the Summer. You can always get something to eat and drink here. Right next to Bristol and Bath cylce track so it's a lovely watering hole for cyclists.

Helpful?
Thank Martin3571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avon Valley Railway (AVR) also viewed

 

Been to Avon Valley Railway (AVR)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing